Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Overpriced

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Way overpriced. Of the 4 diff hotels i sayed in while in boston area this was twice as much and by far the worst room. Rest of hotel was nice but room seemed outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Wonderful place to stay in Cambridge

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: comfortable beds, great shower, Henrietta's Table, location
Location: Right on the Charles River, and central to everything in Cambridge. We walked to Kirkland Tap & Trotter for dinner. Wonderful!! Shay Bar is great too.
My husband and I chose the Charles Hotel when we were looking for an overnight in Cambridge. We don't get to do this much, and this was the first hotel we've stayed in that actually made us feel like we were treating ourselves to something special. The location is perfect, the beds comfortable, and all the amenities, fantastic. Henrietta's Table can't be beat for breakfast, either. We even brought our kids here a few days later for a kids' concert in the Regattabar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton, canada

Great hotel in Harvard Square

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, room size and cleanliness.
Cons: See coffee maker above.
Wonderful stay. I just wish I had a coffee maker in my room. The free lobby coffee, offered between 6:30-7:30 am was a nice gesture. BUT by 7:15, only decaf was left.A small gripe, but a nice touch to have coffee when you wake up. I wouldn't go to the lobby in my pjs, so I made due. Otherwise, excellent and I'd stay there again. And just bring via packs to mix with hot tap water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Classic experience in Cambridge

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Room decor, especially the clock! Free wi-fi is nice.
Cons: Provide coffee maker in room.
Location: All of Cambridge is a short walk and access to T is superb. Excellent restaurants and lots of pubs nearby in all price ranges.
Location is prime for all activities in Cambridge and Boston area. Wonderful area for walking along Charles River. The hotel maintains its classic service and presentation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect location in Cambridge and Harvard.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location and comfort.
Cons: No.
Location: Harvard Square has many stores and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Of course, the Harvard campus is .right there.
We arrived on a very rainy day. However, we did not have to leave th hotel to have an excellent dinner at Henrietta's Kitchen. The room was well appointed and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good amenities

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Harvard
Nice place. A little dated. Very pleasant staff. Room and bed were a little smaller than I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from Atlanta

Great home base while visiting colleges.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Really as wonderful as I remember it from a previous visit. Wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lauri from Northern Virginia

Very nice hotel just off Harvard Square

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Valet parking was only a couple dollars more than self park.
Our family stayed just one night but had a very enjoyable stay. Room was very comfortable, nicely furnished with great bath products. Our ten year old (and her father, truth be told) was fascinated with the TV screen inset in the bathroom mirror. Fancy! Indoor pool was wonderful. Five minute walk to Harvard Square with lots of dining options. Room service breakfast was exceptional. I want their omelette recipe!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 1/2 stars at best

Posted Jun 11, 2014
There was no bellman to take my bags when I arrived at 1 am. Well, he was there, he was just in the back room and didn't come out until I had already struggled to drag my bags through the door myself. The hotel was the hot place 20 years ago. Now it's old and dingy and depressing and is in desperate need of a remodel. The bed, however, was comfortable and the room was very quiet. It's a good 2 -3 star hotel. No way at all is it a 4 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laurel H. from Monterey, CA

Great location.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Perfect location. Convenient restaurants.
Cons: The view from room was a rock-covered roof with AC units. I assumed this was why it was Expedia priced.
Location: Harvard Square, and great little restaurants within walking distance.
Love the room. The TV in the bathroom was unique: In the mirror!