Ratings based on 1,438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Hotel is gorgeous and renovations amazing

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Service, decor, history of building
Cons: Communication between front desk and housekeeping on availability of roll away beds when we checked in; ability of front desk to upgrade us then
Location: Run along Charles River, walk to Science Museum, shop along Charles Street, tour Mass General Hospital (if you're medical or interested in history).
What used to be an old, decrepit jail has been restored to beauty. Developers had some fun with the naming of the bar ("Alibi") and restaurant ("Clink"). Interior a little edgy with exposed rafters, heavy iron chandeliers and bars where old cells once held men captive (if these wals could talk...). There was an error made with our room and it went undiscovered until very late when we rolled in from dinner with kids, ready for a good nights sleep. Manager-on-duty Jill took matters up and personally escorted us to a beautiful corner room that night. Although we were weary from travel and patience was thin, Jill smoothed things out to perfection and made lemonade from lemons for my family. Overall, a delightful stay and location was beyond compare with River on one side and lovely Charles Street on the other. Well done!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel has interesting features but no view.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: They give you a glass of champagne when you check in!
Cons: The beds are so uncomfortable they should be replaced.
Location: Close to Charles street and the science museum.
Hotel has character and is welcoming but the resto is expensive and the food isn't great. Our room was dark with a view of the hospital's wall and the beds were uncomfortable. On a less interesting note, the lobby transforms itself in a young party place at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The Liberty is a beautiful, incredibly well run hotel. Comfort, class and elegance are inherent in a stay at The Liberty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great!!!!! Boston is fantastic

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The main lobby was amazing and the club downstairs.
Cons: The entance to the club made it hard to get in to the hotel.
Location: shops, T line(train) and places to eat
Hotel is beautiful but costly..My stay was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful hotel wonderful staff

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Beautiful hotel, great staff, central location close to the Trolley and the T. Lived the Bloody Mary bar at Clink. Only negative was the beds were not the most comfortable. I expected more with regard to the beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room ,nice hotel close to downtown.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: The mattress of the two double beds were bad, too old or too solf.
We stayed one night, visited havard university and shopped at Wrentham village outlet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Great hotel great location!! Had a great time unreal how nice the restored Charles Street Jail is!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover, NH

Great stay in the heart of Boston!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The Liberty has very trendy and stylish decor. It is neat and clean and all of the staff were friendly and more than accommodating.
Cons: For a few nights stay I had no issues so I wouldn't improve on anything.
Location: Located along the Charles River, minutes walk from great restaurants, shopping, parks and the theater district gives you plenty of activity options.
Several years ago my girlfriend and I attended a wedding at the Liberty and decided by the end of the evening that we should stay at the hotel for a weekend sometime. The atmosphere is upbeat and exciting and makes you feel a part of the city life. It is hard to believe that it was once a prison!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Best hotel in Boston

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: history and all of the great nightlife and unique amenities.
Location: Near the red line, near whole foods, near Charles Street, near the esplanade(running and beautiful views).
The is a clean, modern, historical and happening hotel. It is the best in Boston in my opinion. It is close the river and running as well as to shopping, the T, and a whole foods. The restaurants and bars in the hotel are top notch and the there are plenty close by if you want to get out. What I love about this hotel besides the historical building and modern amenities is that is there are all kinds of little perks like fashion shows, yoga, free bike rental and they will clean your gym clothes for you so you don't have to have nasty gym clothes in your luggage! I love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice, lively and great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: location, amenities, staff,
Cons: cleanliness of room and advise guests of type of room view they are getting beforehand
Location: great location to hospitals, parks, shopping, residents. good walking distance to many desirable locations.
came for a long weekend and heard a lot about the Liberty. We were a bit disappointed with the view. An eye clinic could look right into our room so we had to keep the curtains shut much of the time. Also, found the carpet to be pretty stained. There was no ironing board, no DO NOT DISTURB for the door, and didn't feel real clean. Felt like it was cleaned very rapidly. Otherwise if it would have felt cleaner and the view would have been better would highly recommend the hotel in general. the staff was very helpful and pleasant.