Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Better for Single Travelers

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Decor was nice. Staff was friendly.
Cons: Room cleaner, place to eat on site.
My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel lobby was nice and the hotel bar was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Decor was very modern and trendy. The pool and workout room was small. The rooms were not very large and would be great for one person, but too small for two people staying there for several days. The room could have been cleaner as the carpet was stained and there was hair on the walls in the bathroom. Also, there is no restaurant or cafe on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice place to stay.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Quite place to stay, on the upper floors. it's a different look from the other hotels.
Cons: A hot tub, or Jacuzzi.
Location: new development, not much around hotel, at this time.
In new development of Broomfield, so at this time there is no activities that are close to Aloft. In the future, there will be more to do close by. Had to travel 5-10 miles for a restaurant, but was easy to find a place to eat. Very modern design, and the staff was very friendly. Nice lounge area, pricing was reasonable, for drinks and appetizers. I would recommend this Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! As you stated, this is a very new area that is still under development but with time will come more restaurants. Until then, we do offer a shuttle service that will take you anywhere within 5 miles, making getting to any local restaurant a breeze!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Too many things weren't working. Otherwise I like the efficiency and cleanliness of this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties and hope it doesn't deter you from coming to stay with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Modern

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Overall the hotel was great. No complimentary breakfast which was a bummer and they had a live bad call the parking lot which was terrible. The staff was super friendly and the lobby area was nice and comfortable with plenty of seating. The bar was ran by friendly bar tenders was stocked with great liquors and some of my favorite local beers on tap and for a hotel bar was very reasonably priced. The rooms have tall ceilings and great comforts. And a single free bottle of water. Room service was great although they did take an hour to get our food. Great place to go and experience and I hope to Stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
Greg- Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and atmosphere. I do apologize that the band wasn't quite to your liking! We can't wait for your return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE

Modern hotel in isolated area

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Modern decor was nice.
Cons: Better reservation guarantees online. Also, they need cleaner bathroom shower curtains in handicapped rooms.
Location: We were told that many of the nearby shops had closed due to economic downturn. It was pretty isolated.
We requested a double queen room for 4 people. When we arrived we were told that this room wasn't available so we were given a single king room. After explaining that we had 4 people, so this wasn't going to work, they were able to give us the last double queen handicapped room. It was an o.k. room although the bathroom door didn't shut all the way, the shower curtain was dirty and when you turned on the light in the dressing/bath area, it lit up the whole room. More concerning was that while waiting for our room to get ready, another family had the same issue with their rooms and were told they would have to pay for extra single king rooms. Never assume you have a double queen room if you reserve online.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
I sincerely apologize that your stay wasn't up to par. We will use your feedback in our never ending endeavor to treat each guest with the best service we can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear that your stay wasn't what you had hoped for! We do try to accommodate everyone, unfortunately it is just a request, never a guarantee. I do hope this doesn't deter you from coming to stay with us again! Should you need anything please don't hesitate to contact us directly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Newer hotel.Clean and quiet. Pricey on breakfast items.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

modern hotel, right between Denver and Boulder

Posted Jul 8, 2014
nice showers, modern bathroom, comfy bed. pool table and bar downstairs, small swimming pool and gym. was looking for ice one night but couldn't find it, really my only complaint. would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! In our efforts to keep the floors as quiet as possible we have bags of ice located in our Re:fuel area. You just grab it and go! We so look forward to your return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O.

Once we got our room it was nice...

Posted Jun 30, 2014
When we arrived for check-in we were told the computer system was down. We were given drink tickets for the bar which was nice but we still had to wait over an hour until we were able to check-in. The 1 employee that was working the desk was very nice and helpful but since she had to troubleshoot the computer on the phone there should have been another employee available to help. The room was nice and clean and I appreciated their efforts to be more environmentally friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Also a huge thank you for being so patient with us while we dealt with those system errors. We can assure you that is not common! We do hope you will visit us again when passing through!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kristopher from Denver

Fantastic stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Helpful staff, fun and modern property. I would choose this hotel over others in a heart beat. Pet friendly.. Love this property!.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
Kristopher- We are so happy to hear how much you loved staying here, we loved having you! Not only are we a pet friendly property but your furry friends are free of charge! We hope you come back and hang out with us again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay there

Posted Jun 2, 2014
We were told a regular king sized bed room. We were told that it was a handicap room and that it was bigger etc. They made it sound like it was a good thing to get this room when other rooms were still available. The bathroom looked like it came straight out of a hospital. I checked in at 9 and when I came back and actually went into my room at 11:30 I wasn't pleased. confronted the front desk and they told me the entire place was already booked. When I mentioned something the next morning again there way of making things right were "we can offer you a free breakfast item"? Some customer service skills they offered. I felt lied to and put in another room because the front desk people had fiends partying and staying in the hotel that night. I will not be going to Aloft in Broomfield again. Ive stayed in two other Aloft hotels before and they were wonderful. Don't recommend this place to anybody.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by Ric, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear that your stay wasn't what you had hoped for. We will use your feedback in our never ending endeavor to improve our property.