Ratings based on 1,097 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, MA

Free Wine Hour!!!!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Free wine hour!!!!!
Cons: Extra towels in the room
Location: Great location for the garden!
Super close to the venue which we were attending an event. Safe area. Staff was great during checkin, even though early check in was not permitted. The mini-bar was well stocked along with extras in the room for an extra charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Michal, Hotel Management
Sounds like you had a great stay with us Ashley! I am glad you enjoyed our location, mini bar and wine hour. Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Great place to stay for TD Garden and North End

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Convenience to TD Garden & North End, very comfortable room, friendly staff
Cons: I can't think of anything that needs improvement
Location: TD Garden (sports), North End (history & restaurants), Fanueil Hall (history & shopping), Boston Common
We stayed at the Onyx Hotel when we were in Boston for a hockey game and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is just a half block from TD Garden and a short walk to the North End where there are so many great restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well appointed (we had a room that was apparently slightly larger than average as there was handicapped access in the bathroom). The linens, mattress and pillows were great. Free wireless with signup w/Kimpton (also free). Free cocktail from 5-6 pm, which on our day was a bourbon/cider drink - perfect for a snowy Boston day in January! We would definitely return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you DBF! It's great to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Hope the Bruins game was fun! Best, Michal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Perfect if you're going to any event at the TD Garden. Just a short 3-minute walk and you're there! Actually within walking distance to so many wonderful restaurants and tourist sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the review! We are in fact very close to the Garden and many other places in Boston. Happy to read that you were able to enjoy our location and Boston. Sincerely, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ct

Best hotel in a long time that I stayed in.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Great location and easy to get around. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Very comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michal, Hotel Management
Dear Fred, Wow, thank you so much for the kind words! I am so happy that you had a great time with us. Sincerely, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with good location

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Sleek furnishings, free coffee, nice staff
Cons: Wine reception at Kimptons is always from 5:00-6:00 when we were still out and about. Would love if it ran longer...
Location: Freedom trail, faneuil hall, north end, TD Garden all nearby
Spent just one night at the Onyx based on other reviews. Have been in other Kimptons and always enjoy our stays and this was no exception. Lovely staff, cool room, hot chocolate and coffee in the morning. Signed up for Kimpton Karma so Wifi was free. Location was great -- about 10 blocks to Faneuil Hall and 4 to the North End.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Glad you were able to enjoy our hot chocolate in the mornings and some Kimpton Karma benefits. Sincerely, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Awesome Room, everybody friendly, so close to td!!! Great, great, great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay. Staff was very friendly.

Posted Dec 21, 2014
I was looking for a place to stay the night before a Bruins game. This place was perfect. Price was right and location was perfect. Walking distance to the TD Garden and to Fanuel Hall to do some shopping. Never needed a cab to go anywhere. Very clean room and the valet service was excellent. Will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area

Great location and an urban vibe

Posted Dec 17, 2014
This hotel is in a great location in the North End, walking distance to all of downtown. Very nice staff and a great price. It's hip and fun. The downsides are: rooms and lobby are small (as you would expect in an urban downtown) and our window looked directly into another hotel room (not sure if this is called an air shaft) so we kept the blinds drawn. Didn't try the food. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scarborough, Me

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Very friendly staff! Rooms are modern and very clean. Would recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Overall great experience - rooms are a bit small but the comforts le bed makes up for it. Friendly staff.