Ratings based on 1,689 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to Boston Commons!

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Provided complimentary Financial Times!
Great hotel with very attentive staff! Very close to Newbury Street and the Boston Commons! Would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Great location, friendly staff and very clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from niagara falls, ON

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Everything was great! Very spacious rooms with great views and location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

EXTRAORDINARY CLASSIC HOTEL!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The location and the remarkable staff! Also, I love the old-world charm.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: It is across from the Boston Public Park: beautiful, large pond with ducks, and flower beds. Also on one of Boston's finest shopping streets: Newbury.
Taj Boston was previously Boston’s finest Ritz-Carlton until 2006, but it still carries its old world charm! Located just across from the Boston Public Park, it is also in the fashionable shopping area of Beacon Hill on Newbury Street. The staff is remarkable, from the Bellmen to the Front Desk to Housekeeping. All are friendly and very welcoming. The rooms are beautifully and elegantly decorated and the amenities are not spared. I was received with a box of fine chocolate truffles with a personal card from the administration. They are very name conscience: they greet you personally. They have twice-a -day housekeeping service with turndown at night. Do go to the Taj Café: the food is excellent! It offers Indian and New England cuisine. Both are extraordinary! I highly recommend this hotel! It is as beautiful as is delightful to be in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 28, 2015
I enjoyed my stay at the Taj. Rooms were nice and clean, staff very friendly. My room wasn't ready on arrival, so I was offered a free drink at the bar. Eddie at the bar was very helpful in finding good restaurants in the area. Only complaint was I was supposed to have a room on the 15th floor with an "interior garden view". I was given keys to room 1422. The view was of their air conditioner, gravel rooftop and other rooms. Nothing green in sight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel not far from Fenway.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Very nice place right across beautiful Boston public garden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

over priced hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cons: Remove the "deluxe" title from the average sized rooms
I spent $350 on a hotel room that was supposedly a "deluxe king room". The room was the size of any room you could get anywhere, The attempt at vaulted ceilings with crown molding did not create a larger atmosphere. The outdated window coverings were just hideous. We could have stayed in any other hotel around for the same amount of money for the whole weekend. Considering it was my anniversary, I tried to go on the luxury side. Walls were thin and I was woken up by the neighbors getting ready in the morning, along with the hotel staff being loud in the hallways. I did not get the luxury I was looking for... Don't waste your money, stay somewhere else twice!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location but needs upgrading

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Convenient and wonderful service
Cons: The look of the rooms and hallways
The location is excellent and the staff are first rate ( both the check in and out process beyond efficient and courteous). The concierge, dining staff, housekeeping, valet and bellmen were extremely professional. However the public hallways look tired, show evidence of leaks, and the carpets are worn. The rooms are clean but not in a modern taste. So definitely a hotel in need of upgrading or remodeling- but then the economical cost of the room is reflected in the worn elegance of this hotel. My only complaint was the room service- the food was repulsive ( and outrageously expensive for uneatable food) . the friends I was traveling with said the same....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Old but upscale hotel with well-trained staff. Convenient location for both business and sight-seeing. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pearkand, TX

Great hotel with great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Only negative comment is that hotel bar closed very early (last call was well before midnight), and kitchen staff had left. We had gone to Billy Joel concert and came back hoping to get wine and appetizers. Our waiter was very accommodating by being able get the wine but wasn't able to serve food. We had to later order room service separately so we could eat, which great food but very pricey!