Ratings based on 1,145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The staff
Location: Good location. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Close to the T also.
Staff are the best. They are warm, friendly, helpful, quick, and professional. I have stayed in this hotel for three years running for HOCR weekend and never been disappointed. Many of the staff are the same people. This says a lot about the place too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice location to Cambridge Area

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Nice Place and Cozy, Nice Breakfast with lots of fruits. Good location to Harvard and MIT Campus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rhode island

Nice modern hotel with lots of things going on aro

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We only stayed at the hotel for one night… Would love to have made it longer! We so were celebrating our anniversary and can't imagine a nicer place to do it at. We really enjoyed the room it was clean and we had a very nice stay. The staff was extremely helpful. The restaurant felt a little like a cafeteria, but the food was good and the staff was great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok, but annoying background music

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Rooms.
Cons: Silence and pretentiousness.
Location: Near central square and MIT.
I wound up staying there because of an unexpected delay in travel, and it was a holiday weekend. The rooms themselves are nice, well appointed and furnished etc. However they make a big deal about it being geared toward creative types, but the muzak in all lobby areas and elevator made it hard to concentrate except in one's room. I asked if there were any spaces without it and one suggested the garden (unavailable due to rain). Hard décor and lighting made it unappealing to meet people there or stay. So I was checking it as a possible mainstay for future trips but decided otherwise. Note: excellent charming breakfast place Brookline Brunch two blocks away, and cheaper than the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2014 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We will absolutely be reviewing some of your points of concern regarding our staff. We were sorry to hear that you found our background music disturbing. We do have rooms available upon request that are much quieter. We would have been happy to allocate you one of these. We do hope you will reconsider Le Meridien Cambridge in the future and please do ask us for a quieter room if you should return. Sincerely, Guest Experience Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, texas

Posted Oct 9, 2014
They claim this hotel is regularly $525 an evening, there are so many more hotels for less than this in backbay and beacon hill. I stayed there because I got it for $237, had i would paid more I would be very upset. The hotel claims to be "a little more than a mile walk to backbay" they fail to mention you have to walk over the bridge of the St Charles. A very busy, almost a freeway, street. Room was average. I've traveled to Europe numerous times, Canada, so. America, Carribean, central America and north america all extensively.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jodi, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay with us at Le Meridien Cambridge and would like to apologize for not fully exceeding your expectations. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our hotel location. We do provide our address so guests are able to see our exact location prior to booking to avoid disappointment. We do hope you will reconsider our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Team
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jodi, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay with us at Le Meridien Cambridge and would like to apologize for not fully exceeding your expectations. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our hotel location. We do provide our address so guests are able to see our exact location prior to booking to avoid disappointment. We do hope you will reconsider our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: That breakfast was included and its great location
Cons: ---
Location: Next to MIT and conveniently close to Harvard Square. Walking distance from Prudential and even Boston Garden, on a nice day if you feel like walking.
Friendly staff, great buffet breakfast included! Next to MIT and conveniently close to Harvard Square. Walking distance from Prudential and even Boston Garden, on a nice day if you feel like walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with really convenient location

Posted Sep 26, 2014
I had an extended stay at this hotel through work. It was great, really good room, safe location I felt at ease walking around alone after dark. Quick walk to the beautiful Charles river. Transport links excellent, including t and hubway bikes. Good standard of room and general hotel areas. One cleaning mishap one day but otherwise excellent standard of house keeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Convenient to MIT and Harvard.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location and ambiance.
Cons: Directions to the hotel for GPS. The street address does not match the hotel entrance.
Lovely hotel with nice amenities, and conveniently located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel centrally located.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: Our experience was not lacking in anything.
Location: Great central location for easy access to both Cambridge and Boston. A fit walker can do on foot, otherwise both buses and T are within couple blocks
Easy access to both Cambridge and Boston. Upscale, clean, comfortable, very accommodating staff. Restaurant/bar a nice plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Le Meridian Hotel Boston

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Light, bright, clean with good facilities in the room. Helpful staff.
Cons: Food in the Hotel pricey, so we didn't use the resteraunt. Swimming pool would have been good.
Location: Close to Asgard pub (only 100 metres), which was great & very viberant. Cambridge is an up & coming district. Close to MIT & T (underground) close by.
Good hotel, but a little away from the center of down town Boston. The Metro T system did make travel to & from the hotel easy though. Hotel staff helpful & good level of cleanliness both the room & generally. Great local pub The Asgard just next door to the hotel. Great food & beer very reasonable price. Highly recommended! Would definately use this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We love to hear about enjoyable guest experiences. We were especially happy to hear of our accommodating hotel staff. We were also pleased to learn of your satisfaction with the overall appearance and cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely, Guest Experience Team