Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boston Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
The hotel is dated but well maintained. Service from the staff very good. Dissapointing when the main bar is hired out for private function and not available to residents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Thanksgiving Weekend at the Charles

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: It's convenience and Henritta's for breakfast--the in-house restaurant. Wonderful food quality.
Cons: Make certain room is acceptable.
Location: Legal Seafoods is just steps away with great chowder and a friendly staff! Highly recommend!
The Charles is located in Harvard Square with almost everything you need--restaurants, drugstores, shopping--within easy walking distance. Great amenity! The square outside the hotel featured Christmas trees, which were decorated on Friday evening complete with a combo playing Chrismas music. . . . A delightful mood setter for the holidays. We were given a tiny corner room upon checkin with a post just outside our door. After a night of misery, we asked to be moved to a normal room, which did make for a much better stay. Don't hesitate to ask!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: The television remote didn't work- very different to change channels manually.
Always a great stay at the Charles. We will definitely return in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto, canada

Disappointing stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Beds are great. Courtyard and immediate surroundings are beautiful HEnrietta's table serves a great brunch.
Cons: Better information about what is available and what is not available.
Had planned a relaxing afternoon at gym and at pool but was very surprised to learn that all facilities were closing at 2 pm. Nothing was mentioned on the Hotel website and when I mentioned to the staff the day before that I was planning to spend the aft at the gym the next day, none said anything then either. the elevators were also incredibly slow and it seemed only 1 was operating despite the significant number of guests who were at the hotel the American Thanksgiving weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive business hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
It's not as good as it should be for the price Rooms are ok and infamous for the noisy wall clocks that won't send you to sleep! Showers could be better too Hard to fault though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Cons: No coffee in the rooms!
Hotel was nice, clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The main thing I didn't like was that there was no coffee pots in the rooms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We enjoyed our stay as well as our room. It was very centrally located in harvard Square with plenty of options for dining, walking and touring. We would definitely stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Not worth it... Room is really small. Parking management is so annoying, you have to get stamp from reception every single time!!! If you don't have your own car, it's close to Havard station. But that area is really crowded in day time, not good for relaxing....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carolfrom Washington, DC

Perfect Harvard Square Locale, Gracious Ambiance

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My daughter and toddler grandchildren had a wonderful time at the Charles Hotel, visiting nearby family. Right around the corner, there's a lovely park by the Charles River where the kids could run around. Just a few steps from the front door, you're in the heart of Harvard Square with access to bus and subway transit. The hotel combines a touch of elegance with an easy-going welcoming feel. The service is exceptional and friendly. Don't miss dining at Henrietta's Table on the second floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located and good class

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Comfort, and comfortable surroundings.
Location: Proximity to Harvard.
We turned to the Charles Hotel after some years, and found the ambience and general features of the hotel to be as good as before.