Ratings based on 1,941 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Night Club with Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The theme, the architecture, and the location.
Cons: More perks for guests, one classy and quiet place that stays open late and serves food, and more interesting room decor.
Location: Great location right near the T and within walking distance of a lot of things to do...
The Liberty is a fun place, with a great look and theme. However, realistically you are paying mostly for the cool lobby and the bars and nightclub scene. The rooms are OK, the location is great, but it can be pretty noisy and crowded and night in the main areas and there really isn't a place to meet and chat over a nice meal as much as dance the night away to thumping music. Also, you don't get any special perks like breakfast or parking by staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by LibertyBoston, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for your positive comments on our theme, architecture and location. Our lobby and myriad food and beverage offerings are indeed vibrant on the weekends; if you prefer less energy, come visit us midweek! Thanks again for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

Really nice hotel. Very close to most attractions.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and overall pleasantness and helpfulness of the staff. Historical aspect of the hotel as an old jail was really interesting.
Cons: Can't really add anything in terms of improvement as it was a great place to stay and we returned there to stay on our way back from New Hampshire
Location: Good for shopping, sight seeing and close to trains and restaurants.
Check-in was quick and staff were very pleasant and very helpful as our plane was delayed and we were very late getting in. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Restaurant was great for breakfast. Very close to Boston Common, The Public Garden, shopping district and most other attractions. We have been to Boston several times before and had always stayed in The Downtown Crossing or Back Bay area but we found the Beacon Hill area to be close to everything especially trains. The hotel was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Nice place, good location, rooms clean and very good bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Weekend in Boston

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: bathroom plumbing, clogged sink. Stains on the ceiling.
Location: science museum, duck tours, Charles St. Mass General Hospital.
Spent 2 nights at the Liberty Hotel. Expedia had a great 24 hour deal for the Liberty. Perfect location to the Science Museum and Charles St. Walking distance to Chinatown, Faniuel Hall and over the bridge from Cambridge. Great lobby bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
We went on a Thursday night and had the opportunity to watch the fashion show. It was a lot of fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Posted Apr 6, 2015
I loved the hotel. It's location is perfect. The staff was excellent. They went out of their way to be helpful. I will definitely return on my next trip to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, cool history

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Loved the location of the hotel
Cons: Valet parking was $49 per night. Seems excessively high.
Location: The Boston Commons within a few blocks, Boston Museum of Science about 1/2 mile
Blocks from the Boston Gardens/The Commons. Within walking distance to the Boston Museum of Science.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
A wonderful space, that is so unique and appealing. The shower enclosure leaked a bit, which was surprising, but not a terribly relevant issue. A great night overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mass

Great location.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Overall nice hotel. Bath towels on par with a budget motel- not what I would expect at a 'Luxury' Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2015 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. I'm sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our towels, we will follow up with Housekeeping to review their condition. Kind regards, Brian L. Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Liberty was amazing. Beautiful, unique property, formerly Boston jail. Superb staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2015 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the unique aspect of The Liberty, and also our friendly staff - we look forward to seeing you back here again soon! Kind regards, Brian L. Director of Rooms