Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Kevin from New York, NY

DISAPPOINTING! No garage! Thin walls! Loud AC!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location is convenient
Cons: parking, room service, ice machine, towels and bathrobes for everyone, soaps.............. basically everything needs improvement!
Location: restaurants, shops, university
The hotel has no garage. Parking is $36 per 24 hour day if you don't take your car out to use. If you take your car out to use, it will cost you again and again each time for $10 per hour. So you can end up paying over $100 per day. The room is renovated but the renovation is not good. There is no closet in the bedroom of a "Luxury suite". The air conditioning is so loud, one can not sleep and the windows won't open. The walls are extremely thin and we can hear people talking and laughing in the next room. We took a "luxury suite" for myself, my husband and our daughter, however the suite only had towels for two people and only one bath robe. The convertible was not made up and there were no sheets to make it up ourselves. No ice machine on the floor. We had to call for every thing and tip each time we need things which should be supplied before we arrive. Very disappointed in this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Tulsa, OK

Elegant boutique hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: Temperature of the rooms. A little stuffy.
Location: Right by T station and so close to Newbury Street.
I would highly recommend The Eliot. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. The room was beautiful. The only negative was the temperature of the room. It was difficult to cool, which given Boston weather, is usually not an issue. Love, love, love The Eliot!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from CT

Trip to Fenway Park

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Old style
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Great to walk almost anywhere along a freedom Trail or Fenway Park.
Great hotel and area ten minutes from Ball Park on foot. Great restaurant and lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anime Boston First Timer

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, amenities placed in the room prior to check in.
Cons: Have housekeeping be a bit less assertive when guests request No Service
Location: Anime Boston, and just about anything and everything you could want to eat
I have to say choosing the Elliot for my hotel while staying in Boston was nothing short of amazing. Everything from the style to the staff was flawless. The room was quite comfy, all be it a bit small. Having access to a mini bar was the perfect way to relax after a day of walking and shopping. The front desk and doormen were some of most friendly and attentive people I've seen at any hotel. They were always looking to help in any way possible. I can't wait to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Tucson, AZ

Great hotel in a central location

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Nice room, attentive staff, great location. No complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pretty nice hotel, nothing too crazy.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Great in-hotel restaurant/bar: Clio.
Cons: Room was boring, plain, despite the fact that I splurged for the Deluxe Suite.
Ok experience. This was the 3rd time I've stayed here, and this time was the least-great experience. The room was ok. The staff was ok. Things were clean... For the price we paid, and what we have experienced in the past I expected a nicer room, better decor, and more 'boutique'. The room and experience could have been a nice Hampton Inn had I not looked at the bill afterward. Staff barely engaged us, other than doing the basics. "Here's your key, there is the elevator." I'll likely stay elsewhere next time for the money.
3 out of 5
by Rosemary from Cork.Ireland.

disappointment.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Delightful staff at breakfast,good selection of fresh berries,fruit etc. requests supplied helpfully. Very attractive and comfortable area.
Cons: Reception staff training. Providing a bath,not just shower would be good.
Location: Very close to T station. 10 walk to Pru Centre,Shopping Mall,Newberry St. shops,Library and great Museum.
Hotel has good exterior appearance.good foyer and small french-style lifts.Total shock to find scaffolds and sheeting outside our window Total 'white-out'. Persistence got us a room change.Attitude of front desk most unsatisfactory..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from Kailua, Hawaii

We love it!

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Staff and location are the best!
Cons: The rooms are a bit dark...but that's okay.
Location: Fenway Park area as well as Newbury Street shopping are so close and convenient!
We've stayed at The Eliot twice, both times involving visits with our student at BU. Best location possible for BU, Newbury Street, Fenway Park. The rooms are very nicely appointed and have never been disappointed by the room itself. But best of all about The Eliot is the staff. Always a welcoming person at the front desk, great in-lobby staff who always smile and ask if you need anything and always ready to find a cab even when it's very busy. We love it there and welcome the opportunity to stay. We always look at the Eliot first but often the rates are really high (but very comparable to similar boutique hotels) so we sometimes have to stay elsewhere depending on our budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stay

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Meeting our daughter from New York at halfway point (we're from Maine)....and this was great...the suite works well for sharing spaces....steps away from the subway and a short walk to either Kenmore square or Prudential/Hynes Auditorium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eli from Israel.

Was not aware the hotel was under renovation.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The suite was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The staff was sympathetic and, especially those serving in the dining hall.
Cons: Let us talk again after the restoration will peal off the outside covering that blocks any view whatsoever.
Location: Excellently located
Changes three rooms during check-in because the hotel was under restoration and mostly covered to the outside.