Ratings based on 2,102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Fabulous hotel! Great location!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
An overall fabulous trip to Boston! We got lost on our way to the hotel and the concierge gave us accurate directions as we were driving to the hotel...he stayed on the phone until we pulled into the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Outstanding hotel in an amazing location

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff Very nice rooms Elegant decor Classy check-in (they offer you champagne, who still does that!)
Cons: All positive
Location: In the middle of everything and right next door to a 3-mile river walk and park.
Very elegant hotel; nice rooms, great facilities including outstanding restaurants. Rich history and helpful staff. My wake up call, came to the door when I did not answer the phone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Very cool hotel with lots of character.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: We loved the character and the friendly staff.
Cons: We were pleased.
Location: Location as great and there is a lot of restaurants within walking distance and the T station is across the street.
Loved this hotel with so much character. The hotel used to be a prison and they kept so many aspects of the prison which really added to the character. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We did have a small problem with the bathroom sink not working properly. I brought it to the attention of the manager and we were given a new room right away. The hotel is directly across the street form the T station-very convenient. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something different and interesting. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton/NJ

Great location - wonderful lounge area

Posted Jul 22, 2015
This time we enjoyed the Liberty Hotel for a family vacation - the staff was great as always - and also helpful in terms of booking tickets etc. The Clink Restaurant was high quality - as always - whether you come for breakfast or lunch - have not yet tried dinner here, but wouldn't hesitate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Liberty Mistake

Posted Jul 22, 2015
If you are drawn to the historical and uniqueness, go to The Liberty Hotel for dinner or drinks, but book a room somewhere else. - 2 hour wait for unexceptional room with dirty carpet. - The ice consisted of an ugly cooler with inches of frost and a couple of ziplock bags that I guessed were ice at one time. - The frig was completely full of alcohol and mixers, no room for personal use and they put a hold on our credit card for nearly $500. - The valets were very verbal about being rushed and one got in a fight with a taxi driver. - Hotel is wedged into the corner of a hospital and our room was just above the ER, so there were sirens. - A waste of money and really gave a bad impression of a beautiful city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2015 by LibertyBoston, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your candid feedback! I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have an exceptional stay. Our staff takes pride in creating positive memories for all of our guests, and it is clear that we fell short with you. We do appreciate the feedback on the issues you outlined and will follow up with the appropriate teams in those areas; specifically, housekeeping regarding the cleanliness and ice and our valet team in regards to coming off as “rushed” and the interaction with a cab driver. There is simply no excuse for rooms that are in need a of a deep cleaning and less-than-stellar service, but I truly apologize. Per our hotel policy, there is a standard authorization for incidentals in the amount of $150. I hope the additional amount has cleared on your account by now or we have assisted with clarifying this amount with you. We are excited to be undergoing a guest room renovation in November and look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations upon its completion!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Hip hotel right next to the T

Posted Jul 21, 2015
The red T stop is right out front making it easy to get around the city. My only complaint is that I had to sign up every day of my stay for Wifi. The staff was great and even though the lobby/bar is packed on the weekends, my room was nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic luxury hotel with character

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Location: Location good although it is a moderate walk to the downtown area but train station is at hotel's doorstep.
Excellent place to stay. Extremely helpful and welcoming staff (including a glass of champagne on arrival). Rooms are very good (although pretty standard, not overly large), views are wonderful and the character of the building very interesting. Coffee is very decent in the breakfast room/lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comvenient hotel for Esplanade and Mas Gen access.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Good location for Esplanade and Mass Gen'l.
Cons: Check-in was slow and disorganized.
Location: Direct access to Esplanade for walking, jogging and other events. Next door to Mass Gen'l. good access to Charles street restaurants and shopping.
Check-in was slow and disorganized, but otherwise staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable, but beginning to be a little worn. Room was on 4th floor, near Mass General emergency entrance, and notice from ambulance back-up beeping was annoying during the night. Bar and Restaurants looked good, but we were committed to meeting friends for dinner elsewhere. Location was great for access to esplanade and Mass Gen, but a little out of the way for Back Bay or financial district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 11, 2015
This location was wonderful ... Can't say enough wonderful things about the staff ... The beds were HORRIBLE.... we were so uncomfortable it actually made the pain in our feet from walking all day not feel so bad because our backs were in far more pain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun Hotel with a lot of history.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Had a great night stay to watch the fireworks. Easy location in Boston a little pricey.