Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Lots of value

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Nice hotel, very accommodating staff. Great brunch offering made to order omelets, even provided take-out containers. Small whirlpool and towels fairly rough. Great value!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We are so glad it was a good one and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
A nice hotel in a good location. Room cleanliness wasn't quite up to standard, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback and your comments have been shared with the team so that we can improve. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Nice hotel, very nice room I was in. However, charging $17.99 for the same breakfast that, say, Comfort Inns does for free is a rip off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your recent stay with us and we glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your comment about breakfast. We do serve an extensive, cook-to-order breakfast buffet every day so we are sorry that it was not quite what you were looking for. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice stay for the BolderBoulder

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Location, amenities, pool, restaurant, views
Cons: More attentive staff, I had to follow up 2 times after bringing a problem with no towels before it was resolve. Disappointing.
Location: Right off Hwy 36 next to Flatirons Mall
We booked 4 rooms for our parties stay for the BolderBoulder and overall the experience was very nice. We stayed two nights and our room never got cleaned after our first night. We didn't have a do not disturb sign so I am confused as to why. The slightly more disturbing fact was that I mentioned this to 2 different people and never heard a single apology. I had to call 3 times just to get clean towels. Based on every other experience I hope this was just a one time deal, but I was taken back that no one even said sorry. Other than that, the location, amenities, and restaurant were fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us and I am so sorry for the housekeeping issues that you incurred. The feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the housekeeping and front desk teams. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for Bolder Boulder.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
It was nice. Good distance to the Bolder Boulder And many good food options. Pool was freezing. Really liked the noon checkout. I could run the race, hangout at the post-race festivities, come back and shower all before checkout!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us prior to BolderBoulder. We are glad that it was good option for you and we hope to see you back again next year. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coloeado Springs

Wonderful staff

Posted May 26, 2015
Room wasn't ready when we got to room, but staff jumped to correct it and comped our breakfast. Very nice staff. Bed is very firm and hotel pool was ice cold. Very clean and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Thanks also for your flexibility and understanding with your room and hope that you enjoyed the breakfast. Your comment regarding the pool has been directed to the appropriate department - thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Better sheets and mattress.
Location: Right across the street from Flatiron crossings mall. Near expressway, so easy to get everywhere.
Has a great bar and restaurant in the hotel! We are most of our meals there, as it was the best around.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review of our restaurant and bar. We are so glad that you enjoyed Flatz. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not the best stay

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Good location and comfortable rooms.
Cons: Staff up; both at the hotel and the restaurant. And get a new desert chef.
Location: Near both Boulder and Denver. Lots of things to do in both of those cities.
I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and always been pleased. That's why I'm a little surprised by this latest stay. This was graduation weekend at the University of Colorado; something that happens every year. The hotel had plenty of time to plan for the crowd. They didn't. They were understaffed. On the first full day of our stay, we left our rooms at 7:30 AM and returned to our two uncleaned rooms at around 3:30 PM. Getting them serviced probably took another hour and a half. That night, we ate in the hotel's restaurant. Again, we've eaten here before and been very pleased. For those that haven't eaten here, it's a nice restaurant with good ambiance. Good steak and sea food and normally a nice selection of deserts. Also a pretty good selection of wines. The restaurant had the same staffing issues as the rest of the hotel. Our waiter was very nice but seemed totally flustered. We never did get one of the dishes that we ordered and the New York steak that I had was pretty fatty. Whatever you do, don't order the berry tart for desert. It is the only crustless tart I've ever had. No joke here, I actually think it consisted of a couple of tablespoons of Smuckers with a few berries sprinkled on top. For that added crunch, they topped it off with what appeared to be a spoon full of uncooked Quaker oats (they called it granola but I'm not buying that). All in all, it was pretty disappointing. For a $2,000 weekend, I expect more.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Please do accept our sincerest apologies that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations or our standards. Your comments have been shared with the hotel management team, and I do hope that, when you return, your experience will be back to what you have been accustomed to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palos Verdes, CA

Graduation weekend

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The restaurant and lounge areas are clean, comfortable and inviting. The restaurant provides enough food options to satisfy our large group.
Cons: The hotel should train their housekeepers to look after more than just cleaning sinks and replacing bedding and towel.s
Location: Only 15 minutes from downtown Boulder and a few blocks from good shopping at major retailers. The hotel has beautiful mountain views.
The rooms are comfortable but not 100 percent clean and well looked after. We found odd stains on the shower curtain, couch (fold out bed) pillows and fabric, doors and walls. The housekeepers are not good with the details. They also did not refill our coffee supplies after the first morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing your concerns about your sleeping room. Your comments have been shared with the Housekeeping department and we will make sure that we take corrective steps so that your experience is not replicated. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing your concerns about your sleeping room. Your comments have been shared with the Housekeeping department and we will make sure that we take corrective steps so that your experience is not replicated. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

University of Colorado Boulder Graduation

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was perfect driving distance to Boulder
We LOVED our stay at the Renaissance Boulder FlatIron Hotel. It was soooo festive for the Graduation, the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The lobby and staff was very inviting and warm. We will DEFINITELY be back. Thanks so much
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by RenaissanceBoulderFlatironHotel, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for staying with us this past weekend and we are so glad that we got to be a part of the celebrations! We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.