Ratings based on 8,575 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

This is a centrally located hotel in Boston.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, very grand.
Location: Near Boston PUblic Gardens, the theater district, Copley Plaza and Trinity Church.
The staff was very nice and helpful. They upgraded us to a very large room and we had access to the hospitality suite. It was super clean and the hotel had been recently renovated. I'd recommend this hotel. Valet parking was good, if expensive, but that is the case in all of Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The room was spacious and very comfortable. Also see review.
Cons: The bathroom really needs some more counter space. That is the only thing I would change about the room we stayed in.
Location: Boston. Close to downtown and mass transit. T entrance very close, to take you anywhere...Freedom Trail, Cambridge, airport, shops, restaurants, etc.
This hotel was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bed was actually more comfortable than my bed at home. I enjoyed the downtown location close to restaurants, transportation and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Air conditioner extremely noises. Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Good price and location.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Stayed overnight to catch an early flight from Logan. It was at least $100 less than other hotels in the area. Room was very small but nice. Expected for that age of a hotel. Within walking distance of legal seafoods.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Terrible hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Do not stay here. When we got there they were overbooked so they upgraded us to a bigger room. At 1:00 am and 2:00 am. We were awoken to move our things and change rooms. Constant knocking by the staff. We refused to move. Terrible experience. They didn't care it was in the middle of the night. Very noisy. Not a place I would ever stay. Very disorganized staff and certainly not guest friendly!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Small room for one traveler is great. Near many attractions
Cons: Free WiFi in the room wasn't available. Only 30 minutes free in the lobby.
Location: Close to a lot of attractions. Blocks from Boston Common, Newbury Street, And the Freedom Trail.
Overall, no issues at all at this hotel. Front desk staff was great. Room was clean. Very easy to maneuver to any Boston attraction within walking distance in any direction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Unresponsive Staff

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Great location for the things we wanted to do
In general we found the staff and managers very unresponsive to the issues we had in trying to extend our reservation while we were on the road using our cell phone and with possibly tainted food we were served. The only truly helpful staff member was a bellhop who had some ingenious ideas to use photos taken by our cell phone to send a picture of a document to allow our daughter who traveled separately from us to have access to our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, CA

Poorly Managed

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Management of reservations. If you have a problem be assertive.
Location: Across from the Commons and near downtown places of interest.
When we arrived in the evening we were told that a room for 4 that we had reserved was not available and they could put us up in a smaller room (for two) and one roll-away bed!!! After demanding to see the manager which took a while, we were given a large suite on a high floor where the air conditioning could not keep up with the heat and the pull-out couch had dirty sheets from the previous occupant. To make up for their disorganization we were given breakfast vouchers for a very nice buffet as well as free wifi access. So, they did try to make amends and our stay ended up pleasant. The hotel location is excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Personally I won't recommend this hotel, different from newly built hotel, this hotel is very historical which means the rooms are very old as well as the facilities. It's a huge building can accommodate a lot of people but it makes even the elevator crowded all the time. Internet is slow, windows can't open, all you can imagine is the life in old Boston if you really are person who likes old stuff. Anyway, I won't check in this hotel if I have the second chance to visit Boston, once in a life experience is enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Not bad hotel for the price. Very close to the parks and walking distance of everything.