Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kiki from San Diego

quick overnight....

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: PILLOWS!!!!!
Location: It's in the Back Bay, right in the middle of Newbury St. Plenty to do..all within walking distance. Great bars, restaurants and lots of shopping.
Just needed a place to stay for one night since Expedia shorted me one night on my recent stay in Boston. The location of the Newbury Guest House is fantastic. I was checked in promptly and upon entering the room was very pleased. There's really only two complaints and the noise in the alley really wasn't that big a deal. My biggest problem was the pillows. Two hard pieces of foam that didn't come near to providing any comfort. Since the duvet was very soft, I used it as a "pillow" instead of covers. It did the job. There was an annoying little drip coming from the water line attached to the toilet. It was obvious the hotel new about it since they had placed a small plastic cup under it to catch the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Very convenient for sight seeing

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location and value for price
Location: Easy walk to a Duck Tour
Good hotel for roue musuems and sightseeing. Safe neighborhood
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Berkshires, MA

Convenient to downtown Boston and Back Bay

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Comfortable spacious room, upscale breakfast and friendly/helpful staff. Reasonable rate for onsite parking. Only complaint: $20 charge for "extra person" (my spouse) in a room designated for 2 occupants. Never experienced that before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny C from Los Angeles

Great view of Newbury St and excellent location!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Great hot breakfast every morning.
Cons: The breakfast was great, but could have used a little variety day to day :)
Location: Close to Prudential Place Mall, Hynes Convention Center and a short subway ride to all that Boston has to offer
The hotel was very close to Prudential place and the Green subway line which can get you anywhere. The room was a great size and had a mini fridge. Tons of places to eat and shop just a short walk away. I loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Cozy and relaxed
Cons: the showers were terrible!!!!! Water pressure was so low it was almost impossible to rinse my hair. (room 210)
Location: Joes American Bar and Grill was great!
Great location on Newbury, will absolutely stay again on that alone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Location, size, perfect for tourists, not a business hotel but that was what we wanted.
Cons: Breakfast not so good. We went out for b'fast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Little Spot

Posted Jan 27, 2014
If you are looking for a quiet, clean, simple, up to date spot with good basic amenities and an available staff that is never in your face, look no further. They have hot eggs, bacon and pancakes for breakfast, a locked closet in which to store luggage before and after, a lovely quiet sitting area with computer (leave yours at home), and parking right out the back door. Although the breakfast does not provide gluten free breads (bring your own), there are several good restaurants (lunch and dinner) within short walking distance that have gluten free menus. We have loved our stays over many years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint hotel on beautiful street

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Charm, comfort, location, B&B
Cons: Breakfast could be more interesting...having muffins, a waffle iron or and egg cooker for patrons to make their own would be better than offerings.
Location: Newberry Street offers lots of shopping and interesting dining opportunities...Patiserrie below hotel.
Luckily the hotel had 24 hour check in as we were quite delayed and check in at 11pm...staff was friendly and the room was clean and just right for our weary bones. The hotel is well maintained and rooms were comfortable...staff was friendly and helpful and although breakfast could be improved upon, it was an overall lovely experience...a lovely patiserrie is below the hotel if you need to supplement the breakfast offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Konrad from Suffolk County, NY

Nice quaint hotel integrated into the local area

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: It was in the local area.
Cons: Window insulation, drafty near the windows.
Location: Great shops and eating options.
This was a great stay for my girlfriend's birthday in late December. It was very warm and cozy. We especially loved the view onto Newbury street and being able to just go down quickly to any shop we scouted through our window. We also loved the Creperie downstairs that served included breakfast and was open for other meals. The free Wifi connectivity was a nice perk. Definitely would come again!