Ratings based on 992 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel! Close to everything you need!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
This hotel is less than a block away from TD Garden, the subway system, and the trolley stops. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful! My only complaint would be that there was no coffee maker in the room. It did say they had them available at request, but that was a little inconvenient. Otherwise it was awesome! I enjoyed my stay very much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review! I was happy to read that our hotel was convenient and what you were looking for from a location standpoint as well as you enjoyed everything else. We do have Keurig coffee/tea makers available upon request, I am sorry for the inconvenience of not having them in all our rooms. If you make a reservation at any Kimpton property, request a coffee machine ahead of time and one will be in your room when you check in, as well as will be replenished throughout your stay. Sincerely, Michal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

NICE HOTEL FOR A GET-AWAY

Posted Oct 18, 2014
The Onyx was a good choice for my recent Boston-area autumn break. Despite construction on the street, sidewalk, and lighting system immediately in front of the facility, the hotel met my needs very well. It was clean; staff exceptionally friendly; and I appreciated the free wi-fi. The food served by the Ruby Room was also quite pleasing. Since I used the T for area travel, the proximity to North Station was great. I would stay at the Onyx again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review Kevin, I am glad that our hotel suited all of your needs! Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Valencia, CA

Wonderful Stay in Boston

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Exceptional staff, convenient location, dog-friendly
Location: Walking distance to Freedom Trail, Esplanade, Newbury Street, North End (Little Italy), TD Garden. Harvard is a quick cab ride away (3 miles).
My husband and I recently visited Boston for our 20th anniversary, and stayed in the Onyx Hotel for four nights. The hotel was wonderful - centrally located (we walked everywhere), extremely friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. They went above and beyond by providing us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries in our room upon arrival. It was such a kind and thoughtful gesture that we greatly appreciated. An extra added plus was our sweet roommate, a goldfish whom we named 'Sunny.' Also, the hotel welcomes dogs - love that!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Happy belated Anniversary Ivy! I am glad you and your husband chose to stay with us for your special celebration. We love sharing our goldfish, and are always happy when our guests get to keep them company. You can request this at any Kimpton you go to! Best, Michal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Cool Vibes

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Great hip vibe, super friendly staff.
Location: Close to the North End and a well-served T station. Boston is a very walkable city and everything is accessible to everything else.
I was in Boston for a business workshop and found every single hotel sold out for the week. Apparently, this was the perfect storm of events and it took me three days to finally book a hotel within 45 minutes of where I needed to be. Was super happy with my stay and the location. Peak pricing was a little but of a downer but the nightly wine reception, super-attentive staff, and resident dog more than made this a wonderful stay and great place to unwind after my meetings. (I'm bummed I didn't have time for the bikes.) Beds were comfortable and bedding and pillows were softer and nicer than mine at home. The overall decor and ambiance has a cool vibe and was a great change from the hotel norm. Everyone, from the desk staff to housekeeping whom I met on the elevator, were extremely outgoing and pleasant. My only, extremely minor, negative comments are easy fixes (I watch too much "Hotel Inspector" to let this slide): the towels and bathrobes were a little rough and some were not very fresh-smelling, borderline musty; there is a 2" chunk of paint chipped from my bathroom door; and there was a little mold in the shower grout around the dispensers. Super minor I know, and I did not bring them up to the staff (my bad). This was the only reason I dropped the room cleanliness one star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Dear Meech, Thank you very much for posting such an in depth review of your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we did not disappoint. I really enjoyed reading your negative comments, it tells me we should probably be paying a little more attention to some of the smaller things in our rooms. I hope that you choose to stay with us in the future. Sincerely, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and wonderful staff

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Our four day stay at the Onyx Hotel was flawless; the staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were very clean and the 5 o'clock wine hour a lovely perk. It is also centrally located for easy access to some great sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Wow, flawless! That's not something we get to hear every day - thank you! It's great to read that you had a great time with us and that our location worked well for you. Sincerely, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicolefrom Portland, OR

A great hotel with eager-to-help staff

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was in a great location for my business trip, and the staff were always very friendly and happy to assist with anything. The bed was extremely comfortable and luxurious. Also, I loved the leopard-print robes in the rooms!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review Nicole! I am really happy that our location suited your needs, you found our bed to be comfortable and most importantly - that you loved our robes (they're on our favorites list)! Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boston Pleasure

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Great location, friendly courteous staff. Always a smile . The room was extremely clean, all the extras provied to make your staff memorable.
Location: See above
Great location, minutes to Little Italy, Harbour front, Fanhuil Market. The best of great dining experiences, Italian, Seafood, Chinese. The City is really easy to get around, clean, rustic design. We were treated in a friendly manner, wherever we went. We will definitely be back, guaranteed,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review, glad that you were able to explore Boston! Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Everything was lovely about our stay! The hotel staff are extremely friendly and let us check out about two hours late because our lunch ran late. They let us borrow bikes, which you can use at a nearby loop overlooking the Charles River. There are a bunch of bars and restaurants within walking distance and the subway is close by as well- I didn't expect this when booking but our hotel location was perfect! Also, they are just the friendliest staff! Board games and a complimentary wine happy hour were just the icing on the cake!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Dear Kamini, Thank you very much for the raving review! I am very happy that you had a great time with us, and even more, I am happy you were able to use our complimentary bikes and board games! We will welcome you back anytime. Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DSanta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Clean, looks newly-renovated, super-friendly and helpful staff. The room was a bit small, but about what I would expect for a big city, and was comfortable for our 1-night stay. Very short walk to North Station if you're traveling by train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We did in fact renovate all our rooms and completed our new look a couple of months ago. It sounds like overall we fit what you were looking for and hope you choose to come back to us. Sincerely, Michal