Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Way overpriced.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: modernize. Get an elevator and upgrade the furnishings
Location: close to Harvard
pleasant staff but the room was small with old furnishings and was WAY overpriced. The breakfast was adequate but the whole place felt more like a youth hostel than a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Bed and Breakfasth

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Great clean convenient location breakfast all homemade and delicious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Enjoyed my experience. The room, though small, was very comfortable, well-venitlated, and clean. Enjoyed the books that they had available for me to read and borrow. The staff was very relaxed and friendly. The location of Irving House was ideal for my travel needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Irving house is a great bed and breakfast. Staff was wonderful, breakfast was good, and location was perfect. Our only complaint was that the central air conditioning wasn't as cold as we would have liked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Lovely, cozy place to stay with a great breakfast!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything....the location, the food, the staff, the atmosphere.
Cons: Can't think of anything. You might think of asking older people whether a first or second floor room is preferable. It would be a nice gesture.
Location: Nicely located in Cambridge, Mass, near Harvard Yard, Harvard Square, the science center.
I loved staying at Irving House and hope to go back again when I need to be in Cambridge. The place is beautiful, very well-kept and accessible by foot, just a 10-15 minute walk from Harvard Square and perhaps a 5-7 minute walk from Harvard Yard. It was spotless; the breakfast offered many healthy choices. The staff was cordial and the room cozy. Don't hesitate to "share a bath" if you need to be "economical." There are two full baths on each floor; they are spotless and Irving House lends you a very comfortable, large robe for trips down the hall. I'd go back there without hesitation and recommend the place with unreserved enthusiasm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aventura, FL

Cozy B&B near Harvard Graduate School of Design

Posted Jul 2, 2014
My room was small but cozy and warm. Breakfast is served from 7 to 10 AM, and it is good enough to start your day. I like the fact that they have coffee, tea, milk, cookies and fruit available the whole day. It is lovely to sit down outside in the patio to read, enjoying the quiet street during Summer. It is located 10 minutes walking to Harvard Square T-Station, but it is a very pleasant walk across Harvard Yard. There is a Hubway Station two blocks away (this is the share bicycle system that you can use to go across the city, just paying 6 dollars per day)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely Inn close to Harvard

Posted Jul 2, 2014
I stayed two nights at Irving House. Very clean room (mine was en-suite) and very helpful staff. The walls are a bit thin, but that's understandable in an older house like this. Would definitely recommend for either solo or family travelers looking for a peaceful spot close to Harvard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great location in Cambridge, nice staff and a great room layout in the family room that we had. The kids loved being able to hide themselves in their bunk beds with a curtain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Canada

Easy access to downtown areas

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect location for visiting Harvard and taking public transit downtown. Great breakfast and friendly service. Highly recommend to those who would be satisfied with a basic but functional room and a decent price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PD from Chicago

Night at Irving House

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although I spent less than 24 hours at Irving House due to travel demands, it was a great place to spend the night and refresh before classes started and wonderfully convenient to Harvard Square. Staff were friendly and helpful while the breakfast had a surprising, and nice, international flavor that I hadn't expected. Hopefully, I'll be back.