Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent Small Hotel in the heart of Boston

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Bottles of water would have been nice because our visit was in August.
Location: This hotel is in the heart of everything. Quincy Market is only 7 min walking distant. We ate at Legal Seafood Harborside which was recommended.
We were only there for one day but our stay was excellent in every way. One matter of convenience that we enjoyed the most was the hotel car sponsored by Lexus. This relieved much stress about getting about in a timely manner. The gas fireplace was especially romantic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Location, you can walk to many areas.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: when checking out, the staff should not disclose the items of the room charges in a way that are audible to other patrons... this happened to me...
Location: Many great restaraunts nearby. Hotel resaurant is great.
A great Hotel, quiet and super clean. Staff is very helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great hotel and very near to Boston main attractions
2 out of 5
by AS from San Francisco

Overrated and Expensive Fancy Motel with Poor Staf

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent
Cons: See Above
Very bad experience. Terrible front desk attitude. On check in. It was well past 3 PM and I was informed room is not ready. No explanation. No expression of regret. Then suddenly another person came and offered another room that was ready.His colleague gave him a look but neither offered any explanations. Room Disappointing. Nest day in the morning taking a shower was a nightmare. The water was hot and there is no way you could get lukewarm or cold water. The water was so hot we had to take shower in multiple interrupted sessions. The Front desk informed us that this is an old building and let water run for some time.. When the water was still hot after 10 min, they offered to call the engineer. We had to leave and could wait no longer. It is grossly overrated hotel. Th rooms are small and cramped. No lobby work speaking of. Gives you the feel of an upgraded fancy motel and not a 4 or 5 star hotel. but the service and maintenance is horrible.
2 out of 5
by Leah from Los Altos

Disappointing Experience

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Staff were all high spirited, lovely people.
For a hotel with top rating and top prices, very disappointing indeed. The worst of it: Toilet didn't work easily, no exhaust fan in bathroom. No bathtub. Requested extra pillows, never arrived. Lobby way too small of a space to even meet, greet, let alone hold an information conversation. Online hotel picks becoming more like online dating: what you see is NOT what you get. Photos of lobby and room size appeared very different from the reality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lance from Ada, Ok

Great hotel in downtown Boston

Posted May 25, 2014
Excellent service and facilities, location in walking distance of several downtown Boston sights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Boston marathon stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: High quality feel to the hotel without being too 'stuffy'. excellent attentetive staff
Cons: As above id put in a coffee machine or coffee making facilities in the room (501).
Location: Great location close to Boston Common
Great hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Our room was a bit small and it seemed a little odd to not have a coffee machine or coffee making options, but it did have a remote control fire and a high quality sound system. But these were minor points in an otherwise excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alfred Shapleigh from Charleston SC

Wonderful XV Beacon

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our third stay at XV Beacon was as wonderful as the first. All in the staff are the best and the rooms are first class. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Boston