Ratings based on 9,177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world elegance but needs updating

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Although I appreciated the classic elegance of the hotel, I hate to say it, but it does need updating. The bathrooms were appointed like from the 1950s still, and the acoustics were very poor. Could hear every noise from the streets from a 9th floor room! Some staff members, e.g. front desk and valet, were also plain incompetent. Others were nice enough, but a few rotten eggs leave a sour taste in your mouth. Took forever to check in, she could barely speak English, and getting car out of valet was always a long wait. Food was good though and location was unbeatable for theater district of Boston.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your big bucks

Posted Sep 19, 2014
For the money I would expect much much more than the Park offers. The rooms are motel quality. The staff is unfriendly. Go elsewhere. I feel ripped off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Location to HopOn/Off Trolly.
Cons: More sale prices on rooms.
Location: Transportation. (Hop On/Off Trolly Great restaurants
Located across from the Boston Public Garden surrounded by some great restaurants. Maggiones, PF Changs, Cheers within a short walk. This is an up scale hotel that we truly enjoyed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expected More from a hotel called Plaza

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Located near the Boston Commons and the Theater district. You could walk to just about anywhere within a mile or two.
Cons: Bathroom size. It was next to impossible for two people to occupy the restroom at the same time.
Location: Location was great. Nightclubs, restaurants, historic churches all within walking distance of the hotel.
The hotel was undergoing outside renovations. As such, parking around the hotel was non-existent. (If you go, don't rent a car, hail a taxi if you ever need to go anywhere.) The valet service was expensive. When we arrived, the hotel immediately updated us to an executive suite. We thought "YAY". Why they called it a suite was done under generous definitions of the word, in my opinion. To be sure, the room was truly spacious but I could not call this one-room "suite" a suite. However... The bathroom in this suite was laughable. It was so small you could stand in the bathtub and reach completely across the room to the towel rack. The toilet and bathtub were so juxtaposed that you had to sit sidesaddle on the toilet in order to use it. I heard other people complain about their bathrooms as well. Limited services--high prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Comfortable hotel in downtown Boston

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: as above
Cons: as above
Location: as above, on top of being (the hotel) closed to many restaurants and the Boston Gardens Park
Excellent hotel to stay when you are attending a meeting in downtown Boston. Convenient distance from the Convention Center, Copley Plaza and shopping centers. Two important observations about things that could be improved: 1) I had to call for a refrigerator to be brought in to the room (most hotels nowdays do have a refrigerator already in the room); 2) the sink in the bathroom was draining water poorly and slowly. Otherwise, excellent hotel to stay and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Very courteous staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to the downtown

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The age and history of the hotel.
Cons: The room sizes are small and what is considered a queen sizes bed is actually a double
Location: Close to lots of shopping and bars and pubs
Rooms were small, but the staff was helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal for everything. It close to the downton and for any basketball, baseball and hockey fans its not hard to get to a game.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room size, hotel decor, bathroom.
Well, the best part of this hotel is the location, which is excellent. However, because of a conference's overbooking, i had to pay top dollar, ~$500/night. For this I got the smallest room I've ever had on 5 continents, air conditioning that didn't work, a shower so small that I had to get out of it to pick up the soap when dropped. The room was also not cleaned properly before I initially checked in, no coffee service, missing some towels. The overall ambiance of the room and the hotel and quite dated and dingy. So, stay at this hotel if you love the area of Boston in which it is located and none of the other hotels nearby are available. Also, do request an oversize room since they are much nicer than what I was given.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: lobby very nice ,central location, staff very nice ,very clean
Cons: valley parking. the rooms were very small
Location: lots of shopping, bars , sightseeing ,park was near by
expedia mess up reservation had to book another room than had to send expedia conformation number before they would reimburse money for room. cost me lot of money on cell phone bill. the rooms were very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Solid

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Did everything that it needed to as as hotel. Paying additional for wfi was antiquated. Good size room in nice location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from blyth, uk

Nice hotel looking tired

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Not sure if it because I book through Expedia but I always get a small room tucked away with a lousy or no view. Paid for an upgrade which was better but hotel needs a refresh.