Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Beautiful hotel and great location!

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: Quick cab rides to Fenway and the North End.
This is a beautiful hotel. My room was on the small side, but very nice and newly renovated/decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great location in Boston Theater District!

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location, quality of staff
Cons: Asked for late check-out, but room key stopped working before check-out time which necessitated trip down to front desk.
Location: Boston Common is 10 minute walk away from hotel. Nice for walk on sunny day. Theaters and good restaurants are close at hand.
Hotel is well-situated to good range of sights in Boston Theater District, so Courtyard offers good option for both business and leisure travelers. The staff is attentive, the rooms clean and comfortable. Good choice for place to stay while visiting Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA, CA

Great location for Boston

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: ease of doing things. no lines. friendly front desk. quick elevators.
Cons: nothing
Location: food, theatre, sites, you name it.
Was there for a conference. Could walk anywhere. Couldn't imagine a better location. Low key lobby. Just what I wanted. Price competitive for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Nice hotel in Theater district

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: The room was updated and in great condition. The room was quite large had plenty of space.
Cons: Elevators were being refurbished. It was two double beds versus queen beds. Need to be able to adjust HVAC vent direction on East end of room.
Location: The commons/garden and the historic trail are close by. Many restaurants to choose from. Many theater choices as well. No way to be bored!!!
This was a three day family trip to Boston to see the city. We used this hotel as 'home base' for our adventures. It located in the theater district and we found it very convenient. It is in walking distance for most things, and in easy reach of the subway and public transport. Staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was excellent. Transfers to and from Logan were a short taxi (inbound) and Uber (outbound) ride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 3, 2015
Perfect location for seeing a show. Comfy room with great amenities. Small but well suited for our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but reports of sound issues are true

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Ability to print boarding passes from the business centre, nice that they still had an ice machine - this seems to be much less common, great staff
Cons: Add a bar refrigerator/microwave, hot tub in the exercise area, elevators were not all running (slow)
Location: Location was so so, not far from many things but the area is a bit run down
The hotel is recently renovated and the interior is much nicer than the exterior but its amenities are lacking for the price. Rooms were clean and updated but very small, no pool / hot tub, no tub - shower only in the room. If you are travelling for the Boston Marathon the hotel offered great access to the buses loading area for the start of the race but it is a reasonably long walk (1.5km ~15-20 min) to the expo / finish line area. Views from the room were not great and the windows don't open so you can't get fresh air. Biggest problem is that the hotel is not very soundproof and nightly parties/nightclubs etc are difficult to ignore. We were on the 10th floor and the sound of bass we extremely annoying when you were trying to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Cathleen W., Hotel Management
Dear Marathoner, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown over the Boston Marathon and reviewing the hotel. The location is located two blocks from Boston Common where the buses depart for the start of the race. Our rooms are smaller than hotels built today. It is typical for building built in this era of the 1920's The majority of the rooms have king sized beds with a shower. There are bathtubs available in rooms that have two double beds. That room type may be more to your liking. Good luck to you in your future marathons. We hope to welcome you back.the next time you run in Boston.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york city

Close to Boston commons for marathon shuttle

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Room was very small, very old and outdated and very expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Cathleen Wardley, Hotel Management
Dear M, Thank you for staying with us during the Boston Marathon. Patriot’s Day is our favorite holiday and the prices are higher around this special event. Our location is ideal; just 2 blocks from the bus boarding area for the start of the race and also close to the finish line without being in the super crowded core. Our 1920's era hotel does have small rooms compared to today's design. I understand that not everyone likes this style and design. Happy Travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Mixed overall

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Put groups of 4 in the slightly larger rooms
Our family was in Boston for college tours. Our overall experience with the Courtyard facility was mixed. Like most city hotels, you pay a lot for parking and the rooms are tiny. PROS Free wifi (both kids had homework to finish) Clean and beds were comfortable (wished they were queen-size though) Mini-fridge in room Nice exercise room 1 block from orange line T and 3 blocks from green line T Good neighborhood area; theatres, restaurants, entertainment -- plus seemed safe Helpful staff (especially Tatianna) CONS Construction started at 8am on our first morning! My husband called the front desk and they had it stopped and proper amends were made in our behalf (thank you Tatianna) PRO or CON (depends who you are) Next to a night club; convenient if you want to stumble upstairs afterwards, but the sound carries to the rooms along with the shrieks of people coming and going (again, probably to be expected at a city hotel).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Cathleen W., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Boston Downtown during your visit to tour colleges. Boston is a great place to attend school! Thank you for highlighting our helpful staff, great location and free WiFi. I agree with you, Tatianna is remarkable. I am sorry you were disturbed by noise. We continue to renovate and restore this unique 1920's building and are in the heart of the theatre and night club district. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Cathleen Wardley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom thorold

Great hotel in downtown Boston!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Close to great restaurants, shopping, And main attractions in Boston.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but noisy!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The hotel was actually very nice however it is located in the theater district. On the nights we stayed there the crowds kept us up until 2am. Our room was located on the 10th floor and we could still hear talking, screaming and music from the streets below. This is the first Marriott that I will not be returning to.