Ratings based on 1,289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Outstanding

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Classic UNDERSTATED luxury
Cons: don't change a thing
Location: Perfect location.
One of the finest hotels in the US. The concierge is outstanding. The ambiance is classic. Rose petals on the bed for turndown service. Very romantic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent hotel, excellent location!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
You walk out of the front of the hotel and you are across the street from the Public Gardens. Walk out the side entrance and you are on Newbury Street. Hard to find a better location. And if you stay in the hotel you will be well taken care of by the attentive, caring, knowledgeable staff. We will be returning to the Taj next time we are in Boston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Awesome hotel. Great location!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Hotel was really nice. It was in a great location. The hotel staff were really helpful. We had a great stay here. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Great hotel close to the park. Just beautiful.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Great location away from the main hub but close enough to everything. We were walking around a lot with a baby so a location close to the park and shops was perfect. We got the park view room and the two separate rooms (living room and bedroom) were perfect for our needs. The staff were great and an overall great experience at the Taj.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The staff is great we knew several from when the Ritz owned the property.
Cons: Read my review.
Location: Again the location. Is great.
We have stayed at this hotel many times when it was a ritz Carlton. Great location! It WAS a grand hotel. It is now in need of extensive renovation. The carpet is frayed and needs replacing....there is chipped paint everywhere. The upholstered furniture is filthy and a lot of the furniture needs to be replaced. It made me very sad as we were so looking forward to our stay. The location is great, right on Newberry and Arlington. Great shopping and dining opportunities. I will NEVER stay at this property again. This was our last stop after staying in Relais Chateau inns in New York, Vermont, and Maine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A foggy day in Boston

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Lovely stay in the perfect location, but the lack of exhaust fans in the bathrooms leaves it awfully humid after a shower. Only a quibble, but noticeable, day after day, when it's the second person's turn to shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Quick trip to Boston... Good location, high end classic feel to the hotel and room, carpet in room could use some updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great hotel, very central

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: You can walk to Cheers through the park right outside the hotel.
We had a lovely stay at the Taj. The hotel is very central and perfectly placed for exploring Boston. Our room was very comfortable and we had a great view over the city. The staff, in particular the conceirge and bar staff, were absolutely super and nothing was too much trouble for them! Will stay again next time I'm in Boston!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice staff, needs updating

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Everything was fine but not grabs or special as the price would demand other than the location. Room was dated. Matress old. Paint chipping on the doors. Look old. They have not updated since it was the ritz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from texas

Great location

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The service. Room service was amazing(so rare these days). Room was so big and very comfortable.
Cons: Freshen the carpet and furniture.
Location: Close to the public gardens and common as well as shopping.
This hotel is located across from the public garden and on the corner of a shop til you drop street. We arrived early and luckily our room was ready and we were able to get settled and head out for a fun day. We returned thoroughly worn out but were revived by cocktails in the bar. Best martinis we have had in a long time and the service was top notch. Can't say enough about the level of service we experienced.