Ratings based on 1,313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Historic and beautiful

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Historic quality and ambiance.
Cons: nothing
Location: It is located near the Charles River just east of the Longfellow bridge. It is very centered and plenty of eateries close by.
Our stay was very pleasant. We enjoyed the ambiance and historic quality of the hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, ON

The Liberty Hotel, great hotel!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My wife and I spent the weekend at The Liberty Hotel on Charles. Wonderful experience there. Staff was friendly, decor is quite modern contemporary. It's close to everything! Would've liked a pool and hot tub to be on site, but won't complain. Campo Restaurant was great and enjoyed several cocktails at the Liberty Bar. Everything is pricey, but hey you only live once!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Justin @ The Hotel Lounge

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The room
Cons: Educate your lounge staff on hospitality
The hotel overall was nice. Cool place. Interesting story. The hotel lounge is something to avoid, namely Justin (bartender) and James the Manager on Duty --- I'm not quite sure how these two are in the hospitality business, but they clearly need a refresher course. I have stayed in the best hotels around the world, and thought this would be a nice boutique hotel… It most certainly was not. I was a punching bag for two guys that clearly have personal problems life. I do not recommend this hotel due to service by these two people alone. Nice job, Justin (bartender) and James (manger on duty)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by BrianL, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words regarding your room and overall hotel experience. I am sorry that you were not pleased with your time in our bar. It is never our intent to single out any guest or make anyone feel unwelcome. In some situations to ensure our compliance with liquor laws and the safety of our guests, our managers and bartenders need to intervene appropriately. We apologize again that your expectations were not met in this situation, that was certainly not our intent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FLA

First rate experience! Great staff!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Hotel experience was first rate on every level. Staff, design approach, comfort, lobby bar / innovative drink options by example, were all above expectations. Add to the experience the location and I'm not sure how to do any better. We were in a smaller room, but that was purely based on availability. I have to repeat how well-trained and tuned in every staff member that we experienced were. Kudos across the board!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montréal QC

Perfect situation

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The Location
Location: Many places that have to be seen are accessible by foot. There many good places to eat all around the hotel.
Staff was available for any requests. I was very comfortable with the relax and smart atmosphere. I appreciate the terrasse of the lounge bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quebec

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Very disappointed in the hotel, service was not good and staff don't communicate with each other, lobby area had old looking chairs, not what u would exspect from a luxury hotel, stayed in better that was a lot cheaper than this one View from our room was of the main entrance to the local hospital!!! Will not return
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by BrianL, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience. We offer many rooms with great views; unfortunately the back side of the hotel faces the hospital (most of our double rooms are located on this side). I am delighted to inform you that we will be re-covering all of our lobby furniture this year and hope you will return to enjoy a better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JoAnn from Hillsborough, NJ

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
What a great experience!! The hotel and the history behind it was so interesting. The staff is second to none. Absolutely loved it!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was fantastic

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Hospitals
Staff was courteous and friendly; room was immaculate
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 star piece.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Its a former jail .Nice interior .The Hotspot in Boston .Well located for Beacons Hill ,Charles River and the Redline is on the doorstep.That said it falls far short of a luxury 5 star .Its a good 4 star .The "Health Club "is in reality a Cupboard Gym ;very limited and very poorly thought out .Scampo is great for Brunch .Try the Lobster Pizza .The hotel Party Central on Friday and Saturday Nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by BrianL, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review and for acknowledging many positive aspects of your experience. We have recently renovated our gym and hope you can enjoy our complimentary fitness class on Saturdays as well. Please come back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: Internet included in the room price
The Liberty hotel was an enjoyable place to stay, but. The only negative I would have is that for $ 330.00 per night I don't really appreciate the added charge for internet. Yes, there is a free low speed wifi but you keep getting kicked off , " frustrating ". Next trip I will look for a similar hotel that includes good internet services in their price.