Ratings based on 926 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Wonderful Hotel in Heart of Nostalgic Boston

Posted Apr 21, 2015
We have stayed many times in Boston and this has been the only place we frequent for the last several years. The hotel is clean, modern, up to date but retains its heritage. The staff is very pleasant. The free breakfast in the morning is wonderful. The hotel is convenient to the shops on Newberry street, to the public commons, the theater district and to the Green Line (if you are not up for walking). Just make sure you reserve a space for parking when you book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Beautiful guest house

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Cozy, tasteful, perfectly located, delicious breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach

Fantastic stay at a great location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Comfy clean room with all necessities; nice adjoining restaurant. Great neighborhood and easy walk to Prudential Center, Boylston shopping, marathon finish line and Fenway Park!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville

Great value in the heart of Boston's Backbay

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: found it on-line
Cons: be nice to have a beverage cooler in the lobby (water, sodas, energy drinks, juices) for guest to purchase
Location: Newbury street is the fashion shopping street in Boston - you are close to the Public Library, historic Backbay, Prudential Center, Hancock Tower, etc
Newbury Guest House is a gem - excellent staff and accommodations - great buffet breakfast - convenient to just about everything in the Backbay including symphony and Fenway Park - a mush better value than nearby hotels with very recognizable names - I wish it was a little bigger (# of rooms) - nevertheless, you will be very satisfied with this hotel unless you want things like a swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, full business center, room service, and honors points - as a former Bostonian, you need none of these amenities in the Backbay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and charming

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Very pleasant experience. Great atmosphere, location and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Good Location,
Cons: no air conditioner in room .. had to open window to cool it off.
Very cute decor, but limited due to architecture. Good location, and the staff of attached restaurant were an absolute pleasure and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Super nice central location! The best place!

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Best possible location. Rooms are clean, staff is pleasant.
Cons: Well, not much to be done here--a little more room would be nice! Between elevator and our room was this weird step that made dragging suitcases hard.
We were in Boston for a weekend, never having been there before. I picked the hotel based on other people's reviews of the location and my price range. Boy, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that this hotel was in the best district possible! On the best street in Boston!!!! We got third floor room overlooking Newbury street and it was by far the best experience ever! All the shopping and restaurants and bars and it's in the historic district, almost walking distance to the Freedom Trail. Rooms were clean, although super tiny. If you consider yourself a plus size, it would be a little snug -- bathroom is extra small, I could barely close the door behind myself. Nice contemporary decor. They have coffee and water in the cozy lobby. Unfortunately, we never made it to complimentary breakfast, but I'm sure it was wonderful, since it was being served by the adjacent restaurant, where we ended up having late lunch. It got so busy with locals they had to turn people away! I only gave it four stars based on the size of the room and the corridors that made traveling with suitcases a bit difficult. Overall, I will come back to this place just to experience the beauty of Boston! And the price was very reasonable considering the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Perfect location and comfortable stay. Breakfast, lunch and dinner options on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The location is amazing, easy and convenient to access from the T subway or from the airport. Friendly staff, clean room, free wifi and free breakfas
Location: Shopping all along Newbury Street, restaurants and bars on Boylston, right by the convention center and located in between 2 subway stops.
This hotel experience was great. Easy to get to from the airport, easy to find. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi is always a great perk, as is having a restaurant on site. Overall, this was an excellent hotel ,great for a few nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Lovely hotel close to the museums, shops etc

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I would have liked a kettle in my room rather than having to go to the reception to the coffee machine. Also cereals and brown bread at breakfast.
Location: There is absolutely everything round there shops, eateries, museums, parks....you can't go wrong!
Stay in this hotel! The staff in this place are great, the owner is incredibly friendly and helpful and always has time for you. I was constantly asking for suggestions for things to see and do and they were spot on each time. They really know the area, train routes, food etc. When I saw the room I was gob smacked. The hotel is immaculately clean, not a speck of dust anywhere. I was really surprised by the size of the room because it was so big, I could have danced across the room if I'd wanted to. Nice big tv with all the channels on it. Bathroom was massive and very fancy looking. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with scrambled eggs, poached eggs, bacon (mmmmm bacon) and French toast. Also lots of croissants and bread rolls. There was a delicious fresh fruit platter as well, really top notch food. The location is perfect, I walked twenty minutes to the museums and there are loas of eateries on Newbury street and parallel streets. Shops galore. You can't go wrong in that area. I'm hoping to go back to boston next year and I will definitely be staying here because it's amazing.