Ratings based on 483 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Not worth the money

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Location. It made for easy access to the city without the congestion.
Cons: Everything. This hotel needs a makeover. The bathrooms were old, there was trash in the lobby, the furniture in the lobby was stained.
Boston hotels inflate their prices during graduation week. For $250 this hotel is not worth it. The restaurant located in the hotel Joyful Garden was dirty and I got food poisoning. This hotel was more like a Red Roof Motel than a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Phila, PA

Decent place to sleep for the night.

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The staff are kind and helpful. I appreciate the baskets in the room. One with some snacks, another with extra soaps, shampoos. blow dryer, iron.
Cons: Condition of some furniture, shower.
Location: I was only there one night, but the hotel doesn't seem to be located in the best area of Boston.
While the staff at Days Hotel Boston/Cambridge were kind and helpful, my overall impression is that the hotel needs to update its facilities. I found the shower difficult to use, and to turn off. The fixtures may be wearing out. The dining room where I had breakfast was pleasant and the waiter was very nice. The food was good, but the coffee was luke warm rather than hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom south carilina

great location at right price

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: location room size
Cons: tired facility
Location: Harvard Square Cambridge
this is an older hotel but in a great spot. suggest comparing to other rates before booking. More than adequate. Spacious comfortable room Chinese restaurant on site
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't speed on the street, it is a speed trap!

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Being so close to the park
Cons: Attitude of Diane.
Location: The park, very nice
The gal at the counter was not nice and would not allow early check in, so at three there was a huge line. The night manager was nice and when I needed him to do something, he did it. The day guy at the restaurant was nice. It is easy to get over to the park for a nice walk.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nowhere near as new as it looks.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The morning breakfast was good, and the lady who served it was very nice. Done in the Chinese restaurant.
Cons: Decor. Smell. Widow repairs. Honesty. Cleanliness. Restaurant. Lighting and security in the very limited parking along the side.
Location: Across the park from the Charles and the boat docks. Around the corner from the Harvard Athletic complex and 5 to 10 minutes from Harvard Yard.
I had hopes that this was a clean Days property near Harvard. The hotel is tired and musty, and looks like it hasn't been updated since the 80's. The ceilings upstairs in the corridors are 7 ft which gives the place a closed in dark feeling. Window screens were torn. The beds were adequate enough. The bathroom was small, and the shampoo provided in the shower was ineffective. Upon arrival I was informed that a pizza restaurant I was hoping to patronize was only located in another area, and my informant at the front desk stressed he knew because he had grown up in that area. We were given the menu of another place close by, that I assume this gentleman had a relationship with. Checked online and found the spot I had been interested in was less than a half a mile from the hotel, and would deliver. When I mentioned this to the desk the following morning, she immediately indicated that the establishment In question was well known in the area, and that the one I had been given was poor. That night we decided to eat at the Chinese restaurant down in the lobby. That was the worst Chinese food I have ever had. The sauce for the spring rolls was artificially coloured pink, the bean sprout chow mein looked like a milky, soupy mush and the sesame chicken was significantly overcooked and had very little chicken, just breading. My sons steak, which was supposed to be a 12 oz ribeye, was a gristly piece of leather. The next morning the lobby clearly had not been cleaned or vacuumed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total dump

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The worst hands down experience my family ever had at a hotel. If I had the space to explain it all I would, but lets just say my stay was ruined by unruly loud guests, horrific smell and horrible staff. If I stayed for free I would want my $ back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First bad experience

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Just awful. Noisy. It seems the "walls were thin". Isolated location. Difficult to access public transportation. OK during the day, but somewhat scary at night for someone not familiar with the area. One night-time employee was very understanding and helpful. I travel very frequently for work and sports-related activities and this was my first bad experience at a hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel has a nice view

Posted Mar 29, 2015
I like the hotel view to the river. I just don't like the fact that all the carpets look dirty, and that creates uncomfort to customers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel close to Harvard

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The room was clean and the staff very responsive. However the bathroom in our suite was tiny. We had 5 people fighting for small space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JoAnn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com