Ratings based on 843 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bob and Sue from England

Nice central hotel.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Central and very comfortable accommodation
Cons: Include breakfast as part of the package.
Location: Historical scenario is exemplary
Excellent accommodation, very good breakfasts and good staff. I will certainly use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Onyx Hotel is a wonderful hotel!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The Onyx Hotel is within walking distance to Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market - we walked there at least twice a day as well as other historical sites.
Cons: Nothing. The staff was very helpful and was always willing to assist us or other guests to make them feel welcomed and comfortable.
Location: The location was isolated from the main streets, but very close to shops, restaurants, historical sites, and monuments. Quincy Market is close by.
The hotel staff was so helpful, and the hotel location could not have been more perfect! Our friend, who was an American history professor, had booked his stay at the Onyx Hotel. He was due to arrive later in the evening, and had asked us to request his room to be on the same floor as ours. Not only were we on the same floor, but our rooms were next to each other! We had a wonderful time visiting the city together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay, Wonderful Staff

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Location: The Porter's Pub right next store has MARVELOUS food and great environment! The Freedom Trail is within walking distance, and so is a CVS.
We stayed at the Onyx over the weekend to attend PAX East at the Boston Convention Center. It definitely wasn't close to the convention-- taxi was usually about a $15 to/from the convention center, but we were expecting that. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful-- I can't stress enough how awesome the staff was. My only complaint would be for the lack of refrigerator and the expensive wi-fi. For such a nice hotel, it seemed odd to not include such simple things that I thought would be necessities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from maine

Checked back in, twice.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The Staff.
Cons: Heating/a-c, still a tough nut to crack.
Location: Boston Garden, Fanuel Hall, The North End, and The Common all within a ten minute walk.
So I ran the survey for our scheduled stay Sunday, March 30. Now they've asked me again to do our night Monday. Same good simple hotel. Business mans special, but worths for visitors, couples, and garners, too. The Garden is literally around the corner. And we'll be back.
3 out of 5
by Travelling mum from T

Travelling with family

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Hotel convenient to TD Gardens. .main reason for booking hotel. On arrival reception gentleman not very friendly...arrived early but only had to wait a few hours in comfortable Ruby Room until checked in. Housekeeping very friendly and polite. No tea/ coffee facilities in room..plenty of bar snack for a price. Pillows uncomfortable. .bed hard but okay if you like them hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Maine

Checked back in for a second night.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, and rates.
Cons: Parking! (But) Boston is impossible.
Location: The Garden is a five minute walk? Fanuel Hall ten minutes. Walk over Beacon Hill and the Common is 15 minutes away. Little Italy 10 minutes!
We've stayed in Kimpton hotels before, including the Onyx. Just be ware they are small rooms, but quite comfortable! Good rates, fair for Boston. Love this particular location, but do think the $47 a night valet parking needs to change. ? Only concern was with the air/heat and it kept on going on literally every 10-15 minutes through the night and we never could get it right. We'll be back, no doubt. Very good people, very clean, it's just a good solid hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roxane from Edmonton, AB

Nice hotel close to TD centre

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, friendly staff.
Location: Everything is in walking distance if you have adequate footwear. Boston is a beautiful city; you just have to start wandering.
Nice hotel. Easy check in. Polite staff able to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: It was just re-furbished and redecorated and it is very nicely done.
Great Hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Perfect if you need a convenient location that is close to the North end, expressways and the Garden ( where the sports teams play).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from Toronto

Amazing staff and great location!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The staff at Onyx was so accommodating and knowledgeable about Boston. Anytime we needed something extra it was delivered to our room right away. Their recommendations for restaurants and bars were spot on and their directions were clear and got us everywhere we wanted to go in the city! Will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Barre, MA

Very nice hotel, close to all attractions.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Room comfort.
I enjoyed my stay at the onyx hotel very much. I was please to know that they are pet friendly and will definitely be keeping that in mind next time I am traveling with my dogs. I thought it was in a great location and was close to all things that I planned in visiting.