Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Quiet street yet close to transport

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Quiet street yet close to transport. Convivial hosts.
Cons: Maybe carpet on the stairs.
Location: One stop to Harvard Square and three to the city's centre.
I went to Boston on my own, yet staying at Whitman House was like visiting old friends. David and Robert maintain a congenial atmosphere, welcoming and being interested in everything about their guests. Yes, it is possible to keep to oneself, and they respect that, but I enjoyed talking with them and with their other guests over breakfast and after coming back in the evenings. The house is comfortable and clean and, most important for me, is in a quiet street. Yet, a five minute walk brings you to the 'T' station, enabling travel all over Boston. Running a Bed and Breakfast is a financial venture, of course, but David and Robert seem to view it as a lifestyle choice and a learning opportunity for them as they meet guests from all walks of life, and it is this attitude which sets Whitman House in a class of it's own, above the rest. Congratulations to both of them!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jillfrom UK

good location

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Interesting and welcoming hosts. Ideal for exploring Boston and could use public transport from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by michelefrom france

très bon accueil très bon petit déjeuner

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bon emplacement, pas loin du métro.Très bon accueil, en français.Très bon petit déjeuner en self service.Une bonne adresse
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Augsburg Bayern

Hübsche kleine Pension in guter Lage bei Boston

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Sauberkeit, gute Kommunikationen mit den Hausherren.
Cons: Nein, ich denke es war alles wirklich in Ordnung.
Location: Es liegt ca. 3 Minuten zu Fuß von der Haltestelle Central von Cambridge (Red Line) entfernt. Mit der Red Line ist man in 5 Minuten Mitten in Boston.
Wir besuchten unsern Sohn in Boston und das Whitman House liegt ideal in seiner Wohngegend in Cambridge. Das Haus selbst ist tip top und sehr sauber. Parkplatz im Hof. Die beiden Hauseigentümer David und Robert sind immer ganz lieb bemüht, einem den Aufenthalt zu erleichtern. Wir haben uns sofort zu Hause gefühlt, wenn wir auch viel unterwegs waren. Wir waren im blauen Zimmer (EG neben Frühstücksraum) und hatten ein Badezimmer auf dem Flur (war nur für uns). Da wir Frühaufsteher sind war die direkte Nachbarschaft des Frühstücksraums kein Problem (sonst könnten die Gespräche der frühstückenden anderen Gäste stören). Das Frühstück konnte man sich in der Küche selbst bereiten (alles was man sich vorstellen kann, stand bereit, Kaffee aus Kapselmaschine: Toll!). Wir fanden das ideal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom england

not really a hotel, a very good B and B.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Owners couldn't be more eager to help in any way. Everything very clean. Parking brill, own space at the back or permit in the street.
Cons: Can't think of anything off hand.
Location: Nothing much to do nearby as far as we could see.
Everything good, invited to a very pleasant BBQ at the house. Nice surprise! We weren't too happy about any of the eating places within 30 mins walk. Too ethnic and fast food for our liking as a senior couple. We did find a pretty decent restaurant near Harvard Square called Grafton Street. There are probably more around that area but we didn't have time to explore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal

Very pleasant. Nice neighbourghood.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Neighbourhood. Hosts. Nice house. Great base to explore Boston and Cambridge.
Location: Area is great and very safe. Very close to the subway. Halfway between MIT and Harvard. Pleanty of restaurants, banks and stores nearby.
We stayed four nights. Enjoyed our stay very much. The hosts are very nice. The room was large, nicely decorated. Air conditioning is central so no noise at all. Breakfast is not served. It's a self-service type of breakfast. No problem at all but this formula is not for all. You will feel like at home preparing your own thing. Area is great. Very close to the subway. Halfway between MIT and Harvard. Lots of restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Patfrom Tallahassee

Wonderful guest house, wonderful guests

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners have designed a wonderful haven in the heart of Cambridge that is both comfortable and convenient. Our favorite memories are of the conversations we had with the owner and various guests each morning on topics ranging from the Underground Railroad to the preservation of a country's primary language. Of course, proximity to Central Square restaurants and the T were welcome benefits as well. Whenever our travels lead us to Cambridge we will check with the Whitman House first.