Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything we needed it to be!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Fantastic location just off Back Bay and very close to public transport. Plus easy to reach from the airport! Hotel room was perfectly fine for sleeping, little to no noise at night. Complimentary breakfast had a good selection of cereals, pastries and breads to kick-start the day. Suited myself and my wife perfectly as we were out and about most of the day.
2 out of 5
by Cathie from Australia

Poor value for money - look elsewhere!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
I give it 2 stars purely for location, which was great. Continental breakfast was basic, but fine. The hotel itself was shabby and outdated. Our room was very small, with stained carpet and a strangely designed bathroom. While sitting on the toilet the toilet roll dug into my ribs! Staff varied greatly from friendly to downright rude and unhelpful. I was very disappointed with this hotel, particularly as it was not cheap!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jss from Washington state

Shabby. Not renovated for decades

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Good location. Friendly staff. Old and gross, ingrained decade - old dirt in all structures, walls, fixtures
1 out of 5
by NeverAgain

Dont bother, horrible experience.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Great masonry outside on the sidewalk.
Location: Many very expensive food establishments and a really great food truck.
Probably one of the worst hotels in Boston. Musty, small rooms. Staff was rude and threatening. Parking was atrocious, the attendants were rude and pushy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Exactly what you want for a visit to boston. The hotel itself is definitely good, but not the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EJ from Vancouver

Boston Common

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: easy access
Cons: newer TV
Hotel is dated but very convenient to historic Boston. Easy to reach from the Subway. Reasonable continental breakfast. We spent 6 nights (quiet).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Maine

A decently located, small and quiet hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Loved the older look and decor of the hotel. Beautiful high ceiling in the lobby, detailed woodwork, etc.
Cons: Other than, of course, giving me all this for less money (!) I wouldn't change anything.
Location: Near Trinity Church and down a quiet side street, there were restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner within walking distance.
Our stay at the Boston Commons Hotel was brief, just one night, and we felt well-accomodated there. We did not get a 'bargain' on this room but it was clean, comfortable, quiet and inviting. The staff people we met were friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

big surprise!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: nice staff
The pictures on their website DO NOT match the real experience. Too exhausted to tell more. Spend the extra $30 dollars for a cleaner place, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nat from Melbourne Australia

Great Spot

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Cons: Bedspread a little dated
Small room but had what you need in it. Breakfast had a great variety. Great location walking distance to huge shopping centre even in snow storm and the beautiful old buildings and streets. 2 min from trolley stop which is definitely worth doing as you see a lot of Boston and it's interesting places and learn a lot of history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Santa Barbara

Great location and great staff. Hotel is a bit old

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Location: A block away from Copley Square. Very close to many restaurants. 2-3 blocks to Boston Common park and many other historical landmarks.
The hotel is a bit past it's prime. Everything seems dated. But moving past that, it's a wonderful hotel. The front desk employees are great. I even got to check in at 7 a.m. after a red-eye flight and did not have to wait until the official check-in time. The beds are comfy. The continental breakfast (pastries, muffins, bagels, oatmeal, fruit, juices) is delicious. The hotel is in a great location. Definitely recommend this place.