Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Boutique hotel , tree lined street

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Very private, like being in your own home. None of the busyness of a normal hotel
Cons: Wardrobe space and more light needed in the bathroom
Location: Very close to everything Boston has to offer
Small boutique hotel in charming old Victorian house that has been renovated. Friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
This is a comfortable hotel in an excellent location. It is within easy walking distance to Boston Common, the Public Garden, the Freedom Trail, the Esplanade, shopping and restaurants. Be aware that a few rooms have a shared bath and you will be doing without t-v during your stay. But there is internet service, evening cookies, and a wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Overnight to attend BU graduation

Posted May 23, 2015
Myself & 2 daughters had a great "sleepover" in the kingsize bed in the beautiful large room with a wonderful bathroom with gorgeous mosaic floor. It was a little warm the date we were there, but the a/c worked perfectly. We didn't have time to partake of the complimentary breakfast. Old world charm nicely kept! Beautiful neighborhood & just around the corner from the T. It was a very short stay, but I would definitely return & recommend to others!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Victorian hotel, great location!

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Old and charming. The staircase is amazing - nod to the talent and workmanship of our forbearers. Location was great.
Cons: The shower! It was either hot or cold, unable to easily manipulate the knob that controlled temp
Location: Did that above
Notified them of late arrival, easy to follow self-entry instructions. Tried to miss the creaky steps, especially since it was 1:00 am, but that was impossible - added to the charm! Located on an absolutely beautiful street - very picture worthy; close to Public Gardens (beautiful, relaxing, interesting), Boston Common and the T. Two nights, tried to get a third, but they were booked, and this was off-peak! Attendant got online and provided several options for other accommodations. Appreciated helpfulness. Breakfast was simple, but better than just pastries. No TV, but so busy during the day, we were ready for bed when we got in at night. No A/C, a portable fan was provided which sufficed, but this was in May. I imagine in summer it could be problematic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Posted May 11, 2015
This is a beautiful brownstone on Commonwealth Ave. The Public Garden and Boston Common are just a few minutes away. The decor and furnishings are older as befits the style of the building. Our room was large, quiet, and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were cookies, lemon bars, ice water, tea and coffee available all day. That made for a nice place to take a break while walking around the city. We'll definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grimsby ont

Historic property

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Very quaint. Breakfast and snacks included
Cons: Single room bed quite small for a large person.
Very nice location in historic mansion close to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel stay

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Cons: staff a little friendlier
Location: jogged in boston commons, caught the Arlington T in the morning...
love the location and the nice atmosphere. breakfast was great and breakfast room was great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Room was cold. But not too bad.
Location: The Boston Common is close. You can walk down Charles St too. I'd say everything seemed close to me. And the trains system is great.
I did not know what kind of hotel this was. It is not the "regular" kind. The location is amazing. Just one block from Boston Common. The view is great. I loved my room even though it was a little cold. Furniture and decor was very different, sort of Victorian but not quite. No TV. Breakfast was pretty simple, but who would want to have breakfast in with all the amazing coffee shops in Boston. I recommend this place, and I hope to be able to go back. Again: the location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Excellent facility in all ways for comfort, location, function.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels