Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napoleon Ohio

Nice hotel and staf freal friendly

Posted Apr 10, 2015
is very close to Montfordvill, staff was very polite and cook breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Normafrom Austinburg

Would stay here again.

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
No problems with this room. We were traveling with two dogs. They do charge a pet fee. I would like to see all hotels do away with this fee. People who travel with their pets care about how they leave the room. I was in housekeeping for years and I cleaned messier rooms from people with kids than I did people with dogs. The staff here was very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Overpriced, stinks of smoke, and way underwhelming

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The staff tried to be helpful. The outdoor location was grassy with some picnic tables and not too noisy--no trucks idling as often happens off I-65.
Cons: Needs a major cosmetic overhaul, new mattresses, and anything to get rid of the smell of smoke in the long, creepy hallways.
Location: This is a stop on the highway. I asked a local Mexican restaurant if they delivered and they were baffled by the idea. And their food was TERRIBLE.
The very kind employee at the front desk had only had two hours of training, so she couldn't figure out how to check me in and then accidentally double charged my card and had to call me back downstairs to fix that. The hallway reeked of smoke. The actual room did not smell bad, but walking into it was immediately disheartening. It looked completely spartan, utilitarian. The carpet, sheets, and surfaces were the sort that feel dirty even if everything's technically clean. The clock was flashing as if the power had just been out, and the air was turned off, so the room was humid and stuffy. The TV was fuzzy and it took forever to change channels. The mattress felt lumpy and springy. I wouldn't have minded all of this so much if it had been a $30 room, but for the price it was much lamer than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Needs Maintenance

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and housekeeping did a great job with what they had to work with. It's hard to make a room that needs repair look clean.
Cons: Hotel management needs to get the repairs taken care of. I know we won't stay there again because of the state the room was in.
Location: The location is satisfactory for access to Mammoth Cave National Park and the other nearby attractions.
My wife and I stayed at this Super 8 for two nights while in the area for Mammoth Cave National Park. While I realize this is considered a two star hotel, I did expect more. First of all, the "Super Starter Breakfast" is a joke. The entire selection consisted of cold or hot cereal, toast (no butter was there), yogurt, and tiny pre-packaged danishes (which were not in abundant supply). Other Super 8 hotels I have stayed in also had eggs, sausage, and biscuits among other things. The selection was so poor that my wife and I decided to buy breakfast out. Also, the room was in serious need of repair. The window curtains were barely attached to the wall, the bathtub and bathroom sink drained very slowly, and the walls had been patched but not repainted. As if all this wasn't enough, free high-speed internet was advertised but, due to the hotel being full to capacity, we couldn't access it. We were told the system had been overloaded. In my opinion, a hotel should have a network strong enough to function when full to capacity. Also, around 7:30 or so our first night the TV went out as well so no TV and no internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Doug B

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jerryfrom Clarksburg, WV

Not pleased

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was ground floor, and I don't know what prompted me to go to the window, but for some reason I tried to open the window, and it opened without undoing the lock. There was a bar in the track cut to a length that allowed the window to open about 3 inches, and if you wanted to, you could lift the window up and out of the track. The room was damp enough that when I walked around in my socks, they too got damp. When I was barefoot, the carpet was very gritty from excess carpet deodorant that wasn't vacuumed up. Breakfast was bananas, cereal, coffee, and small prepackaged cinnamon rolls. We would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by AMYfrom CINCINNATI

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
A perfect affordable, clean, and convenient to the highway hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chuckfrom Ohio

Near Holiday World

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean. Room door lock would not operate and was moved to another room. Water pressure is very low and ventelation was very poor. AA/C was minimal at best. Pool was small but clean and desk service was very good. Not far from Holiday World.