Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, efficient, convenient

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Came to Cambridge for a film festival. Hotel was a very short walk to the Brattle Theatre. Very convenient. Great location. Nice comfortable, clean room. Efficient staff. I would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

meets your needs, convenient location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: clean room, good location, good price
Cons: hallway carpet looks dirty, stuffy odor in hallways odd access to front door, up a ramp and through the parking lot
Location: directly in the center of Harvard Sq. activities, many good restaurants and coffee shops nearby
beds comfortable and clean, bathroom clean, windows open for fresh air!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh

Terrific hotel experience near Harvard Square

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: the staff excel at guest service
Cons: The glass shelf above the bathroom sink was not level and was loose in the plaster wall. It needed repaired.
Location: Great location at Harvard. Everything we wanted was within a short walk. We took the T several times to Boston.
Stayed here two nights. Wished I had more time to lengthen the stay. The hotel is very comfortable and clean and located in a convenient spot. We flew into Boston and rode the T from the airport over to this hotel location a block from the Harvard T stop. Awesome desk staff who were all on the ball working to make our experience pleasant. And did so, from suggesting terrific nearby cafes, to directions to shipping services I needed, to directions to nearby destinations on our agenda. The staff all knew the answers, on the spot, wasted not a second. And courteous. All delivering a high level of service to the guest. The desk staff are not just among the best I've ever experienced, they are the best. The maid staff work hard at this hotel, kept our room fresh, yet I never saw them. Do yourself a favor, choose to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jessfrom Cambridge

Great Location, no amenities

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Can't argue with the convenience of the location. But my major complaints were: Didn't get a King bed like I reserved. We were put in a room with 2 full size beds. Elevator was broken, and we had to walk up some very grimy stairs to the 3rd floor. No place to put toiletries in the bathroom. It's a boutique hotel in a great location, but considering the Charles Hotel is right next door, I should've spent the extra few $ to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathanfrom Philadelphia

B+

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel served our purposes for college visits nearby. However, the elevator was not working for the THREE DAYS we were there. Not sure why this wasn't a priority for the hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hal A.from Maryland

Small but clean

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Elevator was being replaced so being on the 4th floor was a bit inconvenient. Bathroom very small but clean. Room was very clean. I thought I might have left something in the room, called the hotel, they promised to check with housekeeping and call me back. No call back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although I was happy with cleanliness of room, when I arrived I was greeted with a broken elevator, was given a room number to a room someone already had checked into, which made me come back to the lobby to get a new room. Then, upon arriving back to my room that evening, my room key did not work, which made me again return to lobby and the staff just told me to keep it away from my phone as it can de-magnetize. I explained that I travel often and I do understand how to carry my key which is why I always keep it in the sleeve provided at check-in. Certainly wasn't a totally bad experience, but wasn't as enjoyable as I was looking forward to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Convenient for Harvard.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. 2 lovely big windows in the room I stayed in which gave me a wonderful view. Very close to T station (subway).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warning - elevator construction through Sept 6

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The former Harvard Motor Inn has smallish rooms, but they have been updated and redesigned with a modern, efficient feel and contemporary amenities. The tightness is felt most in the bathrooms, which have an open-door, European style shower and limited sink space. The location is super -- right at the Mt. Auburn / Brattle Square intersection, steps to anything in Harvard Square. We arrived Saturday, August 30 to find that the elevator was under construction and would not be available for the duration of our stay. The signs say the construction should be completed by September 6, but it may be worth calling for an update. Unless you like stairs (concrete, remind you that this used to be an old motel, stairs). Rating would be higher if we had been informed about the construction, but then, we probably would have chosen someplace else to stay had that been the case.