Ratings based on 940 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

The centre of it all

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Location: Had my Iphone glass replaced at the Apple store while I bought a Starbucks, did my banking, and grabbed a quick shower back at the hotel.
Great staff, quick check-in, held my bags after I checked out, convenient to everything in the center of Boston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff
Fantastic little hotel in the middle of Back Bay. Everything you need or want at you door, friendly and helpful staff, and immaculate rooms. Airport express right outside. Great hotel. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel in prime location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location, price, continental breakfast, hotel bar
Location: Boston Library, trinity church, and walking distance to Freedom trail, etc
We were shocked to find that our hotel window overlooked the Boston Marathon finish line. Our location was 2 blocks from a discounted parking garage (discount via hotel stamp), the T/commuter rail stop, and within close proximity (walking distance) to all popular areas of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was in great location, great for sights.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: We liked the location for subway airport bus and sightseeing opportunities.
Cons: The breakfast left a lot to be desired but it was ok
Location: Boston common, Cheers, freedom walk, Massachusetts state house, several burial sights (including the grave of Ben Franklin)
The hotel was very convenient to get to from the airport on Sprinter bus $2.20 each way. We were across the street from the subway. Public gardens and the Boston Common were a 10 min walk away. The staff were extremely helpful. Greta places to eat very close to the hotel also. Most of the sights were within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great location and private beach along with access to facilities at hotel next door. We had a studio overlooking the pool. Annoying that you could not keep the sliding door open due to a safety feature alarm. Quick fix with a screwdriver. Took the 9 volt out. Otherwise the staff was great, room was clean, access to beach and 3 pools. N
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Update the air con unit so it is not so noisy
Location: Great location. Close to great shopping. Airport shuttle pick up across the road. Went on the Hop on Hop of bus and also a cruise on the harbour.
We were pleased with the location but found our room to be very small and particularly noisy. The air conditioning unit in our room was particularly noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helen from New Zealand

Fantastic location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Fabulous walks, shopping, restaurants
Friendly little hotel with helpful staff. Street side room overlooking Library and Marathon finish line Only problem was noise into early hours of morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Great location close to Copley conference area and public transportation. Easybto get to from Logan via Logan Back Bay Express. Clean, quiet with helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Good Location - Fair Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The location and lower cost make the Charlesmark palatable.
Cons: The rooms could use a major makeover. I came back one day and found my wastepaper basket in my bathroom sink filled with water.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, T stops, Pubs, nightlife, great deal of activity in the immediate area. Convention center and Prudential building nearby.
The Charlesmark used to be a private residence that was converted into a lounge with rooms above. The rooms are very small. The "stereo system" that is supposed to augment the television does not sync with every station and, in my room, one of the speakers was half covered by a large floor length mirror that was put in the room as an afterthought. The mirror also covered the thermostat for the room; making adjustments to the air conditioner very difficult. The sound adjustment for the stereo speakers was located in the bathroom. The hotel was made to emulate a "European style " hotel room. In my opinion, these are substandard to the American style rooms I have grown accustomed to. The staff was mostly nice, but they lock the hotel at closing time in the bar and the guest must use the provided key to let themselves into the outer door of the hotel. There is a continental breakfast and desktop computers for use in a small room off the lobby. I was unable to access my airline for check-in by using these computers. I cannot say if it was the computer's fault or not. The best point in favor of the hotel is the location. You step out the door right into the mainstream of Boston. The T stops tight around the corner or across the street depending on which direction you wish to travel. Shopping and restaurants proliferate the area, Trinity Church and the Old South Church within a block or so. The Public Garden and Boston Common a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Nice hotel for the price. . Comfy bed nice bathroom. ..