Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 17, 2014
We loved how close this hotel was to everything. The rooms were clean, modern and well appointed. There was no restaurant or bar on site but there were many within a 5 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chung

Very good hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
I'm so satisfied to stay this hotel. The location of this hotel is near at Quincy market and very easy to many subways. The most favorite thing of this room is that there is a wooden floor. The staffs are very kind and room is roomier and cozy!
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We look forward seeing you soon!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the North End.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The hotel's location was perfect for walking to Faneuil Hall and the North End. The only negative is that the bar/lounge area was not open.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you for the review. Our restaurant is under re-concept and working hard to bring back its glamour. We hope to see you soon!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug from WI

We had a wonderful stay at the Ames.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: A lounge of area for group relaxation would be nice. We had a group of eight and we would have enjoyed sitting together and visiting.
Our stay at the Ames Hotel was wonderful. The location is excellent, near many of the sites. Walking from the Ames in any direction can fill your day with interesting destinations. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. We thank Expedia and the Ames Hotel for a very pleasant vacation in Boston.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
We thank you for your wonderful review of your hotel. We look forward seeing you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marli from Halifax, NS

Great Boston Boutique

Posted Apr 1, 2014
I chose The Ames because it was a block away from the conference I was attending. You can't beat the location. I loved the decor, my room was quite comfortable and the staff was helpful. My only negative comment centres on the noise from the street and subway below the hotel. I was on the 7th floor and I still found it difficult to sleep. Still, I would go back to The Ames in a heartbeat, just to a higher floor.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. On your next visit please call the hotel directly to request a higher floor prior to your arrival. We will do our best so you will have a pleasant night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

downtown

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: good size tv. coffee maker, large bathroom with towel warmer.
Cons: needed a restaurant inside.
Location: good location , lots of things around
hotel is in walking distance to many attractions, and on the trolley routes and near subway station
3 out of 5
by chalk from ny

Front desk

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: Staff
Location: None
Poor service a the front desk. The lady who works at the front desk has really bad attitude.
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us another chance to create a more memorable experience on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted Mar 28, 2014
picked your special deal for top hotel without a name! It was a huge plus, Thanks
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you for the Five Stars!!! We hope to see you soon!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kyle from boston

The hotel was amazing place.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: no
Location: Great location
The staff was fantastic and a great help would love to go back again.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We look forward seeing you soon!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Liz from Midwest

Boutique in downtown Boston

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Like the clean, modern rooms
Cons: Could really use a ramp at the main entrance to the hotel; it is awkward to bring a rolling suitcase up to the door, especially with no staff
I always like the sleek, modern rooms and bathrooms at the Ames. The level of service may have declined in the last year, however: - No one at door to help getting luggage up (stairs!) at entrance. - Restaurant space remains empty. - My room was cold when I checked in - in fact, the window was open despite wintry temperatures. - Some room elements are showing wear and tear; a side table was scratched. Overall, a good hotel in a great location in downtown Boston, but it could use some attention.