Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Toddfrom Breckenridge

Convenient location and nice staff

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Customer service at check in was nice. Older hotel, but room was clean and has basic essentials. Could use remodel, but the price reflects the features provided. Room was quiet, good TV, comfortable King bed and wifi was easy to access.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 2 rating might be generous

Posted Jun 30, 2014
We had 4 people in our party and booked a room with 2 queen beds. They didn't have that room when we checked in, and we were given a room with 1 king bed. We could squeeze one roll-away into the very small room, but not two. We fortunately had a small camping cot with us, so my daughter slept on that. The staff was polite and as helpful as they could be under the circumstances. The room could have been cleaner, with hair on toilet seat and in the tub. In the secondary entrance way, some drunk construction workers were allowed to consume liquor. My kids found this unnerving. There was a half bottle of vodka just sitting on the ground right in plain sight. Fortunately, these clearly intoxicated people moved their party to a local bar. If it weren't for the politeness of the couple running the place, this would clearly be a 1.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for our needs

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: I liked that the upstairs' floor was concrete under the carpet, and that the hot shower was consistent and easy enough to operate. Price was good.
Cons: Fresher lobby and hall air (some rooms are smoking, our non-smoking room was clear though). Updating, but then it would need to cost more..ha.
Location: We were right across the highway from my elderly aunt. Walmart is north and west back in Wahpeton. Fast foods and reg restaurants are south a mile.
Things are not the latest in style, but everything was operational, and we appreciated the relatively good value for what we got. We stayed multiple nights. We appreciated being on the back side away from the parking lot, where we had a peaceful view of trees. Breckenridge has a 10pm siren, and evening train whistles, nothing to do with the motel but to say they are not that bothersome. The 6-9 breakfast room was appreciated, juice and coffee were good, I tried the make-ur-self waffles one morning. The indoor pool is for looking at only, one of the views from the breakfast room.(of no concern, not a swimmer) The clean if not updated facilities are what they are, but probably most significantly, the managers Reni and Yogi were personable and did all they could to insure we had a pleasant stay, routinely double checking on things as the days went by..
3 out of 5
by Johnfrom Austin, TX

Good, Bad and Ugly...

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Use less smelly stuff. Was it to cover up smoke smell?
Location: Gas station. It was dark when we arrived and really foggy when we left. Not much to say. Oh, an AH71 Military Helicopter down the road. :-)
Good: Staff was really friendly and was willing to open the breakfast 30 minutes early due to our departure time. The Bad: The towels smelled like mothballs and the room smelled like someone assaulted the room with an unknown berry smell. Glad we had windows, we had to open them for about 30 minutes to get the smell out so we would stop gagging. The Ugly: Not too much. Really...it was ok after the Bad. Not much in the area but a gas station nearby. It was a quick stop for the night and move on, worked perfectly for that purpose.
2 out of 5
by js

Ok, I guess

Posted May 19, 2014
The room was ok, the TV only got one channel and it was HGTV. The swimming pool was not working. The bathroom was cramped. Overall the place needs some remodeling!
1 out of 5
by Kevinfrom St.Cloud, MN

Economy hotel leaves much to be desired

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Cons: Have the rooms ready on time, have a hot water system that can handle the hot water demand, and customer service at the desk that takes care of issues
When we arrived at check-in time at 3:00pm we were told our room would be ready in 10 minutes. We ended up waiting 30 minutes for the room to be cleaned. If that had been the only challenge with staying at this hotel this would have been minor, but this was a precursor to the kind of service we were going to see. That evening the hotel ran out of hot water so we were unable to take a shower after being in the hotel's pool. After randomly checking for 40 minutes, hot water was finally restored. The following morning the hotel offers a continental breakfast. We went to the front desk to let them know that there wasn't any waffle mix. She checked her inventory and stated that they were out and that they didn't make enough. We asked if they could make more batter and she replied that it would take 15 minutes, but then did nothing. She must have decided that 15 minutes was too much of a task for her and did not do anything to resolve the situation.
1 out of 5
by jofrom north dakota

Your family will hate you

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: easy, empty parking lot,.
Cons: management,maintenance,decor,smell,customer service,truthfulness,breakfast,hire a desk clerk.
Location: look for a better hotel in neighboring Wahpeton ,suggest americ inn.
New owners or managers are incapable of communicating in English if you can even find someone . Green cold pool, even my cat preferred the floor over the hard lumpy cheap mattress, breakfast = warm o.j. and bread products, uncontrollable radiator heat and a wonderfull 19" tv.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessicafrom Breckenridge

Would not stay again

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
No phone in room. At 9:30pm I heard pounding and screwing in the room next to our head, I called the front desk and they informed me they were just inspecting the room but did not have a reason as to why that late. The hotel was very dead so they should of not been working in that room. Room was non smoking but still smelled of smoke along with bedding. In the morning staff were not available, just said to ring bell for service. Breakfast was bad, bread was dried out and hard, waffle mix was gross, made the waffles chewy. Will not stay again.
2 out of 5
by JBfrom ND

Checking in?

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The staff was very pleasant.
Cons: The towels had stains and the mattress was saggy.
We indicated on our reservation that we would be checking in late. When we arrived at 10:30, the door was locked! There was a telephone number to call and someone came a few minutes later to let us in but the last thing we wanted after a very long day was to wait in the cold for someone to let us in. The person who arrived was very friendly, as was the woman who checked us out in the morning. It just wasn't the best experience to arrive to a dark building late at night. The hotel was not unclean, but it has a tired look to it. It's probably good that we were exhausted because the mattress in our room was very saggy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen SD

Never again

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clerk was nice BUT I will never go again. Non smoking room was smelly and the blanket had cigarette holes in it. I would never recommend it to anyone.