Ratings based on 691 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A great hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The incredibly friendly and welcoming staff, the superb suite and the location.
Cons: The bar does not open until 5pm so you cannot have an afternoon drink when you return from sightseeing until then.
Location: Maybury Street is only minutes away if you are a shop until you drop sort of person. Fenway Park is 10 minutes walk so get tickets and watch a game!
The Eliot Hotel is everything the discerning holiday maker looks for: luxury and comfort come as standard. When we arrived, we were welcomed immediately with friendly and helpful staff and our suite was superb. As it was my 50th birthday, we had been upgraded to a suite, but I would imagine that all the rooms at the Eliot are fantastic. The service was exemplary and I would recommend a meal in the Clio Restaurant. The food was outstanding and, again, the staff were extremely informative and passionate about the local food they were serving. In room facilities were perfect: tea/coffee making machine, ice and mini bar. The bed was huge, clean and comfortable. The little touches such as the turn down service, chocolates left on the bed side table and cookies and fresh strawberries as a welcoming gift ensured that my husband and I will return to this hotel and, of course, recommend it to friends and family. It is extremely close to Maybury Street and only 20 minutes walk from Boston Common and down town to the Wharf. Fenway Park is only 10 minutes walk, so the location was perfect. The door staff were also very informative and helpful as well as chatty and friendly. To make the stay in Boston perfect, choose this hotel. I would return and ONLY stay at The Eliot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Beautiful classic boutique hotel in Boston Backbay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Overall style and feel and rooms.
Cons: Bathrooms a little small.
Beautiful classic European style hotel in perfect location to explore, shop, dine in Boston back bay. Also very convenient to Fenway park. Also easy access to Boston T subway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph ON

Awesome!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Fantastic! Would stay again! No complaints. We have nothing but good things to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: n/a
Location: see above
Within walking distance to everything. Amazing what you learn when you walk the city and the Eliot making that possible. We went to see the Red Sox play and it was well within walking distance. The hotel, the staff, the cleanliness and most of all location is definitely a great reason to stay at the Eliot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, NC

Exploring Boston

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Everything; except the bathroom is a little too small.
Cons: Add a small microwave and frig to the rooms.
Location: The hotel was close to everything (Boston College, shopping, subway, parks, etc.).
The city of Boston is beautiful. The people are friendly and helpful. When we first arrived and heading out on foot to explore, three people stopped to assist us with directions. Boston is clean and children friendly. There is a lot to see and explore. It requires more than four days to see it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debi

Centralized Location

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Staff was very helpful and always went out of their way.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: Great central location to explore Boston.
My college roomates had a reunion here. We had a wonderful time. We all agreed this was a fantastic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Nice hotel near Newberry

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Nice staff very accommodating. Easy to get to Fenway or Newberry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kate from London

Lovely hotel with discreet service & helpful staff

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Smaller hotel in a great location.
Cons: The sashimi restaurant serves delicious but very tiny and very expensive portions. Go for fries afterwards!
Location: Breakfast in the Trident booksellers is good. This end of Newbury Street has much more charm. Close to Fenway Park, the Prudential centre, etc
I really enjoyed staying here, service was great. We were in a suite on 5th floor. The bed was really comfortable. Unfortunately we had neighbours in the suite next door who were very loud late at night. Minibar not too over priced either although we didn't use it. Great to have a coffee machine in the room. When I saw some of the other hotels in the Back Bay area that were in the same price bracket, I'm very glad we chose this one. It has so much more charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pilgrim. from Jacksonville, FL

One of the loveliest American boutique hotels.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: This is a very elegant, sophisticated hotel, with polite and attentive staff. Despite its location on Mass Ave and Commonwealth, the rooms were quiet.
Cons: One morning our coffee machine pods were not replenished. The only complaint! Most rooms have showers only, so request a bath if that's important.
Location: Excellent location one block from Newbury within walking distance of several exceptional restaurants. The hotel provides passes to a nearby gym.
The Eliot House Hotel has a European ambiance. The beds and linens were top quality, and the rooms were spacious with all the nice amenities. Not inexpensive, but worth the money. It was perfect for our visit. The staff was extraordinarily attentive without being intrusive. Close to excellent restaurants, in particular the highly rated Deuxaves across the street and a local favorite, Sonsi. One block from premier shopping on Newbury Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Back Bay Hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Location: Back Bay location is outstanding.
Ate at Uni Sashimi Bar at the hotel. It was great.