Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Nice hotel

Posted May 30, 2015
Good economical hotel. Nice staff and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom co

Hotel near cu boulder

Posted May 27, 2015
Stayed here since Boulder hotels were mostly full and expensive. Thishotel is a good value and breakfast was decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay here again

Posted May 9, 2015
The staff member who checked us in was friendly and helpful. We arrived in the evening and it was nice to have coffee available. The breakfast bar in the morning was fresh, well stocked, and plenty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2015
it was great. nice quiet, clean room. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Daytona Beach

Business Trip

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: Customer Service
I booked through Expedia a king size bed with a tub in the room. I got a handicap room with no tub and a walk in shower with a bench (the tub is a feature I specifically requested). When I went to the front desk the clerk was rude and told me that I booked through expedia and I was paying a lower rate anyway. She claimed that the room I booked was not available. Did not offer me anything comparable. I was stuck with that room. It had an oder to the room, which the maid must have been aware of as the window was left open and it was snowing when I arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: nice room lay out, nicely decorated
Cons: nothing
Location: great location
Clean and nicely decorated easy check in with expedia and nice receptionist
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, get your GPS out.

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Just one night, it was a good deal. The neighborhood seemed quiet. It was in an interesting area...part industrial, part commercial. Thank goodness we had the GPS going on our phones, otherwise I think we would have missed it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2015 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, I appreciate it. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we are a little set back and especially with the construction it is a little tough to find the hotel. A good tip if using a GPS is to input West Dillon Rd, so that guests don't end up on the wrong side. If you don't have a GPS then please call the front desk for assistance. I hope that you have another opportunity to stay with us. Sincerely, Alexandra
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisville, colorado

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Cons: microwave ^
Sheets had some little stains making me feel like they didnt really clean them before my stay. The only other complaint i have is why they have a microwave that cord does not come anywhere close to the outlet. I'm a petite girl so having to put the microwave up and down everytime i'd use it was really irritating. The tub and bed were very comfy though and made it all worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alishafrom Broomfield

Nothing quality about quality inn

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
The coffee pot was not clean. It still had the old one still in inside and 2 new packages. So gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback i appreciate it. I apologize that the coffee pot in the room had not been cleaned as it should have been, i appreciate you brining this to my attention and will use this as a training opportunity with housekeeping. I hope that you have another opportunity to stay with us and that you have a better experience. Sincerely, Alexandra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great bed

Posted Feb 27, 2015
great beds. old shower stall that creaked when you
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback it is greatly appreciated. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our new upgraded bedding. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the shower, hopefully those will have been resolved by your next stay. I look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Alexandra