Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in the hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Expedia did not let us know that the hotel was under renovations. We booked it for the pool and work out room and was told that we could use another hotels work out stuff. I thought a company like Expedia would have known if the hotel was under construction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you weren't informed of the renovation in advance. We are very excited for the major changes to our property and think our guests will love the renovated hotel. The pool and fitness center are getting a total makeover and is going to look amazing once completed in the next couple weeks. We look forward to serving you in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The hotel is currently under renovations and the rooms definitly need it! When we walked into the room and looked up, the air filter was FILTHY!! The bathrooms are outdated, had mold in the shower, and had a funky smell that hit you as soon as you walked in the room. We had another family member stay in another room and they said that their room smelled horrible. Luckily the staff was very nice because that's the only saving grace to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We apologize that the filter in the room was unacceptable. I have shared your review with our Engineering and Housekeeping staff and we will use your comments to improve our services. We appreciate each of our guests opinions both positive and negative! We are very excited for the renovations and the end result is going to be amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Under renovation but still quite nice

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Got a room at the last minute on a busy weekend via expedia. Checked in 15 minutes later with no hassles. The room had an odd air freshener or cleaning fluid smell- wierdly floral- but the beds were clean and comfy and the waterfall in the atrium (five stories!) was not only fun for the kids to look at but made for very nice white noise. Breakfast buffet was very reasonable ($9.50 per adult, with our kids free with our purchase) and featured custom omelette a and waffles that were themselves worth the price, plus super staff. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tessa from KY

Great hotel good location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: location and cleanliness
Cons: beds
Location: Near all attractions, shopping, and various restaurants
Hotel was absolutely beautiful inside. Rooms were very clean and staff was both friendly and helpful. The only drawback for me was the beds were quite hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carle Place, NY

Nice hotel.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Our overall experience was very good. We were disappointed that our room didn't have a fridge/microwave included. This is a necessity for us as we have a baby and need to warm milk. There is a one time $10 charge for each. Once we requested them the friendly hotel staff had the combo sent to our room immediately. The only other disappointment was that our room was not cleaned on one the days of our stay. I'm sure the do not disturb sign was not on the door, so I'm not sure what happened there. We got back to the room late, so housekeeping had already left. Once again, the friendly staff sent up clean towels and emptied the trash for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Camille from Owensboro

University Plaza BG

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location and price. Nice facility. Will definitely stay here in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy

Great Hotel rooms!

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Room size
Location: Near Western Kentucky University!!
Nice size, clean and really comfortable. Its nice to have the option to stay in a nice hotel as a smoker. Thank yo Holiday Inn!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable

Posted May 13, 2014
Location: If you like Italian food, Gondolier is a must-try! Great restaurant near-by.
The decor of the hotel is starting to look rather run down & borderline shabby, but the staff were very friendly and they offer a wide range of services. I ate at the hotel's restaurant for both breakfast and dinner at least once and found the food and service to be good. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, but I thought the sheets were a bit rough against my skin. I could have sworn when I booked the room online that the site listed a mini-fridge as one of the amenities so I was very disappointed to find my room did not include one, especially since I brought a few single-serving containers of yogurt that I had to cool in the ice bucket throughout my stay, but it could have been an oversight on my part. Overall, I had a pleasant stay here and would stay again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marc from Atlanta

Not the best

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lobby was nice but right outside of my non smoking room smelled like cigarette smoke. Inside the room it didn't but the air conditioner didn't work. There was no refrigerator, just an ice bucket and the room was fairly clean but it needs a remodel. I checked out early after the first night due to it being uncomfortable and lost my money for the second nights stay. The front desk didn't even apologize or offer any concession.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you Marc for your review. We appreciate you taking time to share your experience. We are currently under a major renovation that will address the smoking issue and the rooms along with the entire hotel! We will be 100% non-smoking by years end! We hope the next time you're in Bowling Green you will give us another opportunity and see the newly renovated hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Indiana

Pleasant night

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: clean, beautiful, and there were plenty of restaurants and stores nearby
Cons: no hot tub
Location: It was close to everything we wanted to see in Bowling Green.
We took a short vacation and stayed in three different cities in Kentucky. We very much enjoyed this stay, The staff was friendly and professional, the room was spacious and clean and the atrium was gorgeous. the pool was large and clean but there was no hot tub. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it.