Ratings based on 983 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: We liked the breakfast and the location.
Cons: nothing
Location: Everything was perfect about the location. The shopping was great as well as the sightseeing.
It was the perfect location for sightseeing in Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancaster,UK

Charming guest-house in a good location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Cons: The optionof an earlier (continental) breakfast - not a problem for me but would have been had I been catching an early flight out of Boston
Location: All of Boston is readily accessible by public transport.
The Newbury guest-house is a conversion of a fine,19th century Boston brown-stone house. My room was as comfortable and well-equipped as a room in a high-class business hotel, but with the addition of character and charm. Newbury street is full of interesting shops and cafe-style restaurants and the nearest metro station (Copley Square) is a few minutes walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for Back Bay Boston

Posted Jun 27, 2015
The room they gave us literally had the elevator shaft in the room and was noisy. It took up a lot of the space in the room and the view was an alley. If you get this room refuse it. Breakfast was above average for breakfast included. What this hotel has is location. It is right in the middle of the shopping and dining on Newbury street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Good sleep. Good breakfast. Excellent help from staff. Keep away from rating review since it will not leave you alone nor release you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good, small, European-style hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Small-hotel atmosphere and attention to guests.
Cons: See above.
Location: Newbury Street is a very pleasant boutique-shopping street, with a number of reasonably-priced, good restaurants.
Everything about this hotel was excellent, except the road noise from Newbury Street. There is little/nothing the hotel can do about it, short of glazing in the beautiful bay-windows, airport-style. but then, the rooms would loose some of their charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Kent, Ohio

Don't stay in 306 next to the elevator it is noisy

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Eliminate the throw pillow on the bed.
Location: Lots of restaurants, quaint cafes, shopping.
Great location. Charming guest house. Air conditioning unit is noisy. Room is modest but sufficient for a single person and one night stay. Staff were very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Not as nice as the reviews indicate.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The breakfast croissants and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Window Treatments. New Carpet. Variety for Breakfast. Bed linens and towels.
Location: Was right in the Back Bay section of Boston, close to high end shopping. Within walking distance of the park and other sights, but was a hike.
Very disappointed with this property. Their website and reviews lead you to believe this is a high quality, quaint hotel. The staff were very nice a considerate. However, the rooms (bedding and baths), amenities, breakfast were not as so great. Our room, 310 looks like it has not been upgraded at all. It has the cheapest window blinds and treatments money can buy. They kept out no light. We were on the alley side of the hotel, so by 7:00 AM each morning we listened to garbage trucks, residents for other buildings getting in their cars, the homeless going through trash for who know what. Did not get one good nights sleep. Our bathroom was outdated and tiny, and you could not keep the bathroom door open. It had a spring loaded hinge because when open, it blocked the door to enter and exit the room. It had average at best bed linens and towels, the pillows were awful, and the carpet was dirty. Lastly, although they did have a hot cooked buffet breakfast available every morning, it was exactly the same thing every day. Scrambled eggs, poached (which became) soft boiled eggs, bacon, link sausage, fruit bowl with honeydew, cantaloupe, pineapple and grapes, plain yogurt, rolls, and croissants. On the positive side, the croissants were to die for. Very flaky and tasty. Thought this property was way overpriced and hyped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good place

Posted Jun 10, 2015
I recommend this place as it is located on Newbury street which has various restiarants and shops. Moreover it has a cozy room. I enjoyed myself in Boston with Newbury guesthouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel had a great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ideaal city trip hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: de ligging en het persoonlijke
Cons: ontbijt iets uitbreiden
Location: zie ervaring
leuk historisch pand in Newbury street met veel restaurantjes en boutiekjes. een blok verwijderd van de Prudential mall. Hier start van diverse stadstoeren metro halte 2 bloks verwijderd en direct shuttle bus naar vliegveld om de hoek. centrum 20 - 30 min lopen Ontbijt wel wat beperkt maar prima