Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, but not what is advertised

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Helpful reception people.
Cons: everything else.
Location: Location was fine. Somewhat near the beach, and next to coffee shops, etc.
Very old hotel, that needs some work. Quaint in ways, but beds were old and overall cleanliness not at all up to par with even the hostels we stayed in. Staff was helpful, but the pics on line are not even what this hotel looks like. The price was good, but I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disgusted at having to pay extra €5 fo car parking

Posted Oct 8, 2014
otherwise hotel fine rather old needs refurbishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin 14

Convenient for a short stay

Posted Oct 2, 2014
This is a nice hotel with good helpful staff. The price represents good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire UK

Nice bar and restaurant

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Hotel reception staff were excellent and helped with all requests made over and above what was asked of them
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not stay in the hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2014
We did not feel comfortable staying in the hotel because the room was dirty and the general condition of the hotel was very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom clapham, north yorkshire

Nice hotel, nice leisure facilities

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Over all we were pleased with the hotel. Some of the staff were lovely and friendly. The leisure centre was great and to a much higher standard than the hotel it's self. The hotel decor was a little tired in places but clean and comfy enough. The only thing I would really grumble about is that our room was above a shop and I was wakened up very early (before 7 am) by staff opening the shop and music playing. I would go again as long as I got a room in different area of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom cork

it was a very nice hotel in a central location,

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: it was in a very convenient location.
Cons: it is in need of new decorating to give it a modern look
Location: there are nice pubs and lovely cafes to enjoy an afternoon cup of coffee and watch the world go by.
the hotel was ideal for me as a central base, the staff were very helpful and friendly. the hotel had everything that i wanted. the entertainment at night was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill McElaneyfrom Donegal

Great Value for Money

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at The Royal many times, it's proximity to Dublin makes it an ideal spot to use as a base.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Banbridge Northern Ireland

nice hotel well situated walking distance of beech

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms even if some of the rooms are a little dated. Nice entrance and restaurant. Good breakfast facilities, convenient parking. close to dart,
Cons: some freshing of room/bathroom decor
Location: Great location, close to dart, trains, pubs and restaurants. Bray beach is nice and clean plenty for kids and adults to do
we only stayed 2 nights. Ate in hotel first night, food good. Enjoyed our stay.