Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Nice hotel! Good location.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Spent 3 nights. Very clean and comfortable room. 2 doubles were very spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids. Location close to boston common was lovely. Only wish there was some info about what to see and do in Boston. Also, wish there was a pool for the kids to unwind. But overall, nice clean place and very comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Good location. Good price. Good hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Location: Great location. Easy to walk to most everywhere. Nice restaurant next door.
We were very happy with our stay Marriott Courtyard Downtown. It is in a good location. Easy to walk to every thing. The staff was pleasant, and the hotel clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Never again

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful!
Cons: I can't imagine they did not know it was in this condition. Therefore, I will never go back to see if it was improved
Location: The location was fine. Again, there are many other hotels in the same area.
Excellent staff, friendly and personable. Horrible room. Dirty, cold, patches on wallpaper stuck over holes in wall. Not even close to worth the money. So very many better hotels for the same price nearby. Never AGAIN!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Cathleen General Manager, Hotel Management
Rae, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We are in the midst of a complete renovation which will see all of our guestrooms remodelled by the end of the year. Thank you for your kind words about our associates, they are great. I do hope you will consider us on your next trip to Boston once all of the renovation work is complete
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Good location

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room. Enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SugarMagnolia

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Stayed one night for a show (Widespread Panic & Galactic) at Blue Hills Bank Pavillion.. Nice clean place to rest your head with the convieniece of being right downtown & within walking distance to so many attractions, shops, and places to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy & Disappointing

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: foyer, staff
Stayed on the 7th floor. Nice foyer, but little else is nice. NOISY: Constant bass booming from the clubs next door. Next room separated by a door with a 1-inch crack, allowing TV, conversation, and alarms to freely flow in. Can even hear papers dropping in the hallway. DIRTY: Disgusting bathroom spots on toilet and floor upon check-in, asked for recleaning, still had same spots afterwards. Dust on furniture. Smells musty without AC, which had to be turned off when it got too cold. Other: poorly lit bathroom, shades are difficult to close without leaving a crack
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thin Walls, Noise from Everywhere

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The lobby has been redone recently and it looks very nice. Love that Courtyard brand has the mini mart next to registration, and you can grab and go.
Location: Very close to a T station and Boston Common, which is a great place to get a picnic, and walk through. Not far from other downtown landmarks.
While the Manager did give us a giftcard to make up for our terrible stay, I think it is still worth pointing out some serious flaws with this hotel. First off, the walls are super thin. This made the groups of high schoolers and wedding party attendants running through the halls and slamming the doors even worse. The noise was crazy, we could hear everything in the next room and these girls were loud. We were on the back side of the hotel, and there was a bar on the next block. People would come out of there and "woooo" at a very loud volume. Not to mention the motorcycles that would idle there and the noise would travel up to us. We barely slept that night and called security multiple times. They did end up kicking people out that night, but not until 2 am or so. It was weird to me that there was no mini-fridge, as I've stayed at other courtyard's and they had them as well as a microwave. The room was a very strange set-up, with the TV off center from the bed and you couldn't angle it or anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Cathleen General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and your review. I am sorry that the noise was disturbing to your rest. Our staff is available 24 hours a day and will respond to guest issues and noise complaints. Glad that our manager offered you a gift card as a sincere apology. Thank you for the positive note of The Market and central location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ordinary hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: good location, close to Boston Common
Cons: shower was poor but once notified it was fixed straight away breakfast was very poor and overpriced for what was offered
Location: close to the theatre district, train was only a short taxi ride away and the Boston Common was within easy walking distance
short visit to Boston which we enjoyed and now wish we could have stayed a bit longer. hop on bus was good, quincy markets are definitely worth going to, great food to eat Boston Tea Party tour only if you have lots of time Cheers Bar worth a look at
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Cathleen General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown and posting a review. Glad you enjoyed Boston and saw so many sites on your short visit! I am sorry that your shower was not working properly and that your breakfast experience was not good. Thank you for notifying our staff so that your shower was fixed immediately. Our new restaurant and bar, Post No. 10 will be open in a few weeks. The breakfast is temporaraly located in a ballroom space- we agree it is not ideal. We hope you will have a chance to stop by and see the improvements on your next visit to Boston. Thanks again for your business.
2 out of 5
by phinds

Disappointed

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Room was small, expensive valet, awful bathroom/shower, tough outside noise all night. Only good part was the proximity to the charles playhouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Boston Marathon Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great spot to stay if you are running the marathon. Easy walk to the bus pick up area. Staff could not have been nicer. Be sure to ask for an interior room-cuts down on street noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Cathleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us over Marathon weekend and thank you so much for supporting our city by running. We look forward to having you back again next year