Ratings based on 686 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J

Loved our stay!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Nice clean spacious room, great location, friendly hotel staff.
Cons: Please put a coffee maker in each room! Also shower caps but mostly a coffee maker!
Location: T stop is right out front. Fenway Park right behind. On BU's campus, walking distance to Northeastern and the Back Bay shopping and restaurants.
We got a great rate on expedia, and were very happy with the hotel. Great location, friendly staff and a spacious comfortable room. We were on a low floor, so the view was just OK (Comm Ave, not the Fenway side, and what do you want with the bargain rates, I guess ;-) ) but we had no issues with street noise at all. We didn't have time to try the restaurants, but they and many other delicacies were just a stone's throw away from the lobby of the hotel. My only food-complaint was that there was no in-room coffee maker. I really count on these when I wake up in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great stay. Friendly staff. Parking is a little pricey, but its back bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Grand Prairie, TX

Perfect location to Fenway and city.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
We absolutely loved our hotel stay. We came in town for a Rangers/ Red Sox game and the location was perfect to Fenway. It was a short walk around the corner and the nicest hotel around. Our room had new carpet, a new bed and was newly renovated. We stayed in a junior suite that was huge! The staff was amazing. The doorman gave us a map of the city, circled all the popular attractions that he recommended and gave us directions to the nearest shopping. If your going to a game the Cask n' Flagon is great for a patio table before the game. The Eastern Standard was a great restaurant just a few feet down from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, expensive

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Very nice employees that offered complimentary wine as well as pleasant doormen who were very quick to retrieve our car. Close to city.
Cons: The room we stayed in, Fenway room, could have been more modernized. Also, a more detailed description of how our room would be charged.
Location: Plenty of places to shop and dine.
My partner and I decided to stay at the Hotel Commonwealth for our wedding honeymoon. The staff were very nice and we recieved a complimentary bottle of wine. We were not impressed with the overall size of the bathroom in our room, or the condition of the furniture. Since we were celebrating our recent marriage, we had expected the room to be much nicer for what we had paid (hotel and valet).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel convenient to BackBay

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Decent Location.
Location: Located right outside Kenmore T-station. Short walk to Fenway Park. Slightly longer walk to Newbury street/central Back Bay.
This is a nice hotel convenient to Back Bay and the Green Line (Kenmore T-Station is right there). Decorating is traditional but tastefully done and rooms are fairly quiet and comfortable. They could not find my expedia reservation when I checked in and did not call me the next day (as promised) to assure me that this issue was resolved, but they did provide me with an upgraded room while they "looked into it" so the issue was more peace of mind rather than being without a place to stay. Would definitely recommend the hotel in general for adult stay -- not sure it's all that "kid-friendly".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Montreal

Classy Hotel in the middle of the action

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Great experience overall. Was a slight glitch with my name at check-in, and the staff did not hesitate to offer a suite upgrade for the trouble (which was super minor). Also, some really awesome restaurants and cocktail lounge right nearby!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Commonweath...Boston at it's best

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Staff was exceptional.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Perfect location.
I've never written a review before but I have to say that my stay at the Hotel Commonwealth was absolutely superb. It was beautiful, clean, elegant, the staff was incredibly professional and helpful. I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara from Toronto

Great Value

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: I wouldn't expect a 5-star room or boutique-feel from this hotel, however the draw is the great value, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: The bar fridge in the room was not working. It would also have been helpful to have a safe in the room.
Location: We tried both restaurants attached to the hotel. Island Creek Oyster Bar is amazing; Eastern Standard was a disappointment. I would return to this hot
If you're looking for a comfortable and clean hotel at a great rate, this is an excellent choice. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated very close to Fenway Park and the shops along Newbury. There is also a T-stop right in front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matt from Seattle

Great hotel, great staff

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The staff - they went out of their way to make sure we felt "at home" the minute we arrived.
Cons: DirectTV wasn't working - might have just been due to the snowstorm, though, and wasn't a big deal.
Location: The location was perfect - subway stop next door, Fenway on the flip-side, restaurants on-site and nearby.
We were welcomed immediately, checked-in promptly, and arrived to our room to find out that they had generously upgraded us to a junior suite without even mentioning it. Our luggage was lost on arrival, but the front desk was eager to provide necessities and let us know as soon as the airline delivered it the next day. The bed was comfortable and the amenities were great. Unlike most high-end chain hotels that charge for every extra service, they provided free wifi and an open business center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and lovely facility

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Would come back again in a heartbeat! Great staff, beautiful rooms, close to all amenities.