Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada

Judy's Boston visit

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, the staffs helpfulness and the clean, comfortable room.
Cons: Although there is a place to eat breakfast, it is very expensive and the service could be improved when serving customers.
Location: From the location of the hotel, you can access many restaurants, the subway and the ball park. The cost of the subway for a week is only $17.
I recently visited Boston with my grandson. My stay at the Eliot Hotel made my holiday a comfortable and convenient experience. The hotel is close to the subway which can provide all transportation to sites and places to visit. A weekly pass cost only $17 and took us to the Science Museum, the Kennedy Library, whale watching and the Aquarium. We were able to walk to a Red Socks game from the hotel. Staff at the desk were able to answer any and all questions. The room was very clean and in the evening ice and chocolates are delivered daily. I hope to return to the city of Boston and to the Eliot hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

I loved my stay!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The Eliot is a smart, adorable, boutique hotel in amazing Back Bay. The staff are so friendly and attentive, easily approachable and eager to help. For being around since the 1920s, it is in impeccable shape and the rooms were clean and comfortable enough for two. Cookies, chocolates, robes, turndown service, sound-proof windows (I was on the 3rd floor and it was ALWAYS quiet), and an actual hotel door key make it apparent they've thought of everything and are what gives the Eliot it's smart, ritzy, and unpretentious charm. The T station is a block away but more importantly, Fenway Park is an exhilarating 15-20 minute walk you share with other fanatics dressed in their very best Red Sox gear. As if that weren't enough, The Eliot is also home to Clio and Uni, two restaurants that consistently top the lists of Boston's celebrity chef recommendations. My first visit to Boston, and I couldn't have asked for more- I am always going to come back to this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City break

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Great base to explore Boston. Very comfortable room and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Fabulous location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Fabulous location, lots to do and see within walking distance, T station just a block away, rooms beautiful, staff excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Calm, old style class in a chi-chi part of town

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, decor, atmosphere and attention to detail. The full size ironing board was surprisingly useful!
Cons: Mini-bar and breakfast were pricey, even with a good exchange rate. Free water ( which I'm getting now in my next hotel) would be a nice touch.
Location: Fenway park baseball : last minute tickets on www.stubhub.com. JFK library at UMass. Whale watching for humpbacks on a catamaran from the Harbour.
I stayed for 8 nights with my 16 yr old twin girls. We had a spacious suite with 2 queen sized beds and they made up the sofa bed in the sitting room, without beign asked, put it back up every day and remade it every evening.We had a bedroom, sitting room, hall, bathroom and kitchenette. There were 2 chests, each with 3 drawers and a closet for clothes etc, a TV in each room, an ipod dock/speakers by the bed and chocolates every night by our pillows. The room was 4th floor at the front and we heard no noise at any time. Room service was quick, thorough and apparently on hand all day, so whenever you went out you came back to a tidy room if you put the sign on the door. There was an emphasis on lots of staff, often 2 or 3 at the desk, 2 or even 3 at the front door. All charming and really wanting to help. There is a restrained, respectful air in the hotel and nothing is too much trouble.When we got into the lift on day 2 one of my daughters whispered " They all treat me as if I'm a celebrity!". The hotel is around the corner from Newbury Street : THE smart boutique shopping and street dining district and half a block from a T stop. Fenway park ( the oldest baseball ground in the US) is 15 minutes the other way and a GREAT family atmosphere. There are unlimited free entry passes to a gym a few doors away with endless machines. Breakfast was civilised and calm but fairly pricey for our needs, so we used Starbucks around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa fe(former bostonian)

Perfectly located

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Wonderful boutique hotel with history well situated for a run along the Charles river or a saunter down Newbury. With two four star restaurants right downstairs what more could you want. Service was impeccable. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Only negative you get charged extra if you have to park your Car and then retrieve it more than once a day
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location small bathroom

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Cons: Bathroom, AC
Location: Very close to T station. Lots of reasturants and shopping near by. Convienent to Fenway, BU, and hike bike trail along river.
Bathroom is small with no counter space and a shower about 22" wide with a grab bar intruding into that already narrow space. Even though outside temperature was moderate, AC could not keep room at a comfortable temperature and ran none stop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaylordsville, CT

Many "little" things off....

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The bed was VERY comfortable. The room was very clean and decor was stylish. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Do not disturb sign for door would have been great. Smaller keys- the big clunky key chain is difficult to put in a pocket or small clutch purse.
Location: We loved the location to Newbury Street with the great shopping and restaurant choices! AND it is right near Fenway Park! We walked everywhere!
Our room was very nice- the bed comfortable but some things were off. No do not disturb sign was provided, and we were disturbed by maids (only because there was no signal to them that people were still in the room), the TV and Radio were unplugged and to plug them in we had to move large furniture, the bathroom was pretty tiny and there was no where to put cosmetic bag, brushes, or anything (I had to put my belongings on the floor on a towel), no mini fridge for waters, sodas or left overs, and no coffee maker or bottle water provided in room. And the key to the room was too large and heavy for a man to slip into his pocket- a key card is much more convenient. For the price much of this, if not all should have been provided. I will say the service was great and everyone was friendly. Keep in mind parking is $36 a day, though the website does inform you. I did leave a pair of shoes behind and the hotel did call me and ask me how I wanted them sent. That was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south shields

lovely hotel location fantastic

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: shops, restaurants, bars, parks
stayed at this hotel for four nights with my family. excellent location across the road from newburry street and all the shops and restaurants. hotel really clean and rooms and bedding immaculate. the only downside was the price of drinks but I don't know if this was expected of this hotel. overall great experience and would go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with rude staff

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Everything except the staff,
Cons: Staff training, customer care and follow up,
Location: Excellently located for all sights and shopping,
This hotel is in an excellent location, has spacious and comfortable rooms and is a good choice if you are not concerned with rude and dismissive customer service.