Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Elegant country house B&B

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Friendly hosts, good breakfast, comfortable and elegant, good location.
Cons: we took our dog, for which we were charged extra of course, but we were not even offered water for her or told where she should sleep.
Location: Super little village, just across from 2 very friendly pubs that serve food. Right beside the canal walks and the river Usk.
A good setting in the centre of a pretty little Brecon Beacons village. Lovely quiet and clean period property. the room size was good and the facilities perfectly adequate. There is a wide range of options for breakfast including vegetarian which is rare, and it was good quality, quickly served and well cooked. The sheets are proper cotton and our bed, though rather soft, was comfortable and spacious. We had a walk around the garden which is very pretty and the owners are happy to share with their guests. There is a lovely guest sitting room too and books provided in the bedroom, so you do not feel that you must be out all day. They also serve their own honey at breakfast and you can buy a jar to take home (we did). We would definitely be happy to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great b&b but room not for tall people

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Good location and friendly staff but room in attic was not suitable for anyone tall - we could not stand up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south east wales

beautiful country accomadation

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: very comfortable bed and first class breakfast
Cons: television in room
Location: excellent real ale pub ( Star Inn) opposite the Malt House
would have given overall rating of excellent if there had been a television in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lizfrom Romiley

Family wedding weekend.

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overnight stay for family wedding close by. 4 Rooms booked and all very comfortable. Friendly owner and excellent breakfast. All that was required. Would happily use again, already planning another family visit this time for a long weekend walking. Location is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Nov 30, 2014
We had an excellent stay at The Malthouse, perfect for a walking holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A nice rustic-country feeling hotel, with very ple

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nice rustic-country feeling hotel, with very pleasant and amenable staff. The décor is generally good, although in places feel cheap rather than rustic (e.g. door frames look like unpainted B&Q door frames, rather than traditional wooden frames). There's no television in the room, but that does make for quieter rooms. WIFI coverage is now fairly good, and is reasonable speed. The hotel owners live in the same building, so are always on hand if needed, and tried very hard to be accommodating. The only real negative is the bathroom (ensuite room); it has a mechanical thing attached to the water/toilet waste which makes a load grinding noise randomly during the night (and continually while having a shower). It's a B&B rather than hotel; the pub across the road is ok, decent price but probably microwaved food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands UK

Just the Ticket !

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Wonderful house with a real large family feel to it, in a great location. Two good pubs in walking distance, with great walks from the front door. The breakfast set us up for a fall day in the hills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom andover

nice b&B near the Brecon beacons

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: the cleanliness and the service and the food
Cons: the bathroom needs a shower head for those who didn't want to take a bath.
Location: the location is perfect, only 20 mins drive from the Brecon beacon mountains and tourist attraction
My wife and I stayed at the Malt House on a weekend getaway. We loved the staff, the food and the service. The room was clean and tidy just the way we wanted it .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

A beautiful b&b close to Brecon town

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Mike was an amazing host, very caring and dedicated to looking after us and our comfort. Very helpful and it was lovely and had a homely feel. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and the chickens definitely need to be 'whipped' the room was quite small but we had just about enough space for the both of us. This was the loft room 2. The location was great too and around 20 mins away from pen-y-fan. overall it was a nice experience and we will be planning to go come again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but don't stay in the loft

Posted Sep 19, 2014
The guest house was quaint and pleasing. Staff very helpful. Unfortunately we got to stay in the loft room which would be alright if you are 5ft tall. Unfortunately I'm 6ft and it was very awkward to get around. This is my only complaint, so if you are taller make sure you get the normal bedrooms. The location is handy to the local village with a number of Inns & their restaurants to choose from.