Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Amazing stay. I would come back over and over! Cleanest place I've ever stayed in. Everyone was so friendly. Incredible breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Newport, RI

Goodness close to campus

Posted Jan 19, 2015
We stayed here because it was close to downtown Boston without paying downtown prices. Cambridge is a nice community and the Irving House was ideal as it was within walking distance of the entire Harvard campus as well as surrounding shopping, dining, etc. The staff was very nice and the room was large and comfortable. We had a family room that worked well for us. The beds were comfortable and with it being winter, there were extra blankets in the room, though the quilts were heavy enough we didn't need anything else. They have snacks until about 10 at night in the breakfast room and it was a nice quiet place to talk in the evening or play a game of cards. The breakfast was good, not great with a decent selection of pastries, oatmeal, and egg sandwiches, etc. Call it a heavy continental breakfast. Overall we were pleased with our stay and if we were in Boston would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, clean

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: staff and cleanliness
Cons: better WIFI, better coffee
Friendly, good breakfast, clean WIFI variable and a bit slow, a bit far from harvard business school
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Amherst, MA

PERFECT PLACE FOR A VISIT TO CAMBRIDGE & BOSTON!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The ambience. The comfort and privacy of double-decker beds in the room (with curtains). The coffee cakes and varieties of tea and coffee available.
Cons: Please serve scrambled eggs!
Location: Less than 10-min walk to Harvard Square. Less than 5-min walk to the Harvard University compound.
I highly recommend the Family Room for anyone traveling with children or in groups of four. The room has a queen-sized bed, with a double decker and curtains that gives much needed privacy during long stays. I traveled with my boyfriend and two brothers, and my brothers loved having their own beds where they could read, surf the Net etc. The internet provided is very reliable and fast. I loved the breakfast served every morning - although, I wish they served scrambled eggs instead of the quiches! I think scrambled eggs would make the whole stay absolutely perfect! That was my only dissatisfaction - no scrambled eggs! I loved the whole feel of this B&B. It used to house Harvard students. Every bedroom is decorated with books - and if you like any of them, you can take them home! How awesome is that?! The breakfast area stays open till 11pm every night - and it's just so lovely to go down for a cup of tea, and coffee cakes (delicious!) just to get some privacy and unwind after a long day of sightseeing. The location is perfect - it is walking distance to Harvard University, and Harvard Square. The area feels safe, and it's wonderful to walk and enjoy the whole feel of this college town. I also loved the bathrooms and showers! I recommend the Family room on the first floor (ground). "This place is perfect!", said my brother. =)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Korea

Best hotel, location, Breakfast, friendly, comfort

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: More than 100 year old house building with cozy and nice hotel with free wifi
Cons: not much
Location: best location to see boston
location best, Breakfast was free and good, location to Harvard good, very comfortable hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very cute and cozy

Posted Dec 28, 2014
I loved the place, very home-like, cute, and cozy! especially for the holiday season. Room was very clean, above my expectations. I gave 4 stars for the condition just because the room got quite chilly during the night and we had to turn on external heating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Beautiful bed and breakfast

Posted Dec 20, 2014
I had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast! It was easy to find and you can easily walk around Harvard Square from its location. My bed was warm and very cozy, I have already booked to stay here again in January!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Stayed overnight to visit Harvard. Great place in a great location. Staff were nice, and rooms clean. Shared bathroom wasn't a problem during off season, but may potentially be problematic if all the rooms were filled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn,ny

Nice Harvard location

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Staff is very nice and accommodating, but we did not expect to be on the 3rd floor, with no elevator. It is very clean and pretty, with a very good breakfast, and provision of coffee, tea and pastry all day--also, access to a guest refrigerator and ice. But, we were expecting a queen sized bed, and it was only a double bed. A bit tight for us. Also, the mattress was too hard for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice bed and breakfast

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Excellent food and service breakfast was incredible.