Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

not really a hotel, a very good B and B.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Owners couldn't be more eager to help in any way. Everything very clean. Parking brill, own space at the back or permit in the street.
Cons: Can't think of anything off hand.
Location: Nothing much to do nearby as far as we could see.
Everything good, invited to a very pleasant BBQ at the house. Nice surprise! We weren't too happy about any of the eating places within 30 mins walk. Too ethnic and fast food for our liking as a senior couple. We did find a pretty decent restaurant near Harvard Square called Grafton Street. There are probably more around that area but we didn't have time to explore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Very pleasant. Nice neighbourghood.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Neighbourhood. Hosts. Nice house. Great base to explore Boston and Cambridge.
Location: Area is great and very safe. Very close to the subway. Halfway between MIT and Harvard. Pleanty of restaurants, banks and stores nearby.
We stayed four nights. Enjoyed our stay very much. The hosts are very nice. The room was large, nicely decorated. Air conditioning is central so no noise at all. Breakfast is not served. It's a self-service type of breakfast. No problem at all but this formula is not for all. You will feel like at home preparing your own thing. Area is great. Very close to the subway. Halfway between MIT and Harvard. Lots of restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martha from San Jose, CA

Warm welcome, feels like you're at home

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: It is comfortable and intimate, a home away from home.
Cons: If their toiletries had included lotion the stay would have been perfect.
Location: Short walk to Mass Ave. Half way between MIT and Harvard and their beautiful campuses.
The hosts are genuinely happy to have you stay at their inn and welcomed me with a tour. I had arrived later than scheduled and it was raining. They offered me a sandwich so I didn't have to go foraging for dinner in the rain. I stayed 3 nights and at each encounter they gave me a warm greeting and chat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice and friendly B&B

Posted May 15, 2014
Stayed 4 nights while attending conference at Harvard. David was a friendly host, room was very comfortable, house is beautiful and lots of breakfast options. I didnt spend much time at the house but it was a nice, comfortable, quiet stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anna from Glasgow

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely house, entirely renovated to give a very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Room was well provided with all necessities and very comfortable memory foam mattress. Breakfast options were plentiful and varied. The hosts were lovely and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Daniel from NYC

Comfortable, beautiful B&B

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time here. The room was comfortable and the house is beautiful. It was easy to find, and in a very safe and quiet area off of Central Square. Definitely a very nice place to come and hang your hat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nadia from London, UK

Great place, great people - highly recommended

Posted Nov 17, 2013
I had a great stay at the Whitman House. It's ideally located in Cambridge, very close to a Subway stop, restaurants, cafes and food stores. It's a nice 20-minute walk to Harvard Square or one Subway stop if you don't feel like walking. The room, bathroom and kitchen were sparkling clean and generally the house is very comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of different things to eat. David and Robert are great hosts, really friendly and helpful. I felt at home instantly and will certainly come back if I'm coming to Cambridge again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kensk8er from Tokyo, Japan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yvonne & Dave from Cardiff, Wales

Fab Guest House

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Everything. Would certainly stay here again if ever we chose to visit Boston in the future.
Cons: Personally I liked it just the way that it is.
Location: Situated close to the tube station. We found it very easy to get around on public transport - no need to hire a car.
Fabulous guest house. Both Robert and David very friendly. This was nothing like I have stayed at before. It was like staying in someones home, you were made to feel so welcome. Very modern feel to the home, rooms very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful house in centre of Cambridge

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Felt we were in the heart of a local community rather than a tourist area but very central for t line and buses. Friendly owners but check if an en suite is important as not all rooms are en suite.