Ratings based on 1,739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Gorgeous architecture, historical landmark!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Cons: Pillow size choice.
Location: Mass General Hospital next door. Restaurant 75 Chestnut perfect! Park down Charles street. You are in the heart of Beacon Hill District.
I love The Liberty, beautiful and in the heart of Beacon Hill and the redline T and next to one of the greatest hospitals in the world: Mass General Hospital. Lobby and service exquisite. However free Wi-Fi for only 2 devices. After that you're charged $14.95. Outrageous. Room was small and lacked pillow choices. But, I would easily stay in this hotel again. There's so much to love in the beauty of the building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2015
great hotel! I really like the location because its easy to walk to popular places in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

First Class all the way!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing, attention to detail at every turn
Wouldn't stay at another hotel in boston. From the doorman, to check in, to the manager, everything at the liberty is first class all the way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Disappointing room

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Lobby and restaurants were really nice with a pleasant;y unusual atmosphere. The standard room however was disappointing. Room was a bit dusty, no coffee making machine, no safe. For a hotel of this calibre, those should be standard. I would go again for drinks or restaurants, not to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated, overpriced

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: The lobby.
Cons: Prices.
The hotel has a stunning lobby. That's about it. It is really just a regular corporate hotel masquerading as something unique. That would be ok, except the prices on everything are ludicrous. And I mean ludicrous. Valet parking is $50 and there is no option to self-park. It's downtown so I thought that was maybe acceptable, until I got to breakfast. An omelette with a side of potatoes is $26. And it's just regular eggs and meat. Nothing fancy. Utterly ridiculous. One other thing, I forgot my toothbrush and had to get one sent up. They brought me an unbelievably cheap package with a poisonous tasting "toothpaste" straight from the factory floor in China. You'd think they could invest some of the ridiculous profits they are skimming off breakfast in some colgate or crest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by BrianL, Hotel Management
I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations and appreciate the feedback. I apologize that we do not offer self-parking options but I can assure you that our pricing is comparable to downtown hotels in Boston. I am sorry that you did not agree with the breakfast pricing, which similar to parking, is competitive and similar to the local market. We continuously review our pricing to ensure we are competitive in the market; I also apologize that the toothpaste was not enjoyable. We hope to serve you better in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lexington, Ma

Birthday Treat!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Lower rates at times so everyone can experience the hotel.
Location: Beacon hill, Td Garde, local pubs and walking along the Charles River! Hotel is right by the red line T stop so you can get anywhere in Boston easily.
From the moment I walked in, it was wonderful. Oscar at the registration desk is a hoot and so gracious! The hotel itself is a perfect blend of old and new; and is overflowing with character! Enjoyed the brunch food at CLINK , and having a nightcap on the CATWALK. The rooms are large and comfortable and I was thrilled to see a large soaking tub with separate shower! Enjoyed everything about this hotel and will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hollis, Nh

Nice Hotel.. Beds were so comfortable.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Love the lobby.. Love the history. The breakfast was very expensive and the parking was 48 dollars!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

A dressed up Day's Inn, not worth the money.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: location if one needs to be near MGH
The hotel pretends to be what it isn't. Construction is flimsy, rooms noisy, ventilation and heat definitely cheap motel. If you can get a rate of less than $150, the location might prove useful. If they are asking more like twice that, there are far better choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by BrianL, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your candid review; we do have an energy efficient HVAC system like most hotels that will cycle on and off to maintain your desired temperature. As a Luxury Collection hotel, we endeavor to provide you with the highest level of service, and I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Disappointing

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Rooms were nice. Location was good.
Cons: We received an automatic upgrade but only marginally so. Because of the lack of TV, they should have moved us to a room with an excellent view as comp
Location: Location was fine
TV were not working in the hotel (big issue). Complimentary Champagne not provided as promised. No compensation was offerred. Price of breakfast was unreasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by BrianL, Hotel Management
I am so sorry for your disappointing experience; the TV issue was an anomaly and fortunately has now been fixed. I understand this took away from your experience, and we believe this won’t happen again. We hope you’ll chose us again when you are spending the night in Boston!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom clifton, va

Too much hype

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Most of the hotel staff were very good.
Cons: Yes, inform guests that only x seats in lobby are for eating and not the lobby bar.
Location: Excellent location , walk to T, shops, resturants, etc
Once you pass out of the main lobby the thrill is gone. You enter another building that houses the rooms. They are nothing special. Not on par with the ritz or Four Seasons. Very plain jane rooms, holiday inn standard, with much nicer bathrooms. That said the hotel staff was very nice. One exception, be careful where you do sit in the lobby certain areas are for the lobby bar and they will come over and ask what you would like to order. I was just reading waiting for my wife to come down so we could go out. I just moved and she dame back around again! Helpful or annoying it's a tough call!