Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for staying close to TD garden

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Upgraded us to king suite because hotel was overbooked. Unfortunately, AC was not functioning properly. Was very warm in room. Stay away from hotel if you are allergic to feathers as linens are down. My son had one big allergy attack. But the upside was the free hot breakfast (pancake machine is cool) the free wifi, location to the Garden and the unexpected upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kym from New York, NY

Great location and customer service

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The customer service at this location CANNOT be beat. The front desk staff were cheery and helpful at all times of the day or night. Also, the location is phenomenal...you are right across from the TD Bank arena and the beautiful Bunker Hill bridge, and a 15-minute walk from the North End (which was our destination while in Boston). We did not partake in breakfast, but it looked great! Our only complaint was that our room (on the fifth floor) absolutely REEKED of garbage, and I am not exaggerating. We asked them to take a look at it while we were out one night, but it only got worse after that. It smelled so bad that we woke up on our last morning with headaches. Despite that, I can't fault the hotel beyond taking off one star because it was so pleasant otherwise.
2 out of 5
by trevor from aust

Terrible

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All
Location: Boston walk
Rotten fruit on arrival and a/c not working . Expensive parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ovijit from New Delhi

Great Hotel in Boston

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Everything ....The hotel location is excellent and so are the rooms and staff. The TD garden and the North Station Metro are just a minute walk. The
Location: The hotel location is excellent and so are the rooms and staff. The TD garden and the North Station Metro are just a minute walk. There is a CVS, ve
The hotel location is excellent and so are the rooms and staff. The TD garden and the North Station Metro are just a minute walk. There is a CVS, very good food outlets within a minute walk from the hotel. The Boston Science Meuseum is the next station. The " RED LINE " Boston Heritage walk trail passes just 50 meters away from the hotel. The Copley Square or the Harvard , MITs or , Boston University are only 10 - 15 minutes by Metro . The hotel has a very good breakfast spread. I liked the pork patties. Over all -- The hotel is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted May 27, 2014
Very nice staff. The room is big except the window. The breakfast is good. Recommend! Very convenient location if you want to go to MIT or Harvard University.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Vail, Colorado

A very basic appropriatly priced facility.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Location, price and staff.
Cons: Upgrade the elevator.
Location: Close to historic Boston and very close to the TD Garden and public transportation.
This hotel is an extensive remodel of an old building which depicts the "character" of old Boston. It fills an important "nitch" in hotel prices in an otherwise extremely overpriced hotel market. As such it has some limitations such as a slow elevator and small rooms. However, it is extremely clean, the staff is outstanding and very very helpful. I will certainly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan from NJ

thermostate issue

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: We came for a conference at Mass General; we were close by. Good food/sports bar around the corner. Across st from TD stadium
The hotel was very nice - great location, staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. There was a problem with the thermostat in the room. I did not call down for assistance, and I did fall asleep, using just a sheet. I slept very well. Second issue was poor lighting in the kitchenette area. Breakfast was fine and as I said, staff could not have been more professional and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Qu├ębec

Clean hotel, staff very gentle

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Near the TD Garden, clean and recent.
Cons: Having more commodities, like a pool or a restaurant...
Location: TD Garden
We did not have the room we reserved for... We don't know if it's the fault of the company we reserved with or if it's the hotel's fault...
2 out of 5
by pete from rhode island

Came for celtics

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Phone in room did not work... heater was blowing out cold air.. guy came up fixed it.. it blew hot for 30 min then back to cold.. bathroom door did not close or lock.. toilet was clogged.. only up side was the desk chick gave us free soda and candy for the inconveinence and the valet didnt rob me so.. thats why im not saying 100 percent horrible just 99 percent.. :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business comfortable but don't fancy the location

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, friendly and welcoming, and the little luxuries made all the difference.
Cons: Perhaps more security outside or something, it just didn't feel very safe at night.
Location: The stadium is right there, and it is quite close to Quincy market/Faneuil hall which are great tourist locations and shopping attractions.
The Holiday Inn Express has really great staff, the rooms were nice and clean, there were complimentary refreshments in the lobby and overall I would give it a 5 star rating, except that the location wasn't ideal and I couldn't have known that without knowing the area. If I had been traveling alone I wouldn't have felt safe about leaving or returning to the hotel in the evening, but I was with my husband.