Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from nyc

meets your needs, convenient location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: clean room, good location, good price
Cons: hallway carpet looks dirty, stuffy odor in hallways odd access to front door, up a ramp and through the parking lot
Location: directly in the center of Harvard Sq. activities, many good restaurants and coffee shops nearby
beds comfortable and clean, bathroom clean, windows open for fresh air!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Terrific hotel experience near Harvard Square

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: the staff excel at guest service
Cons: The glass shelf above the bathroom sink was not level and was loose in the plaster wall. It needed repaired.
Location: Great location at Harvard. Everything we wanted was within a short walk. We took the T several times to Boston.
Stayed here two nights. Wished I had more time to lengthen the stay. The hotel is very comfortable and clean and located in a convenient spot. We flew into Boston and rode the T from the airport over to this hotel location a block from the Harvard T stop. Awesome desk staff who were all on the ball working to make our experience pleasant. And did so, from suggesting terrific nearby cafes, to directions to shipping services I needed, to directions to nearby destinations on our agenda. The staff all knew the answers, on the spot, wasted not a second. And courteous. All delivering a high level of service to the guest. The desk staff are not just among the best I've ever experienced, they are the best. The maid staff work hard at this hotel, kept our room fresh, yet I never saw them. Do yourself a favor, choose to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient for Harvard.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. 2 lovely big windows in the room I stayed in which gave me a wonderful view. Very close to T station (subway).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warning - elevator construction through Sept 6

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The former Harvard Motor Inn has smallish rooms, but they have been updated and redesigned with a modern, efficient feel and contemporary amenities. The tightness is felt most in the bathrooms, which have an open-door, European style shower and limited sink space. The location is super -- right at the Mt. Auburn / Brattle Square intersection, steps to anything in Harvard Square. We arrived Saturday, August 30 to find that the elevator was under construction and would not be available for the duration of our stay. The signs say the construction should be completed by September 6, but it may be worth calling for an update. Unless you like stairs (concrete, remind you that this used to be an old motel, stairs). Rating would be higher if we had been informed about the construction, but then, we probably would have chosen someplace else to stay had that been the case.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Harvard Sq. Gem

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Awesome spot to stay and play. T stop is right there plus many local good food spots. Only "complaint" was the parking which was $35 over and above and very tight in and out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Henry from Wallingford CT

Nice Accommatations

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, easy parking, friendly staff. Rooms very small but clean and kept up. Elevator needs updating, very slow.... Overall price was a bit high given the amenities, but I would recommend it if you want to be in the heart of Harvard Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Convenient location, otherwise you don't get much

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Convenient location to Harvard Sq.
Cons: Coffeemakers in the room. A continental breakfast. This hotel is not cheap and could do more for its guests, as other hotels at these rates do.
Location: Many restaurants, shops, and events in Harvard Sq. Short walking distance to the subway line.
No coffeemakers in the room, so if you want a hot drink you have to trek downstairs for it. Supposedly the coffee and tea are complimentary, although there's a big sign there with prices. Go figure. No continental breakfast, which other hotels offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel near Havard Square

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: It's cleanliness.
Cons: Fairly little.
Location: Good location next to shops, banks, transport, etc.
Pleasant to be in. Rooms rather small, but comforts are well provided. Location convenient for metro, buses and taxis. Friendly staff, but I did not appreciate a knock on the door at 8am by housekeeping staff anxious to tidy rooms.