Ratings based on 1,853 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Liberty was amazing. Beautiful, unique property, formerly Boston jail. Superb staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Get out of Jail

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Location and set up
Cons: Breakfast was too expensive
Location: Charles Street antique and jewelry shops, Boston Common, North End
Great re-purposing of a Victorian jail...good location close to the North End, Little Italy and the Boston Common and Garden. Pleasant room in the new tower, try and get one overlooking the River. Comfortable beds and bedding, quality bathroom products, easy access to highways. Nice bar in the lobby, Clink and Alibi, restaurants and bar and Scampo in the lower level complete an excellent dining trio. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Overall great stay.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
I booked this hotel for my friends who were on their honeymoon. Overall the hotel was great except that a basket that I dropped off (24 hrs earlier in person) to be placed in their room before they arrived was not done correctly. I called the hotel a total of 4 times on the day of checkin...the last time was as the couple was less than 20 minutes away from checking in. I crossed all my t's and dotted all my i's and was told it was "all set" and would definitely be done. The basket took a lot of time and money to prepare for me and the occasion was very important for the couple so I wanted everything to be just right. Well, the basket was delivered to the wrong room and what's worse is that the people in the room where it was delivered oped the card and went through the basket before the situation was realized....by me. And the only way it was realized was by me calling the concierge to state that the couple had been texting me and not mentioned the basket yet. So disappointing and the moment was ruined. I was incredibly upset, disappointed, angry, and sad. This was not rocket science was so important to me and them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom needham,ma

Upscale Hotel in an Historic Building...

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: The rooms were attractive, clean and comfortable. The bedside tables, credenza and drawers were difficult to open and starting to show some age. And
Location: Great location proximate to MGH and government offices. Nearby Charles Street has great window shopping, restaurants, and pubs and Beacon Hill
I was in town for a birthday celebration, my decision to stay at the Liberty was a function of it's reputation and proximity to family members living in that area. The building is historic in Boston. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I had a light lunch and morning breakfast at the " Clink" the food was excellent and service was excellent. The Doormen and valets were attentive and pleasant without being "over the top".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salem, New Hampshire

Adjacent to Mass Eye and Ear Infirmary.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Nice atmosphere. I remember this when it was the Charles Street Jail. It's come a long way. Very nicely done and preserved. A great place to stay.
Cons: I had arranged for a wake up call which did not happen. Also, the radio alarm was impossible to decipher. I used my cell phone alarm. No big deal.
We were welcomed at check-in with complimentary glasses of champagne. Nice touch there. We checked in rather late and left early in the morning so did not get to experience the entire hotel. We were in town for a medical procedure at Mass Eye and Ear which is next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Just north of Boston

Posted Mar 14, 2015
We stayed at the hotel because of its location next to Mass Eye and Ear. I had surgery on one day and an early morning appointment the next day. The room was comfortable and very clean. The decor is modern without being over the top. We ate at the Clink on the Catwalk. The food was very good and on the Catwalk there is a lot of space between diners. We had breakfast the next morning in the main restaurant section of the Clink where both the food and decor were great. The touches that were left from the Charles St. Jail make the hotel a very interesting and fun place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

charges fees to unsuspecting guests. Uppity!

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Hotel staff was not accomidating. They charged us extra fee's without is knowing. Said we smoked in the room so they charged is $140 to "deep clean" the room despite noone smoking in the room. Avoid this uppity hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by LibertyBoston, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do follow Massachusetts law that prohibits smoking indoors and assess a smoking fee when rooms contain evidence of smoking. This evidence is confirmed by a manager and our security team prior to charging a guest. I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ny

Excellent service and accommodations

Posted Mar 7, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised that this was the best place in terms of the bed and pillows. Usually I can't sleep well in hotels. Not the case here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Thanks for the fantastic feedback about The Liberty's beds and pillows, and glad to hear that you had such a great night's sleep during your stay! Kind regards, Brian L. Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Cod

Not a Bad Jail to Spend a Night In

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Well appointed rooms; quiet;
Cons: Can't imagine what could be done better.
Location: Convenient to Mass General Hospital, and other great medical facilities; convenient to Cambridge and Boston, state and Federal buildings.
From the outset, the staff were very welcoming. The Doorman took care of our car and we were whisked right up to the reception. Check-in was quick and they offered champagne to welcome us. The rooms are located in the new annex and the room was very clean and extremely well appointed. The bathroom is large and 2 soft bath robes and slippers are provided. Multiple sets of glasses and alcoholic beverages were out on the credenza. We ate at Scampo's, one of the five restaurants, and it was delicious. All of the socializing activities occur in the old Jail section so that the rooms were very quiet. The next day we had appointments at Mass General and they kept the car until 4 PM, so that we could make our appointments and not have to worry about parking. Excellent hotel and we would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this detailed - and excellent - review! We very much appreciate the recommendation, and look forward to seeing you back at The Liberty on future travels to Boston. Kind regards, Brian L. Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Wedding

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Everything was good except the shower in our room. We had an accessible room and the shower head did not affix properly They did attempt to repair it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us and providing this feedback, which has been shared with the appropriate department. We hope to welcome you back to The Liberty on future travels to Boston. Kind regards, Brian L. Director of Rooms