Ratings based on 953 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and wonderful staff

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Our four day stay at the Onyx Hotel was flawless; the staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were very clean and the 5 o'clock wine hour a lovely perk. It is also centrally located for easy access to some great sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Wow, flawless! That's not something we get to hear every day - thank you! It's great to read that you had a great time with us and that our location worked well for you. Sincerely, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boston Pleasure

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Great location, friendly courteous staff. Always a smile . The room was extremely clean, all the extras provied to make your staff memorable.
Location: See above
Great location, minutes to Little Italy, Harbour front, Fanhuil Market. The best of great dining experiences, Italian, Seafood, Chinese. The City is really easy to get around, clean, rustic design. We were treated in a friendly manner, wherever we went. We will definitely be back, guaranteed,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review, glad that you were able to explore Boston! Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Everything was lovely about our stay! The hotel staff are extremely friendly and let us check out about two hours late because our lunch ran late. They let us borrow bikes, which you can use at a nearby loop overlooking the Charles River. There are a bunch of bars and restaurants within walking distance and the subway is close by as well- I didn't expect this when booking but our hotel location was perfect! Also, they are just the friendliest staff! Board games and a complimentary wine happy hour were just the icing on the cake!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Dear Kamini, Thank you very much for the raving review! I am very happy that you had a great time with us, and even more, I am happy you were able to use our complimentary bikes and board games! We will welcome you back anytime. Best, Michal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Clean, looks newly-renovated, super-friendly and helpful staff. The room was a bit small, but about what I would expect for a big city, and was comfortable for our 1-night stay. Very short walk to North Station if you're traveling by train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We did in fact renovate all our rooms and completed our new look a couple of months ago. It sounds like overall we fit what you were looking for and hope you choose to come back to us. Sincerely, Michal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: location
My group consisted of 3 adult males. I reserved a room with 2 double beds and a cot through expedia. When we went to check in I was told that all that was available was a room with 1 king sized bed and a cot. We travelled from Maine for 4 hours to visit the city of Boston and this was a "very uncomfortable" situation to be put into. I now understand that it is the fault of expedia, however that didn't alleviate the situation that we found ourselves in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Hello, I am really truly sorry your experience with us was far from perfect. I can only imagine what it was like to get to the hotel and be disappointed due to not getting what you were promised. I am hopeful that overall your stay with us was positive and that what occurred does not deter you from trying us again in the future. Sincerely, Michal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Near London, UK

Friendly city hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Good location, children friendly, free wine hour every evening, free wi-fi
Cons: The room was very small and you couldn't open the window. Breakfast was not included in the price and the breakfast provided was very expensive.
Location: Everything in downtown Boston!
The hotel was ideally situated for exploring Boston on foot or via public transport. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is very welcoming for children, with a nice little kids pack, which my children loved (aged 8 and 4).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review! We love giving our kids packs so I am really happy your children enjoyed them. Glad you had a great time while in Boston Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Excellent hotel....great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helped us with restaurants and attractions. Its very pet friendly. It was an awesome experience. The nightly happy hour/wine bar was delightful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review Marcia! Best, Michal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Our overnite stay was wonderful, with an extremely comfortable bed, making for a restful night's sleep. Staff was outstanding, going the extra mile when necessary. A great bargain for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review! I am glad that you found our beds to be comfortable and that overall you had a great stay. Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel with great amenities and great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location to TD Garden. Few minute walk away.
Location: Very close to the TD Garden (about 8 minute walk). Lots of places to eat with in walking distance. Everything from upscale to budget friendly.
We stayed at the Onyx due to the location to the TD Garden when we saw Katy Perry. The Onyx was a quick 8 minute walk to the Garden. GREAT GREAT GREAT location. Lots of places to eat nearby. The room was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids. Roomy enough and very clean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Wow, thanks for the amazing review Jmargr! I am so happy that our location worked for you and your family - we always tell people that our location is perfect for anyone going to a concert or event at TD Garden. I hope you and your family had a wonderful time at the Katy Perry concert! Best, Michal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Calgary

boston trip

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: great location and nice staff. clean etc.
Cons: wifi was not good.
Location: central Boston on the hill. close to all important districts. close to the free way over to MIT . the td garden is 1 block away for hockey fans
the hotel was quite nice for a smaller property. naturally it did not have all the mod cons but it was clean and the staff was very nice. wifi was iffy at times. location is really good and close to many great restaurants for after work relaxation. close to all the things you need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us Tim. It's great to hear that overall your stay was good and the location was what you were looking for. I am really sorry that the wifi was less than perfect. I have heard this from a few of our guests recently and I promise I am working on solving the issue. Hope this does not deter you from considering staying with us again. Sincerely, Michal