Ratings based on 874 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evansville, IN

Convenient location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Took the Downeaster to north station prior to flying home from vacation for a couple days in Boston. Staff was extremely friendly. Location was perfect since it was just on the other side of the street from north station do didn't have to drag bags around Boston. Left bags at hotel after check out so we could enjoy Boston for a few more hours before we had to catch a plane, sure it's not necessary but tip your doorman for holding bags. Rooms we nice, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything on the north end

Posted Jul 27, 2014
My family and I stay here for three nights we walked everywhere. Hotel is clean, staff was helpful and knowledgeable. A stones throw from TD Garden, I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to experience historical Boston and/or going to something at TD Garden
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Top notch hotel in the heart of Boston

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Can't thing of anything I would change
Location: It is right down the street from the TD Center which was one of the reasons we chose it.
All of the staff that we interacted with at the Onyx were friendly and professional. They made us feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The hotel is very contemporary and the room was beautifully decorated. The bed was the best ever. It's too bad we were only staying for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a great review Linda! Good to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt welcome. Hope you choose to come back to us! Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarnia, Ontario

Nice hotel but a little bit shady area.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I did like our room but it was pretty small. If you have a lot of luggage it was hard to find a place for everything. The bathroom was really nice but with a pedistal sink there wasn't anywhere to set your makeup bag or hair dryer. My real complaint was the Parking $47.00 per night to park. There wasn't anything going at the gardens I thought that was really expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Ice cream sandwiches!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Ice cream sandwiches, daily wine reception, cute puppy
Cons: Wifi, tea maker in room
Location: Close to Italian district with plenty of restaurants. Subway station nearby so the rest of Boston is easily accessible.
Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. Wifi in room left a lot to be desired, but the ice cream sandwiches made up for it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback Louise, it's very much appreciated. I am so happy you mentioned our ice cream sandwiches and that you truly enjoyed them...we make them in house and the team is very proud of them. Regarding the wifi, I am sorry it was disappointing, I promise we are working on improving our signal throughout the building. Sincerely, Michal Penek
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to North End

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very friendly and courteous staff greets you and is there to answer any question and make your stay enjoyable... We enjoyed the complimentary wine hour before heading out to dinner in the North End
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Hi Phil, Thank you for posting a review. It's nice to hear that we were able to make you feel comfortable and even better, that you got to spend some time with us at wine hour! Hope you choose to come back to us in the future, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent city centre hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Good central location within easy walking distance of the waterside attractions, Boston Common and the principal shopping streets. We have previously stayed at a Kimpton hotel in San Diego and whilst the Onyx is smaller and has fewer facilities the quality of the rooms, public areas and service achieved the same high standards. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a smaller room and were disturbed a little by the noise of the air conditioning. There appeared to be a fault with the fan which prevented the speed being reduced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Julian! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location an that we lived up to your expectations. I am really sorry the air conditioning was faulty, I hope it didn't detract from your overall stay. Sincerely, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Onix is a great place to stay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
I love Onix, great location, the hotel has a lot of complementaries inclued, excellent staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, it's nice to hear that you enjoyed our location, our amenities and the staff. Best, Michal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New YORK

Weekend with great-grand kids

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I enjoyed my stay. The staff was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, so happy you had a great time with us! Best, Michal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

A lovely hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: It's position and the really friendly staff
Cons: I don't think anything could be improved on this hotel
Location: The location was just what we hoped it would be. As we love walking, we found it convenient for Boston city sightseeing.
The Onyx is a really lovely hotel. Conveniently situated for all the major points of interest. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The room and bathroom were spotless and we enjoyed the free wine tasting in the evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if in Boston again, would return. Well done Onyx! - we will check out your other hotels!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Michal, Hotel Management
Dear Jan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you choose to come back to us in the future. Best, Michal