Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Acton, MA

Nice hotel close to the theater district

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: As I said earlier the bathroom was dissapointing
Location: Downtown Boston. next to the theater district and some very nice restaurants
Only complaint was that the bathroom was tiny and cramped
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good choice

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: It's location
Cons: Continental breakfast selection and quantity Overall cleanliness of room Communication when fire alarms go off!
Location: Boston Common and the Freedom Trail Selection of hop on hop off tour trolleys stop close to the hotel Excellent restaurants - especially Maggiano's
Ideal position, a stones throw from the common and the theatre district and some fantastic places to eat. Three slight moans 1. Room was good size for the price but although generally clean, there did appear to be about a week's worth of dust sitting on the television table. 2. We were on the 15th floor which included the complimentary continental breakfast, unfortunately this was limited in choice and selections not replenished towards the end of the breakfast time so later guests had little left to choose from. 3. The fire alarm went off at about 2.30 in the morning, guest evacuated as far as the mezzanine and lobby areas. There was a lack of communication from hotel staff - who were not distinguishable from guests as there were no high-vis jackets or arm bands as we would expect in the UK. The tannoy announcement to return to rooms was inaudible, guest just followed each other. To add to that, less than five minutes after getting back to the room, the alarm went off again and we evacuated for the second time..........and again there was no assistance, audible communication or explanation from hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature couple from London, UK

Excellent location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Very positive experience. Particularly enjoyed complimentary hors d'oerves on 15th floor. All staff very friendly and efficient. Room spacious and well equipped. Will return next year!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Older Hotel Good Location

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Very Comfortable Easy. GooD Deal On The Towers Level. TheBuilding Is Showing Its Age But Still In Goods Shape. Clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of how they charge you.........

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Cons: Make customers actually aware of how you are charging them!!!!!!!
So disappointing. Upon check-in I told the woman at the desk that I wanted to pay cash. She told me to wait until check out. She took my credit card for "incidentals," which I understood, of course. The next day I went to use my card and could not because the hotel took out the full amount of the rooms PLUS an extra $100 for "incidentals." The front desk was less than helpful and just said the person who checked me in should have alerted me to this, which they certainly did not. My check-in lasted all of 2 minutes. The manager wouldn't even come out to speak with me and instead sent out a trainee to tell me there was nothing they could do but that I would have to wait up to 7 days to at least get the $100 back. So incredibly inconvenient, so incredibly disappointing. I wouldn't stay here again. The walls in the rooms are like paper. Expect to hear conversations through the doors or worse!
2 out of 5
by Judy from Nova Scotia

A tired legend........

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Pretty good location.
Cons: Room decor and furniture
Needed to stay close to Tufts and not much available as many events going on downtown. Stayed in the Tower on the concierge level, touted to be an upgrade. Room furniture beaten up, not at all what was pictured on the Expedia site. No fridge, no mini bar, and missing phone book, room service menu and phone numbers on phone incorrect for hotel services. Overpriced for what you received.
2 out of 5
by Maria from New York

So much for relaxation

Posted Mar 2, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel several times, some experiences better than others. However, after two questionable stays, I feel compelled to leave a review. I should start by saying that I love historical hotels and have had some very pleasant experiences at this location. But my room on this stay was unacceptable. Small for a King room; special requests were not in the room as promised at check in; heat malfunctioned (either you roasted with heat on 66 or froze with the heat off), and the cleanliness was not up to expectations (I do not expect to see a faded red hand print on the bathroom door.). When I brought this to the staff attention, I was greeted with a poor attitude, unprofessional comments, and if I wanted to switch rooms, I could pay another fee. The staff later in the evening as well as in the morning tried to rectify the situation, but I informed them that I had made the decision to not extend and moved to another hotel. This hotel has gone from one of my favorite places to stay to one which I do not know if I will ever stay at again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Loved it except breakfast and appetizers in the Tower lounge were the same every time. Some variety would be nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chui Chuayana from New York

Convenience of Location

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was tiny, just enough for sleep. We stayed in a King's room on the 15th floor. The bathroom was super small and they add a measuring scale that occupies a lot of space. You cant even wash your face on the sink because your going to bump your head on the glass counter covering half of the sink. Although the people were very friendly and service from them was great. We chose this hotel because of its location and convenience when touring the city. The hype of staying on the tower was so over rated. Won't stay here again.