Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Good stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Thankfully the shuttle was available to transport to the subway. Hotel staff were curious and overall good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Everything was good except....

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Overall the experience was good. We checked in early and the hotel was able to accommodate our request. The one thing that didn't work well at the hotel was the shuttle service from the hotel to Harvard Square. The driver was never on time for pick-up or drop-off. We ended up taking our car so we won't be late for our dinner reservation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Half the hotel is OK, the other not.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Staff are friendly.
Cons: All the unrefurbished rooms. Breakfast food.
Location: Location is not that good either. On a busy street with nothing much to walk to.
The hotel is slowly being renovated. Those lucky to get the new rooms can expect clean, relatively modern functional rooms. Those that get the older unrenovated rooms may be disappointed. My room was the latter this time. Old furniture, smelly, dirty carpets, worn out bathroom etc.The breakfast is also very low end buffet style. Cheap yoghurt and cereal, poor quality cooked fare, always crowded with not enough room to seat everyone. Not on my list of good hotels. It is a shame, because the staff are always pleasant, just they are managing with poor facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westford, MA

Stayed one night to see a show in Davis Sq.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The breakfast. Quiet. Clean. Pleasant staff.
Cons: TV didn't work. Since we were only in the room to sleep it didn't matter to us.
Location: Easy access to the T. Close to Fresh Pond where there is a path to walk or run. Not far from Mt Auburn Cemetary, fantastic old trees, flowers, etc.
Checkin was smooth and easy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bar doesn't open until 5 pm. Pool table next to bar was a nice touch. Considering it's right on a main road it was very quiet. Right next to a liquor store, Whole foods and TJ Maxx as well as a cinema. About a 10 minute leisurely walk to Alewife to pick up the T. Breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise - eggs, make your own waffles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington

Visiting family.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Convenience for family living nearby who did not have room for me there but close enough to be picked up.
Cons: Some noise from room next door but not too bad.
Location: Good location and close to amenities and transportation but my family did pick me up.
Felt safe and comfortable there. Close to family so easy drop off/pick up for them. Nice to have breakfast available every morning. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Location: There's Starbucks, Whole Foods, TJ Maxx and a place selling alcohol. In front of the hotel is Trader Joe's and a 24hr CVS.
This is a pretty ok hotel to stay in. From the reviews I read prior to booking, it says location in good. For me, it depends. The nearest subway stop is the end of the red line (Alewife station) and you still need to walk 15 more minutes to reach the hotel. Good thing this hotel has their own shuttle service that can either bring/get you to Alewife stn or Harvard Sq. stn. The rooms are ok. Nothing fancy. They have a buffet breakfast-- sausages, eggs, potatoes, waffles, muffins and some fruits, coffee, juice. tea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Minimal on site amenities. Good beaky. Close to nearby services ( grocery store)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beds very hard and uncomfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from Chicago

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Most convenient hotel to Tufts University. Rooms are well furnished, floors are quiet. The breakfast bar was a great perk. Parking fees are higher than warranted.