Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday wknd last minute change

Posted May 25, 2014
Completely messed up reservation by a national chain (unnamed but is also a color like say ... Indigo) so quick look to find a different hotel - Sunset was inexpensive, small, very clean, fast wifi, extremely quiet, completely fine for a nights sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JOEL from New Jersey

Sunset is what it is

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact that I came and left uneventfully.. no news is good news..
Location: Right near Somerville. Plenty to eat drink or buy..
For the money it was fine. Clean. Everything worked...I have seen worse which cost more..
1 out of 5
by Corey from Montreal Quebec area

Wouldn't go back...

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: If I did have to like one thing, It did have cable TV and a wi-fi connection
Cons: The place had the decor from about the 1970's. Alot of fixing up and modernization to be done.
Location: About 45 minutes from Newark NJ. Very close to Somerville NJ. A nice little town to walk around!
The room smelled and was not clean. I had no phone in the room... The only positive thing was that my shower towels were changed every day. I don't know who changed them since I appeared to be the only client in the whole building during the 5 nights that I was there. The place is far back off the main street and has poor lighting... The person who was in the main office (if you want to call it an office) was sitting on a stool. She had no phone, no computer... I don't even know how she gets her reservations!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: For the money ,what you would expect!
Location: McD across the hwy. Safe neighbourhood. Easy acess to nj transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by john from conn

found a winner

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a perfect stay ,close to all my activities , comfortable , clean and warm
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Viral Shah from San Diego

Worst motel

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very bad service, not clean at all
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sfortuna from not there again

UGGGH

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
DUMP - hasn't been redone since the 70's. Only thing going for it is it's cheap and close to J&J
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Correct Name

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The name of the hotel fits it just right because the sun has set on this motel. It is a very old motel. The decor is extremely outdated with no phones in the room and old TVs. The towels were old and small I thought I was using a wash cloth to dry off after the shower. The rooms were somewhat maintained in their old state but it has been sometime since the beds saw new matresses. We had to leave early in the morning and there were no outside lights on to see - they may have been for the best. Pay the couple extra $$ and stay at the Holiday Inn Express next door!!!