Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great hotel and very near to Boston main attractions
2 out of 5
by AS from San Francisco

Overrated and Expensive Fancy Motel with Poor Staf

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent
Cons: See Above
Very bad experience. Terrible front desk attitude. On check in. It was well past 3 PM and I was informed room is not ready. No explanation. No expression of regret. Then suddenly another person came and offered another room that was ready.His colleague gave him a look but neither offered any explanations. Room Disappointing. Nest day in the morning taking a shower was a nightmare. The water was hot and there is no way you could get lukewarm or cold water. The water was so hot we had to take shower in multiple interrupted sessions. The Front desk informed us that this is an old building and let water run for some time.. When the water was still hot after 10 min, they offered to call the engineer. We had to leave and could wait no longer. It is grossly overrated hotel. Th rooms are small and cramped. No lobby work speaking of. Gives you the feel of an upgraded fancy motel and not a 4 or 5 star hotel. but the service and maintenance is horrible.
2 out of 5
by Leah from Los Altos

Disappointing Experience

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Staff were all high spirited, lovely people.
For a hotel with top rating and top prices, very disappointing indeed. The worst of it: Toilet didn't work easily, no exhaust fan in bathroom. No bathtub. Requested extra pillows, never arrived. Lobby way too small of a space to even meet, greet, let alone hold an information conversation. Online hotel picks becoming more like online dating: what you see is NOT what you get. Photos of lobby and room size appeared very different from the reality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lance from Ada, Ok

Great hotel in downtown Boston

Posted May 25, 2014
Excellent service and facilities, location in walking distance of several downtown Boston sights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Boston marathon stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: High quality feel to the hotel without being too 'stuffy'. excellent attentetive staff
Cons: As above id put in a coffee machine or coffee making facilities in the room (501).
Location: Great location close to Boston Common
Great hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Our room was a bit small and it seemed a little odd to not have a coffee machine or coffee making options, but it did have a remote control fire and a high quality sound system. But these were minor points in an otherwise excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alfred Shapleigh from Charleston SC

Wonderful XV Beacon

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our third stay at XV Beacon was as wonderful as the first. All in the staff are the best and the rooms are first class. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Boston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from Northville, MI

Romantic Getaway Weekend

Posted Jan 28, 2014
My wife and I stayed here the weekend of Jan. 24th, 2014 for a two night stay as a quick getaway weekend. We could not have been more pleased with the hotel, the location, the amenities and friendliness of the staff. Despite the frigid temperatures, virtually the entire city was walkable from the hotel and when the wind was too biting, the complementary Lexus sedan escort was a wonderful perk, they even drove us back to the airport! The fireplace in the room, luxurious bed and contemporary decor were wonderful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet stay in the heart of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from New York

Beautiful Hotel; quiet and off the beaten path.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The fireplaces in the room.
Cons: The water temperature in the bathroom took time to adjust; perhaps they could improve that.
Location: Quiet location near the Boston Commons; you are a short walk away from Newbury Street (retail shopping).
The hotel staff was most courteous and took the time to get to know you. Overall a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dworkenlaw1 from Cleveland

Sweet Suites!

Posted Jan 16, 2014
We stay at 4 and 5 stars often, and XV Beacon is up there with the best. The room is a solid, large rectangle. The entire one wall is huge, bright windows with the drapes open. With them closed, it is a luxury setting, delightful large bed, fireplace on the other end, and more than enough room for your stay. The bath has all the comforts of top european brands, complete with in wall TV, towel warmers and a huge shower. The radio was playing softly when we arrived. Complimentary fruits in several places on each floor. Fully stocked bar and snack center, with high quality choices. Going to dinner? Don't call a cab. XV has a chauferred Lexus sedan to take you whereever you are going, no charge. The drivers were incredibly knowledgable about Boston history, architecture, and much more. Or, if you wanted quiet, the sedan had full passenger control audio and climate in the back, so you make the choices. Need anything at all? The concierge went out of their way for all our requests, and everything was ready on time. We would stay here everytime we come to Boston. Give it a try and I think you will too.