Ratings based on 1,175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chandler Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Its convenient location to downtown Boston and its charming South End neighborhood.
Cons: Room comfort, adjoining restaurant (mediocre and overpriced).
This hotel is not a good choice for a business traveler. Rooms are cramped. My room had no work desk and a chair that was impossible to comfortably sit on. Hotel staff refused to change the chair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Quaint little hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: This hotel is great because of its location. It is also quiet and clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: There should be more hooks throughout the hotel room. An additional six or so hooks on the walls to hang clothes would have made a world of difference
What a sweet little hotel in the heart of the South End. We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The Trophy Room bar/restaurant was a great place to be at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale, Fl

Near Copley Square

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Rooms are very small, tv remote confusing, twin beds are very small too. No gym, no pool/jacuzzi, busy bar restaurant request a higher floor so you cant hear the noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Close to many little shops n coffee

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Everything was great.. Only complaint I have is that when booking to please give pet policy. Was told dogs are fine over the phone but when I got there they said dog policy was 25lbs or less and my dog was 65lbs. Had a scare that I was going to be out of a place to stay on Valentine's day weekend when everything nearby was booked. Person at front desk said she wouldn't put me out late night but that she would have to tell her manager. I was never approached about an issue with my dog afterwards.. They also said policy was that you cannot leave your dog unattended at all times which is bizarre to me because unless your out and about all day with your furry friend you cannot go out to a nice dinner or anything of sorts. Yes I left her alone while I went out to dinner and didn't have an issue. So overall I would recommend a stay here because everything was nice but I wouldn't recommend to come with your pet unless u plan on staying in the room or bringing them everywhere with you. Room is small and gets stuffy very quickly good place to only sleep not actually spend much time in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
LOVED this hotel! Great location, very friendly staff and room was clean and cozy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Pretty little Boston Bay Hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Within walking distance to Boston Bay Subway Station.
Cons: There was no robe so had only had a tiny stand to hang jackets, etc on
We stayed for 4 nights in Late January 2014. We were in a Twin Room. The room was small but clean. Had Central heating as well as air conditioner. The only problem we had was more a seasonal one. Winter Storm Juno had hit the day before we arrived meaning there was snow everywhere. It made it difficult when trying to find a place to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

1 Night

Posted Feb 5, 2015
No complains at all, friendly front desk, quick and simple check in/check out, and not too far from the airport via cab. Nothing super fancy but I found it nicer than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, ME

Downtown, European-style hideaway

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The staff at "The Trophy Room" bistro went out of their way -- on an jammed Friday night -- to cook us excellent food we took up to our room. Bravo!
Cons: Parking
Location: Hard-to-beat downtown Boston location at a bargain rate. Plenty of shops, bars, museums -- within minutes of the hotel.
Classy little European-style with bargain rates -- tight quarters but everything you need for a comfortable stay in an incredible downtown location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, decent price

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: - room space, price, location etc. Actually all!
Cons: - mechanical ventilation in the bathroom.
Location: - mechanical ventilation in the bathroom.
Stayed for three days in Boston before leaving to NY. Two blocks from the subway, shopping street on walking distance. There is a nice bar underneath the hotel. Good for a fast breakfast or beer in the evening when watch sports.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Disappointed at the end

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Friendlier policy with respect to refunds
I made a reservation for my son who was coming to Boston to handle some business matters for me. Inadvertently I made the reservation for the wrong night (the 22nd instead of the 21st). When a discovered this mistake a couple of days later & made a separate reservation for the correct night. It was only when my son checked in the evening of the 21st did I discover that I had forgotten to cancel the first reservation (for the 22nd). At that point I immediately did cancel but was informed that the hotel, in spite of according to the Expedia site to be sold out for this type of room, would not refund my payment. Of course the hotel is technically correct - I didn't cancel within the required 48 hours - but under the circumstances I was disappointed with the hotel's attitude.