Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Unique

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The college club did not feel like a hotel. It's more like you are staying in you're rich relatives brownstone's guest room. The furnishings and decor brought you back in time. The place was clean, well maintained, and the staff was very friendly. The price was very fair for the room and location. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone spending a weekend or a few days midweek in Boston. It might not be for someone who is staying longer. There are no refrigerators or microwaves or any other modern conveniences in the rooms. There is a nice expanded continental breakfast in the lobby every morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
挺好的地方,欧式风格,很温馨,也很干净,早餐还不错,餐厅随时有点心和咖啡,房间没有电视,服务人员也挺和蔼。
1 out of 5
by Ruby from Dallas, TX

Worst experience ever!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The hotel was ok in my opinion- it has a vintage feel to it, room was spacious, however the floor is super creaky and wall is super thin- i could not sleep because other people outside walking upstairs on the creaky floor and talking. What I was disappointed and annoyed the most was the attitude of the hotel's staff. When I first came check-in, the lady at the front desk did not seem friendly at all. And when she saw that I had a lot of luggage with me, she was like "Do you have to bring all your luggage to your room? The room is really small". I was so annoyed by that, what did she mean, did she want me to throw my stuffs away?? It turned out later that the room was really big and after that comment of her, I nearly walked out of the hotel. First time being treated like that at a hotel- with such an unfriendly attitude!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eduardo from Lawrence, KS

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: ambience, the care that people show for the building and its treasuries, furniture, photos, etc. Besides, breakfast is perfect.
Cons: Please, leave it like it is!
Location: location is fantastic, close to everything you may need, public transportation, pharmacy, restaurants, etc.
what we were looking for!! excellent location, nice neighborhood, beautiful building, distinguished guests, yes... what we were looking for!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A non-generic hotel in a real neighborhoon

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Clean and homet elevator was a little smelly staff was helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tired

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast, coffee machine.
Location: Back Bay Boston. Near everything, including Arlington Green Line metro.
A lovely location and friendly, but very limited, staff. Very tired facility. Rooms need major update. Beds comfortable but furniture is old and dusty. Lamps are old. NO TV's in room, which is fine by me. Breakfast is included but limited choices. Terrible coffee from automated machine. Slow internet. Printer and computer for boarding passes never worked. Entry code for building. Hope it changed every week. No safe luggage storage when early arrival or leaving late. Could be so much more. Price is right for Boston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Furniture and view
Cons: Central lighting and the floor creaking
Location: Shopping is great, beautiful lication
Has a great view and beautiful old posh gothic style furniture
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Davidson, NC

Beautiful and quiet historical mansion B&B

Posted May 10, 2014
I had a great stay at the College Club of Boston. The staff members are helpful and the room was clean and beautifully decorated. If you like to experience how it was like to live in a historical mansion on Boston's Commonwealth Av long time ago, this is the place. I have to warn you though - if you are looking for a hotel room with modern equipments like TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, etc. in your room, this place is not for you. They have, however, coffee and tea available at the dining room and you will get a free wi-fi access with printer on the ground floor. This is where you relax quietly, appreciating all the beautiful architectural details of the house and tasteful decoration of the each room with a college theme (mine was Wellesley College room - it was beautifully decorated with the French botanical theme). Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for those who would like to have a memorable one-of -the kind experience in Boston.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This not hotel, but a motel.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: I do not like.
The facilities are very old. The room is not quiet, because the walls are not insulated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Seattle

Perfect Location!!!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location and awesome historic building.
Cons: There is clearly no way to "improve" the bathroom situation or the creaky floors (historic!) and really not that big of a deal.
Location: The public gardens and commons are just up the block - there you can find the freedom trail. There is great food and cute boutique shopping nearby too
Came to Boston during a terrible snow storm, so being close to everything was very handy. You really couldn't ask for a better location. Close to the Commons, close to Newbury St., close to the T. The building has character (yes, it is old and the room is small - but really, that is the charm!) I loved the history of the place. Having a detached shared bathroom is a draw back, but very much worth it and you can't beat the price when you consider the neighborhood you are in. The on hand attendant was very helpful, both via email beforehand and during my stay.