Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Nice room, next to highway.....

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The interior of the room was nice, clean and comfortable. However, looking, and listening to a busy highway negated the room positives.
Cons: Front entrance may improve once renovations are complete. It is depressing at the moment.
Location: I did not enjoy being next to two major, busy, highways.
The room was nice and clean. However, it was next to the highway. Hotel is undergoing renovations, current entrance is depressing. Three star rating would be more accurate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

expensive hotel under construction

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: clean, nice staff
Cons: let people know when you are under construction and have guys outside your window with hammers and manlifts working.
valet made us find our way around block after sitting in massive traffic costing us an additonal 20 min when we were already late. Hotel was under massive construction which was not described anywhere. staff friendly and professional. 46 dollars to park not mentioned and 30 something in room taxes on top of the rate. room was nice and clean. Boston is way too expensive !!! Staying beachfront in florida this same week for 1/4 the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montana

It's location was fantastic.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Stayed during construction. The construction was audibly noticeable most of the day starting at 8am-ish. Nothing too crazy loud...but quite annoying. The lobby was closed so we used the side entrance. No doorman, which was only an issue because it was raining our entire stay. Every time we exited the building we needed to run down about 150' of sidewalk...to get a doorman to hail us a cab. Usually in this situation we would expect a doorman to hail us a cab and help us out with an umbrella. This was not the case. Our visit was probably lacking in expectations because of the weather and construction. But by no means would I consider this a 5 star or 4.5 star hotel. It was a solid 3.5-4 max. Staff was very polite and we did get a room upgrade...but it didn't really change much in our opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Night of Sleep

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Quiet and convenient.
Location: Fenway Park, BU, steps from subway to downtown.
Needed a quiet place to stay for one night in Boston and this fit the bill. I was nervous that it would be loud since my room overlooked busy Kenmore Square but I slept great. The room was huge (nice touch to have curtains that could be drawn to create a separate sitting/work area apart from the sleeping area). The king sized bed was super comfortable and the water pressure was great in the shower (these are things I notice). Bonus was being able to walk right down into Eastern Standard restaurant, get an immediate seat at the bar, and have a nice dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom milano

Vacanza a Boston

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Albergo con camere grandi e pulite, personale gentilissimo ma per noi che amiamo girare possibilmente a piedi , troppo distante dal centro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Renovated hotel with quick transportation access

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Recent renovation. Everything was pristine.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near Boston University, Fenway Park, wonderful shopping on Newbury, The Prudential Center and other museum or church tours.
This is a beautiful hotel which has been recently renovated. We rented one of the Commonwealth suites and found it to be spacious, elegant and quiet even though our room faced Commonwealth. Everyone was responsive to our requests. The food at the Eastern Standard is divine. If you are not renting a car, there is easy access to the bus, subway and taxis. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Quiet business/pleasure stay.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
We were in Boston for a couple of days playing a concert at Symphony Hall. We wanted a quieter area than Copley Square that still has great restaurants and not far from work. We found this in the Commonwealth Hotel and Kenmore neighborhood. From the moment I called on our way in from the airport I knew we were in good hands. I needed an early check in and not only did Ophelia provide this but she instantly upgraded our reservation. *Note to Commonwealth General Manager: she's gold! Don't lose her!! Anyway, we couldn't have been happier with every aspect of our stay and literally ate our way up and down the street near the hotel. They were beginning a major lobby and reception area renovation while we were there but it in no way inconvenienced us. In short, a classy and we'll run hotel with personal attention and care for visitors. Thanks and we'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
This hotel is in the perfect location, and adjacent to two fabulous restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Great location and restaurants. Close to sites and transportation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel commonwealth

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The hotel was reasonably priced and the location was excellent. The valet parking was efficiently run and a real convenience.