Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Enjoyed my experience. The room, though small, was very comfortable, well-venitlated, and clean. Enjoyed the books that they had available for me to read and borrow. The staff was very relaxed and friendly. The location of Irving House was ideal for my travel needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Irving house is a great bed and breakfast. Staff was wonderful, breakfast was good, and location was perfect. Our only complaint was that the central air conditioning wasn't as cold as we would have liked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Lovely, cozy place to stay with a great breakfast!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything....the location, the food, the staff, the atmosphere.
Cons: Can't think of anything. You might think of asking older people whether a first or second floor room is preferable. It would be a nice gesture.
Location: Nicely located in Cambridge, Mass, near Harvard Yard, Harvard Square, the science center.
I loved staying at Irving House and hope to go back again when I need to be in Cambridge. The place is beautiful, very well-kept and accessible by foot, just a 10-15 minute walk from Harvard Square and perhaps a 5-7 minute walk from Harvard Yard. It was spotless; the breakfast offered many healthy choices. The staff was cordial and the room cozy. Don't hesitate to "share a bath" if you need to be "economical." There are two full baths on each floor; they are spotless and Irving House lends you a very comfortable, large robe for trips down the hall. I'd go back there without hesitation and recommend the place with unreserved enthusiasm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aventura, FL

Cozy B&B near Harvard Graduate School of Design

Posted Jul 2, 2014
My room was small but cozy and warm. Breakfast is served from 7 to 10 AM, and it is good enough to start your day. I like the fact that they have coffee, tea, milk, cookies and fruit available the whole day. It is lovely to sit down outside in the patio to read, enjoying the quiet street during Summer. It is located 10 minutes walking to Harvard Square T-Station, but it is a very pleasant walk across Harvard Yard. There is a Hubway Station two blocks away (this is the share bicycle system that you can use to go across the city, just paying 6 dollars per day)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Lovely Inn close to Harvard

Posted Jul 2, 2014
I stayed two nights at Irving House. Very clean room (mine was en-suite) and very helpful staff. The walls are a bit thin, but that's understandable in an older house like this. Would definitely recommend for either solo or family travelers looking for a peaceful spot close to Harvard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great location in Cambridge, nice staff and a great room layout in the family room that we had. The kids loved being able to hide themselves in their bunk beds with a curtain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eduardo from Mexico

Close to Harvard Square, good price

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: It´s very close to the Yard
The room was very, very small, but clean. The night staff was very cold but the morning people was very helpful and nice. The location is great if you are visiting Harvard and the price is the best in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kenneth blackman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Laurie from North Carolina

Simple but comfortable

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
As long as you know what to expect, Irving House is a very convenient and comfortable place to stay if you are visiting Harvard. The room I stayed in was quite small, but the bed was in good condition and it was quiet. The shared WC was across the hall, and the full bath (shower, no tub) was around the corner. The room contained only the bed and a desk and a bookshelf--no TV (but there was a phone). The hotel is a very short walk from Harvard Yard. The breakfast had the usual breads, cereal, etc. plus mini-quiches, and was quite adequate. The staff was cheerful and helpful. The front desk is staffed 24 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Claire from New York

Marathon weekend

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for the Boston Marathon. Hotel was super accommodating to runners and started breakfast at 5am. Has its own parking lot.