Ratings based on 1,393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

truly a horrible place.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: nothing- oh wait yes, the breakfast was great at their restaurant.
Cons: everything
Location: great location- that's why we picked it.
I thought with relatively strong reviews that I would have a fine stay for a reasonable price. Nope- the hotel managed to provide less than the bare minimum. Our shades were broken so I had to climb on top of the radiator to manually bend them into providing some modesty. The temperature control was broken, so we slept in a swelteringly hot room despite shutting off the thermostat completely and the fact that the outside temp was well below freezing. The TV looked brand new but at regular ~1 min intervals sent a blaring static signal across while the image was totally obstructed. HORRIBLE PLACE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
It was a prime location but the hotel itself was outdated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Good location, clean, but could use updates

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location was familiar. Parking nearby. T-nearby.
Cons: Get a coffee maker. Get a security guard.
Location: Fenway Park. Newbury Street. Colleges. Restaurants.
This hotel is in a convenient location. A good deal. Clean. Not particularly hospital…I have two complaints. 1) Safety. Although in a reasonably safe neighborhood, this hotel did not feel particularly secure. Hallways are narrow and there are multiple entrances into each room. Unlike a standard modern hotel, the "historic" hotel scene makes for twisty, turning hallways and stairs…no hotel staff in sight. A little uneasy for a mother and her young child. 2) Second complaint…I can deal with not-so-comfortable pillows, but there's no coffee maker in the room!!! That's just cruel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Old facility in Boston

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Great staff and restaurant. Old rooms, with poor furnitures and bathroom. Expensive parking. For 1 night I paid as much as 1/3 of my staying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, PA

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff was great and the room was comfortable and spacious. It was within walking distance to the subway and newbury st.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Wonderful staff, wonderful location.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Cons: do something about the windows... it gets very cold, and the air was getting through
My 10 year old daughter and I came to Boston to see a concert at the House of Blues, and chose this place because of the location. I asked for a high room so that she could see the view, and was delighted that they upgraded us to a 2 room suite, with a bed for each of us. I was ready to suffer through a night of sharing a bed with her kicking my side so that I could get the cheapest rate. This was such a pleasant surprise. The rooms themselves were comfortable and clean. My only complaint as that the cold air definitely seeped through the windows - so even with the heat on high I was pretty cold overnight. Would certainly stay there again if I needed to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Decent hotel for the money.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Experience was fine. Only complaint was requested extra pillows, as they only gave us three, and they never arrived. Room a bit small but fine for our purposes and cost. Also, their internet is only free for an hour or two and then you have to pay a fee, so free internet claim is a bit misleading. Nice location right near Fenway park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good choice

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Great location near subway, great service, lovely building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Hotel location is fantastic - and historic!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location, history, comfort, room temp, clean bathrooms and rooms, great staff with friendly and helpful attitude without being over the top!
Cons: I like it just as it is = maybe I was particularly lucky with my room - ok, so I unplugged the fridge as I didn't like the noise but wasn't using it =
Location: Loads - walk to Fenway Park & do tour - hop over a few blocks to Charles River - walk to classy Newbury - Boston Common etc - location is fab - wish I
Total comfort, total warm welcome and as stated, excellent location. I stayed for two nights, I would have stayed longer quite happily. I had a great room, I think Premier standard - quiet and yet in the heart of Boston. I had breakfast twice and dinner/supper one night = all meals fantastic and service really friendly and helpful. Had I not been meeting up with friends I would have happily stayed longer for two reasons - one the great standard of my accommodation and two the gentleness and friendliness & helpful staff. OK, if I need to find any negative, the fridge in the room was quite noisy but , as I wasn't using it I unplugged it and everything was calm. I will visit this hotel anytime and definitely recommend it. Great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Staying at this hotel couldn't have felt anything more like home . Perfect location and room 214 was amazing . This hotel made our new years celebration so much better . 100% review for me!