Ratings based on 1,747 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Very cool atmosphere

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Everything, including welcome champagne, awesome coffee in the am and delicious food at one site restaurant.
Cons: Parking is very expensive but it is Boston so I understand
The old jail turned into luxury hotel theme really works! The lobby is so beautiful with many comfy places to sit (on 4 floors that all overlook the middle), have a drink and people watch. Rooms were so nice...great beds and lovely bathroom with soft robe! Due to the nature of the nightlife (popular party hangout) not sure it's the best for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Amazing "experience" hotel in the heart of Boston

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Location: Located right in Boston, on the Charles River, the location is great for exploring Downtown and some nearby attractions.
The Liberty Hotel was fantastic. While no stranger to visiting Boston, this was our first stay to this property. It was surreal to see how the prison was converted into such a luxury property. The staff was extremely friendly, the various bars (Clink, Alibi, Catwalk) and the on-site restaurant (Scampo) all had delicious food and beverage options. The room (upgraded to Deluxe on check-in) was comfortable and spacious. Taking a few moments to read up on the history of the property really makes all the difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the subway

Posted Jan 26, 2015
short on towels. Our room did not get cleaned. Socket in bathroom for makeup mirror was bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brioklyn NY

Unique Boston hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Entirely unique hotel converted from historic jail -- nicely integrated into new design. Room in tower standard, tho bathroom was especially nice. Settee and rug could've been a bit cleaner. And proximity to highways and subway means it's not as quiet as one would hope. Nearby Charles Street is very charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Gorgeous architecture, historical landmark!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Cons: Pillow size choice.
Location: Mass General Hospital next door. Restaurant 75 Chestnut perfect! Park down Charles street. You are in the heart of Beacon Hill District.
I love The Liberty, beautiful and in the heart of Beacon Hill and the redline T and next to one of the greatest hospitals in the world: Mass General Hospital. Lobby and service exquisite. However free Wi-Fi for only 2 devices. After that you're charged $14.95. Outrageous. Room was small and lacked pillow choices. But, I would easily stay in this hotel again. There's so much to love in the beauty of the building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2015
great hotel! I really like the location because its easy to walk to popular places in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

First Class all the way!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing, attention to detail at every turn
Wouldn't stay at another hotel in boston. From the doorman, to check in, to the manager, everything at the liberty is first class all the way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Disappointing room

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Lobby and restaurants were really nice with a pleasant;y unusual atmosphere. The standard room however was disappointing. Room was a bit dusty, no coffee making machine, no safe. For a hotel of this calibre, those should be standard. I would go again for drinks or restaurants, not to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated, overpriced

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: The lobby.
Cons: Prices.
The hotel has a stunning lobby. That's about it. It is really just a regular corporate hotel masquerading as something unique. That would be ok, except the prices on everything are ludicrous. And I mean ludicrous. Valet parking is $50 and there is no option to self-park. It's downtown so I thought that was maybe acceptable, until I got to breakfast. An omelette with a side of potatoes is $26. And it's just regular eggs and meat. Nothing fancy. Utterly ridiculous. One other thing, I forgot my toothbrush and had to get one sent up. They brought me an unbelievably cheap package with a poisonous tasting "toothpaste" straight from the factory floor in China. You'd think they could invest some of the ridiculous profits they are skimming off breakfast in some colgate or crest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by BrianL, Hotel Management
I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations and appreciate the feedback. I apologize that we do not offer self-parking options but I can assure you that our pricing is comparable to downtown hotels in Boston. I am sorry that you did not agree with the breakfast pricing, which similar to parking, is competitive and similar to the local market. We continuously review our pricing to ensure we are competitive in the market; I also apologize that the toothpaste was not enjoyable. We hope to serve you better in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lexington, Ma

Birthday Treat!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Lower rates at times so everyone can experience the hotel.
Location: Beacon hill, Td Garde, local pubs and walking along the Charles River! Hotel is right by the red line T stop so you can get anywhere in Boston easily.
From the moment I walked in, it was wonderful. Oscar at the registration desk is a hoot and so gracious! The hotel itself is a perfect blend of old and new; and is overflowing with character! Enjoyed the brunch food at CLINK , and having a nightcap on the CATWALK. The rooms are large and comfortable and I was thrilled to see a large soaking tub with separate shower! Enjoyed everything about this hotel and will be back!