Ratings based on 1,684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 28, 2015
I enjoyed my stay at the Taj. Rooms were nice and clean, staff very friendly. My room wasn't ready on arrival, so I was offered a free drink at the bar. Eddie at the bar was very helpful in finding good restaurants in the area. Only complaint was I was supposed to have a room on the 15th floor with an "interior garden view". I was given keys to room 1422. The view was of their air conditioner, gravel rooftop and other rooms. Nothing green in sight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel not far from Fenway.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Very nice place right across beautiful Boston public garden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

over priced hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cons: Remove the "deluxe" title from the average sized rooms
I spent $350 on a hotel room that was supposedly a "deluxe king room". The room was the size of any room you could get anywhere, The attempt at vaulted ceilings with crown molding did not create a larger atmosphere. The outdated window coverings were just hideous. We could have stayed in any other hotel around for the same amount of money for the whole weekend. Considering it was my anniversary, I tried to go on the luxury side. Walls were thin and I was woken up by the neighbors getting ready in the morning, along with the hotel staff being loud in the hallways. I did not get the luxury I was looking for... Don't waste your money, stay somewhere else twice!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location but needs upgrading

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Convenient and wonderful service
Cons: The look of the rooms and hallways
The location is excellent and the staff are first rate ( both the check in and out process beyond efficient and courteous). The concierge, dining staff, housekeeping, valet and bellmen were extremely professional. However the public hallways look tired, show evidence of leaks, and the carpets are worn. The rooms are clean but not in a modern taste. So definitely a hotel in need of upgrading or remodeling- but then the economical cost of the room is reflected in the worn elegance of this hotel. My only complaint was the room service- the food was repulsive ( and outrageously expensive for uneatable food) . the friends I was traveling with said the same....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Old but upscale hotel with well-trained staff. Convenient location for both business and sight-seeing. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pearkand, TX

Great hotel with great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Only negative comment is that hotel bar closed very early (last call was well before midnight), and kitchen staff had left. We had gone to Billy Joel concert and came back hoping to get wine and appetizers. Our waiter was very accommodating by being able get the wine but wasn't able to serve food. We had to later order room service separately so we could eat, which great food but very pricey!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW

Great location, beautiful inside, spacious rooms.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Decor.
Cons: Repaint hallways.
Location: Newbury Street, fully equipped gym...Boston is the walking city!
Really enjoyed the service. Bag attendant wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great location - Boston Commons Park & Subway.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Hotel experience was very pleasant and accommodations were top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The location was great
Cons: There is not a casual restaurant in the hotel - even the Bar had dress requirements. My husband brought only shorts (it was 90 degrees every day)!
Location: Shopping on Newberry Street was fun and the Public Gardens were beautiful. Ate at Cheers and had a great time.
Had a great time in Boston and the Hotel was a big part of the experience. Have stayed at numerous Hotels in Boston, but this one is the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Hotel is in great location for this walkable city.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, bar,
Cons: Give advanced booked guests the rooms with a view.Housekeeping shouldn't take guests bag without determining first if it's trash.Coffee maker in room.
Location: Great location next to Public Garden/Boston Common. Walk to Fanueil Hall for Freedom Trail Tour. Walk to many excellent restaurants.
Our family of 4 (2 adults 2 kids ages 10&12) arrived one hour early.Our room with 2 full beds was not ready however, we were offered an upgrade to a suite with 1 king bed and 2 cots. We agreed and it was a nice room with the exception of elevator noise. Another disappointment was that neither of the rooms included a view. We thought for sure we would have a view because we booked months in advance. The room was clean and the staff kind and accomodating. We appreciated the daily house keeping service and the evening turn down service is a nice touch. We did have an incident where on our last day, a blue bag I kept in bathroom (away from trash can) containing feminine products, went missing. Almost a huge inconvenice but a supervisor sent a few supplies to our room which was fine.