Ratings based on 1,674 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Very cool! Restaurant and bar areas very good!
Location: Location is great! Close to great areas!
Fantastic experience. We loved hotel! hotel staff were great and friendly! Loved the theme of hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Everything was great! Check in was smooth - champagne was a nice touch! Close to everything we needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

A hotel to visit but do not stay here!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Made reservations at the Liberty hotel for a 2 night stay in a deluxe king room. We were looking forward to a nice weekend away. The room was terrible, smelled and small. Asked if there was any way to upgrade, although the staff was polite they had nothing better available and gave no options. Could not even open the curtains. Felt like sleeping in a dark closet. The next morning asked again for another room having spent $700 for the 2 nights, and again was told that they could do nothing, they were booked. Decided to check out early and go to another hotel. At that point, "all of a sudden" the front desk said a very nice room with a view was open. We were insulted that it took us leaving for them to accommodate us. We left and they kept our money, offered no refund, not even willing to give us the option to stay at a future date to make good for our disappointing experience. Do not take a chance at this hotel! The Lobby is something to see, the history is interesting and the outside of the building is inviting. Go for dinner or a drink, enjoy then LEAVE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by BrianL, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing the Liberty and for writing a review about your experience. We truly appreciate the feedback! I apologize that the room accommodations did not meet your expectations and that we were unable to upgrade you at the times you inquired about changing rooms. Rooms become available at different times of the day depending on check-in and check-out times so I can assure you if we had availability to upgrade you we certainly would have done so. It is always our objective to fulfill our guest requests and ensure you are completely satisfied with your room and our service. Again I apologize that we fell short and as you will see with most reviews, we take pride in delivering exceptional service and we hope you will give us another chance in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Great hotel if you have loved ones in Mass General. Very accommodating. Nice lobby and rooms. Not too far from the North End and Faneuil Hall. Best prices are here on Expedia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Very nice hotel. Great city. Enjoyed our short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Great hotel, and especially love the lobby and bar. Staff was very helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Great experience!! The lounge at the Lobby is great!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Party Hotel very noisy!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: The bathroom was very large but the bathroom door just slides across the opening, and does not completely close.
Cons: Tell hotel guests returning to their rooms after the lobby bar closes at 2am to be considerate and be quiet; not slam the door to their room.
Location: Several good restaurants on Charles St, but the location of the hotel is on a busy intersection.
We stayed on a Friday night and the hotel lobby was a giant night club with a full bar and extremely loud music until 2:00am! The rooms are fairly sound proof but the drunken hotel guests stumbling back to their rooms, screaming and laughing at 2:00am, and slamming their doors closed woke us up out of a sound sleep! Our room was located on the lobby level so we probably got the worst of the party scene. There was absolutely no view outside from our window, except on a side street to the hospital. We also had dinned at the hotel restaurant, "Clink" and were both disappointed with the meal. I had the hadduck which was dried out and a very small portion. My fiance had the duck which was a very small portion as well. The squash soup and the salad were very good, however. The total dinner cost $113 (not including tip) and for that price ai expected a little more. I recommend eating out, there are several nice places on Charles St (Toscano's is one). You can get a much better meal for far less!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by BrianL, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent stay and taking the time to share you feedback, it is greatly appreciated! Our vibrant nightlife is one of the reasons many of our guests choose to stay with us on the weekends. We do have several room types offering gorgeous views that you are more than welcome to request should you visit us again. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the soup and salad in Clink; however, I apologize if you were not satisfied with our entrees. This information will be given to our Executive Chef for further review. I agree that are some nice restaurants on Charles Street and hope you enjoyed our beautiful neighborhood. Once again, your input is valued and aids us in making continuous improvements. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice jail

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Liked this hotel. Looking for a reason to go back to Boston so I can stay here again. Right across the street from the red line and Dunkin donuts. No need for a car. And skip the expensive on site breakfast Starbucks is only a few blocks down
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by BrianL, Hotel Management
We look forward to your next stay at The Liberty, thank you for sharing this review with us. Kind regards, Brian L. Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, excellent staff, historic hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
What more can I say then in the title. I will note the door staff were outstanding and went above and beyond to help us unload, tour, and reload our car. Well worth the tip. The hotel was a bargain for what we paid. I wouldn't even shop around if returning to Boston again - The Liberty is "our" hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by BrianL, Hotel Management
Wow, what an amazing review! To hear that The Liberty is now your singular hotel of choice for future visits to Boston is such an incredible compliment; thank you in advance for your repeat business. Kind regards, Brian L. Director of Rooms