Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

It was OK. Very close to the convention center.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: It was close to the convention center and had good room service.
Cons: Firstly, they should honor their VIP status. There was no upgrade or Expedia gold benefit of any kind. Ultimately they need to upgrade their rooms.
Location: It's in a great location.
They gave no Expedia upgrade or any other extras (I showed my card). It was supposed to be a VIP hotel. The front desk people were friendly. The room is small. The air conditioning runs all the time. Despite the thermostat being set to 65, the room doesn't fully cool off until sunset. The carpet was very old looking. It looked like a 1970's casino carpet. There are many layers of paint on the trim and baseboard. The door to the bathroom sticks and can be hard to close. Keep in mind this is a very old hotel. I've included pictures of the very small bathroom. The cold water faucet is a trickle. The hot water flow was fine. The shelf, in the bathroom is only about 6 inches deep. The room service (breakfast twice) was very good. It was on time, hot and delicious. The bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Treat in the Back Bay

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The location is terrific and the staff is so accommodating.
Cons: A wine reception in the lobby would be nice.
Location: We loved Newbury Street with all the boutiques and restaurants.
My daughter and I were visiting Boston for the first time. We were so happy with the service, staff and location of The Eliot. We wanted a bottle of water from the minibar, but had a problem with the key. We called the front desk and they responded in about 5 minutes, with two bottles of water and a new key. The staff at the Eliot is FIRST CLASS. The hotel is close to the best restaurants and shopping. We definitely would stay here the next time we visit Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bromont Qc.

Great hotel near Fenway and famous Newbury St.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: This hotel is simply first class eventhough it's 90 years old.
Cons: The Air Conditioning was a little noisy but not a problem.
Location: If you're going to Fenway Park or shopping in the great shops of Newbury St, this is the place.
Hotel staff was very helpfull in all aspects. Room was very clean and exceptional soundproof. Very comfortable and easy access to the best of Boston. Would do it again at the Eliot anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton, California

What an awesome hotel. It felt like home.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was warm, very helpful and gave us directions on where to go. Very professional and you can tell that they love what they do.
Cons: Nothing needs improving. It's perfect. I appreciate the manager allowing me and my cousin to check out later so we can enjoy more of Boston.
Location: Newberry street, the Prudental Mall, and you can walk to all the historic sites and to Fenway Park. Take in a ballgame if you can.
Perfect location. All you needed to see and to shop was with walking distance. I love Boston and I will return and I will stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OKC

Wonderful boutique hotel in great location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Location: Great central location. Close to shopping and dining on Newbury & Bolyston. Perfect for runs along the river. 20 min cab to airport and the harbor.
We had a wonderful experience at The Eliot Hotel and would definitely stay there again if returning to Boston. Every staff member was extremely helpful, from restaurant recommendations to car reservations, etc. The hotel lobby and rooms are beautifully decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
One of the best small hotels I've stayed in. Staff was incredible! Everyone was so kind! The room was a bit small and the view could have been better, but overall the hotel was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh nc

Loved the location!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: It is close to shopping on Newberry and restaurants on Boylston!
We had a wonderful stay at the Eliot. We were very sad it was only 2 days. The staff was very welcoming and professional. I just adored Manuel, our knowledgeable door man extraordinaire! He is very welcoming and perfect as the first person who greets you and sets the tone for the entire stay. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada

Judy's Boston visit

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, the staffs helpfulness and the clean, comfortable room.
Cons: Although there is a place to eat breakfast, it is very expensive and the service could be improved when serving customers.
Location: From the location of the hotel, you can access many restaurants, the subway and the ball park. The cost of the subway for a week is only $17.
I recently visited Boston with my grandson. My stay at the Eliot Hotel made my holiday a comfortable and convenient experience. The hotel is close to the subway which can provide all transportation to sites and places to visit. A weekly pass cost only $17 and took us to the Science Museum, the Kennedy Library, whale watching and the Aquarium. We were able to walk to a Red Socks game from the hotel. Staff at the desk were able to answer any and all questions. The room was very clean and in the evening ice and chocolates are delivered daily. I hope to return to the city of Boston and to the Eliot hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

I loved my stay!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The Eliot is a smart, adorable, boutique hotel in amazing Back Bay. The staff are so friendly and attentive, easily approachable and eager to help. For being around since the 1920s, it is in impeccable shape and the rooms were clean and comfortable enough for two. Cookies, chocolates, robes, turndown service, sound-proof windows (I was on the 3rd floor and it was ALWAYS quiet), and an actual hotel door key make it apparent they've thought of everything and are what gives the Eliot it's smart, ritzy, and unpretentious charm. The T station is a block away but more importantly, Fenway Park is an exhilarating 15-20 minute walk you share with other fanatics dressed in their very best Red Sox gear. As if that weren't enough, The Eliot is also home to Clio and Uni, two restaurants that consistently top the lists of Boston's celebrity chef recommendations. My first visit to Boston, and I couldn't have asked for more- I am always going to come back to this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City break

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Great base to explore Boston. Very comfortable room and helpful staff.