Ratings based on 456 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but reports of sound issues are true

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Ability to print boarding passes from the business centre, nice that they still had an ice machine - this seems to be much less common, great staff
Cons: Add a bar refrigerator/microwave, hot tub in the exercise area, elevators were not all running (slow)
Location: Location was so so, not far from many things but the area is a bit run down
The hotel is recently renovated and the interior is much nicer than the exterior but its amenities are lacking for the price. Rooms were clean and updated but very small, no pool / hot tub, no tub - shower only in the room. If you are travelling for the Boston Marathon the hotel offered great access to the buses loading area for the start of the race but it is a reasonably long walk (1.5km ~15-20 min) to the expo / finish line area. Views from the room were not great and the windows don't open so you can't get fresh air. Biggest problem is that the hotel is not very soundproof and nightly parties/nightclubs etc are difficult to ignore. We were on the 10th floor and the sound of bass we extremely annoying when you were trying to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Cathleen W., Hotel Management
Dear Marathoner, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown over the Boston Marathon and reviewing the hotel. The location is located two blocks from Boston Common where the buses depart for the start of the race. Our rooms are smaller than hotels built today. It is typical for building built in this era of the 1920's The majority of the rooms have king sized beds with a shower. There are bathtubs available in rooms that have two double beds. That room type may be more to your liking. Good luck to you in your future marathons. We hope to welcome you back.the next time you run in Boston.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york city

Close to Boston commons for marathon shuttle

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Room was very small, very old and outdated and very expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Cathleen Wardley, Hotel Management
Dear M, Thank you for staying with us during the Boston Marathon. Patriot’s Day is our favorite holiday and the prices are higher around this special event. Our location is ideal; just 2 blocks from the bus boarding area for the start of the race and also close to the finish line without being in the super crowded core. Our 1920's era hotel does have small rooms compared to today's design. I understand that not everyone likes this style and design. Happy Travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Mixed overall

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Put groups of 4 in the slightly larger rooms
Our family was in Boston for college tours. Our overall experience with the Courtyard facility was mixed. Like most city hotels, you pay a lot for parking and the rooms are tiny. PROS Free wifi (both kids had homework to finish) Clean and beds were comfortable (wished they were queen-size though) Mini-fridge in room Nice exercise room 1 block from orange line T and 3 blocks from green line T Good neighborhood area; theatres, restaurants, entertainment -- plus seemed safe Helpful staff (especially Tatianna) CONS Construction started at 8am on our first morning! My husband called the front desk and they had it stopped and proper amends were made in our behalf (thank you Tatianna) PRO or CON (depends who you are) Next to a night club; convenient if you want to stumble upstairs afterwards, but the sound carries to the rooms along with the shrieks of people coming and going (again, probably to be expected at a city hotel).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Cathleen W., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown during your visit to tour colleges. Boston is a great place to attend school! Thank you for highlighting our helpful staff, great location and free WiFi. I agree with you, Tatianna is remarkable. I am sorry you were disturbed by noise. We continue to renovate and restore this unique 1920's building and are in the heart of the theatre and night club district. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Cathleen Wardley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom thorold

Great hotel in downtown Boston!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Close to great restaurants, shopping, And main attractions in Boston.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but noisy!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel was actually very nice however it is located in the theater district. On the nights we stayed there the crowds kept us up until 2am. Our room was located on the 10th floor and we could still hear talking, screaming and music from the streets below. This is the first Marriott that I will not be returning to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sudbury, MA

Birthday celebration in the heart of Boston

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Great price, great location, clean, but small room. Walls were a bit thin, but nothing to take away from our outing.
Location: In center of theater district, close to Chinatown, a few blocks from the Boston Garden, and walkable to Newberry St. and Copley Place.
With its location roughly 2 blocks from the Boylston T stop, the hotel put us in the center of Boston, with our dinner at the Capital Grille, shopping at Faneuil Hall, and dim sum in Chinatown all within easy reach. Check in and check out were both smooth and without issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice escape

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Did a 1 day escape to boston for a show and dinner and the evening was enhanced by the Marriott and it's proximity to everything it's comfort it's helpful staff and a nice quiet atmosphere
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel bien placé

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Bien placé, tout est accessible a pied. Assez cher pr la qualité. Chambre petite et assez vieillote, cloison fine... Ok pr une nuit, de passage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Close to Theaters

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the theaters.
Cons: Remodeled rooms.
Location: That was the good thing. It was near everything we wanted to do.
The room really needed some work. It is an old hotel and there was rust in the sink and the faucets had no finish left. The TV was bolted to the wall and could not be watched from the bed. Rooms are very tiny. No soda machines.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Cathleen W., Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our central location to be ideal for enjoying the theatres in Boston. I am sorry you were in one of our non-renovated rooms and experienced us at our worst. I hope you will consider returning when the renovation is completed later this year. I remain at your service. Sincerely, Cathleen Wardley General Manager Courtyard Boston Downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Very nice place to stay at very reasonable prices.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Everything. Nice location, staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Breakfast to be included in the price. Bar to stay open later than 10pm.
Location: Was doing business in the local Chinatown.
Was conducting business in the local Chinatown. The location was great, staff was great, room was nice..