Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Not the best stay

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Good location and comfortable rooms.
Cons: Staff up; both at the hotel and the restaurant. And get a new desert chef.
Location: Near both Boulder and Denver. Lots of things to do in both of those cities.
I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and always been pleased. That's why I'm a little surprised by this latest stay. This was graduation weekend at the University of Colorado; something that happens every year. The hotel had plenty of time to plan for the crowd. They didn't. They were understaffed. On the first full day of our stay, we left our rooms at 7:30 AM and returned to our two uncleaned rooms at around 3:30 PM. Getting them serviced probably took another hour and a half. That night, we ate in the hotel's restaurant. Again, we've eaten here before and been very pleased. For those that haven't eaten here, it's a nice restaurant with good ambiance. Good steak and sea food and normally a nice selection of deserts. Also a pretty good selection of wines. The restaurant had the same staffing issues as the rest of the hotel. Our waiter was very nice but seemed totally flustered. We never did get one of the dishes that we ordered and the New York steak that I had was pretty fatty. Whatever you do, don't order the berry tart for desert. It is the only crustless tart I've ever had. No joke here, I actually think it consisted of a couple of tablespoons of Smuckers with a few berries sprinkled on top. For that added crunch, they topped it off with what appeared to be a spoon full of uncooked Quaker oats (they called it granola but I'm not buying that). All in all, it was pretty disappointing. For a $2,000 weekend, I expect more.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Please do accept our sincerest apologies that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations or our standards. Your comments have been shared with the hotel management team, and I do hope that, when you return, your experience will be back to what you have been accustomed to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palos Verdes, CA

Graduation weekend

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The restaurant and lounge areas are clean, comfortable and inviting. The restaurant provides enough food options to satisfy our large group.
Cons: The hotel should train their housekeepers to look after more than just cleaning sinks and replacing bedding and towel.s
Location: Only 15 minutes from downtown Boulder and a few blocks from good shopping at major retailers. The hotel has beautiful mountain views.
The rooms are comfortable but not 100 percent clean and well looked after. We found odd stains on the shower curtain, couch (fold out bed) pillows and fabric, doors and walls. The housekeepers are not good with the details. They also did not refill our coffee supplies after the first morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing your concerns about your sleeping room. Your comments have been shared with the Housekeeping department and we will make sure that we take corrective steps so that your experience is not replicated. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing your concerns about your sleeping room. Your comments have been shared with the Housekeeping department and we will make sure that we take corrective steps so that your experience is not replicated. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

University of Colorado Boulder Graduation

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was perfect driving distance to Boulder
We LOVED our stay at the Renaissance Boulder FlatIron Hotel. It was soooo festive for the Graduation, the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The lobby and staff was very inviting and warm. We will DEFINITELY be back. Thanks so much
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for staying with us this past weekend and we are so glad that we got to be a part of the celebrations! We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: I LOVED the wallpaper finishes they had in the rooms. It was so unique! I took pictures of it so I could replicate it in my house.
Location: It's right in the middle of a million things to do and super close to Boulder
Absolutely beautiful hotel! I had reserved a standard room and was happy with my choice but upon arrival they upgraded us to a suite which one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever seen. We had mountain views, French doors and amazing finishes to the room. The breakfast buffet and the bottomless mimosas were top notch as well. The staff was friendly and always greeted you when you walked past them. Overall, this was a great hotel and somewhere I would most defiantly stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for choosing to stay with us recently. We are glad that both our service and the physical hotel was a great experience for you and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Nice quiet hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
First time visiting Colorado. Convenient to the airport, downtown Denver, and the Boulder area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us recently. We are so glad that our location worked well for your needs, and that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly, easy access to everything!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Outstanding experience from the beginning to the end of our stay. Very clean room; very friendly staff; and was the perfect location to tour downtown Denver and tour Estes Park!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Colorado. I am so glad that our convenient location worked so well for you, and we look forward to seeing you back here again in the future. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver colorado

Very clean and nice location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
It was a very wonderful stay at your establishment
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank your for staying with us and sending us your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The hotel was clean and nice. The hotel staff was accommodating and professional. However, the elevators broke down on Saturday evening and only one was working Sunday morning. The ice machine was not working on the 9th floor. The breakfast was very good however the wait staff was not very responsive. We ordered our drinks and had to ask another wait staff to bring them after we waited 20 minutes for the drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. We do apologize for the inconvenience that was caused with the elevator situation and for the lack of speedy attention in our restaurant. Your comments will be addressed, and we do hope that if you do return to the Broomfield/Boulder area, that you would be willing to give us another chance. Thank you.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The facilities and staff were were great.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The facilities and the staff were wonderful. It is a beautiful facility.
Cons: The breakfast should be free and even at that it could be a better breakfast.
Location: It is close to all amenities. It is outside of Boulder so about 10 miles from downtown Boulder.
The breakfast was expensive. $10 for adults and $6 for children and it was comparable to a breakfast served for free in other hotels. Not great and definitely not worth the money. They were having an Easter Brunch that was $50 for adults and $25 for children with no discount for paying guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear that the breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We do try to offer an extensive breakfast buffet, with cook-to-order items on weekends, but on Easter and Mother's Day we do modify this to be able to prepare for the holiday brunch. We do offer a number of options during other weekends with sleeping room rates that do include breakfast, and we would love for you to come back and give us another try. Please do accept our apologies that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great stay - great facility, great location, great service
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by AngelaBlackstock, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review! We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel during your recent visit to the Boulder area. I'm glad to hear that our staff and facility met and exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.