Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in Harvard Square

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Queen size beds instead of full size in double bed rooms. This is the only reason The Charles Hotel didn't earn an overall excellent rating from us.
Location: See above experience
My husband and I often stay in Cambridge while visiting our daughter who lives there. The Charles Hotel is in an excellent location. Not only is it steps away from Harvard Square, but it is only a few blocks walk to the Charles River. Harvard Square is full of restaurants and coffee shops. There are plenty of places to shop and browse which include several independent bookstores. There is a paved path along the Charles River which is great for a stroll or jog.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Super hotel. One of the best that I have ever stayed at!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cayman Island

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Everithing
Cons: coffe in the room
Location: excellent
I would recommend this hotel to others if I have the opportunity, very pleasant place to stay and the service excellent. Keep up the good work, I ask the front desk how can I buy a razor and the give me one and the shaving cream for free, I was surprise. May God continue blessing the owners and the excellent staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, NY

Really well run hotel within easy reach of Boston

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: everything.
Cons: not much.
Location: We had a great time walking around Harvard Square and also visited the Museum of Fine Arts, the New England Aquarium and the Museum of Science.
We stayed in a spacious 1 bedroom suite and took advantage of the hotel's many amenities, including the pool at the adjacent Wellbridge facility, the ice skating rink and Henrietta's Table. The service and food that we had for breakfast at Henrietta's Table were outstanding. The lap pool was also a nice treat for the kids. We especially enjoyed the apples in the lobby and the convenience of having a small ice skating rink right outside the hotel's door, complete w/ ice skate rentals and hot chocolate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Location: Eat at The Russell House--very lively, good service, excellent food but not stuffy.
Excellent location--wonderful staff and the indoor pool has an adult-only hours so you can actually swim without a lot of kids. Lockerroom and steam room were beautifully clean and maintained. The bathrooms also have TV's in them--fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Princeton, NJ

Good location if you are visiting Harvard

Posted Jan 5, 2015
This hotel is right at the heart of Harvard. Dining and shopping areas were within walking distance. Room and hotel condition is somewhat mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Wonderful accomodations

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Location: Visit the Red House restaurant on Winthrop St. and try the Rigatoni with Lobster. Also Burdicks for their hot cocoa and chocolate mice!
I'd had many meals at Henrietta's Table during previous visits to Boston, but had never stayed at the Charles. My experience was excellent. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was inviting, nicely appointed and just the right size. But my favorite facet, besides the location, was the pool and health center. I will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boston Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
The hotel is dated but well maintained. Service from the staff very good. Dissapointing when the main bar is hired out for private function and not available to residents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Thanksgiving Weekend at the Charles

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: It's convenience and Henritta's for breakfast--the in-house restaurant. Wonderful food quality.
Cons: Make certain room is acceptable.
Location: Legal Seafoods is just steps away with great chowder and a friendly staff! Highly recommend!
The Charles is located in Harvard Square with almost everything you need--restaurants, drugstores, shopping--within easy walking distance. Great amenity! The square outside the hotel featured Christmas trees, which were decorated on Friday evening complete with a combo playing Chrismas music. . . . A delightful mood setter for the holidays. We were given a tiny corner room upon checkin with a post just outside our door. After a night of misery, we asked to be moved to a normal room, which did make for a much better stay. Don't hesitate to ask!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: The television remote didn't work- very different to change channels manually.
Always a great stay at the Charles. We will definitely return in the future.