Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Beautiful, charming hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Location: Half hour from North Conway shopping, 10 minutes from cog railway up Mt. Washington. Mount Washington hotel on the property...great to visit.
Beautiful, charming, clean heritage inn. Recently renovated. Amazing grounds, with beautiful gardens, horse stables. Often saw riders going by outside . Celebrating our 10th anniversary, and were greeted with complimentary champagne, and chocolate mousse in the room upon arrival. Lovely dining room and great food, although pricey. The only (minor) negative was no room service, but there was an in room fridge so one could bring cheese or snacks. We loved this quiet, beautiful inn, and would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Beautiful, charming hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Beautiful, charming, clean heritage inn. Recently renovated. Amazing grounds, with beautiful gardens, horse stables. Often saw riders going by outside . Celebrating our 10th anniversary, and were greeted with complimentary champagne, and chocolate mousse in the room upon arrival. Lovely dining room and great food, although pricey. The only (minor) negative was no room service, but there was an in room fridge so one could bring cheese or snacks. We loved this quiet, beautiful inn, and would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hiked Mt. Washington. Very close and convenient.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Spacious comfortable rooms. Close to all attractions. Pleasant staff.
Cons: Fabiyans Restaurant is awful. Owned by the resort and offered as a cheap alternative to the hotel restaurants. Avoid.
Location: 5 mins from the cog railway and skiing. If you're in the area, go for dinner to Shillings in Littleton.
Very nice hotel linked to the Mount Washington Omni. You get to use all facilities of bigger hotel. The restaurant and bar are excellent but very expensive. Cheese plate for one is $20. Some drinks are only available at main hotel? When I requested a cider, I was offered a shuttle service to the main hotel to get one there! You would think that they would stock the same variety of drinks in both bars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Providence, RI

Great place but disappointing changes

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Size and comfort of the room, great staff quietness, great beds & showers
Cons: Cleanliness of the room: we found lots of dust on the bed lamps and the ceiling fan
Location: superb mountain setting with anything you want to do available; can't get better than that
We've stayed several times here in the past and absolutely loved this wonderful place. We preferred this over the big hotel (Mount Washington resort) because it was more quiet, had larger rooms and most importantly because of the glorious breakfast, which was included complimentary with the room. Unfortunately this is no longer the case, breakfast has to be paid separately and we learned about this change after we arrived. Another unwelcome change is that small children are adding to the price of the room ($30 per night extra per child) unlike any other hotel we've stayed at where 1 child is usually included. It is very disappointing to learn of these changes and I think we'll stay at the big hotel ( Mount Washington resort) next time we visit. I would still stay here if the rooms at the big hotel are not available. It is a wonderful place with the best restaurant at this big resort. The rooms are comfortable with great beds/bedding and great showers. On a little negative note, we found a lot of dust on the bed lamp and the ceiling fan, which I have not noticed in our previous trips. Overall, Bretton Arms Inn is a great place to stay, especially for those looking for a quiet casual place but with access to all the amenities of a big resort. Despite some disappointing changes, I would still choose it if the big hotel had no availability.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CT

Decent hotel with unfriendly staff

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: It was on the grounds of the Mount Washington hotel which nice and convenient
Cons: Service, food
Location: Mount Washington was near with hiking, scenic drives and national parks
Large room with window air conditioning. Unfriendly and unwelcoming staff (especially the woman manager on duty). Breakfast was expensive and disappointing. Room cost was fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Acton, MA

A classic resort.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Mostly nitpicking.
Location: See above.
This a resort with nearly everything one could want. There is a ton to do on premises, and lot off, being in the Mt. Washington national forest. Hotel Staff are very friendly, servers/bartenders are a mixed bag. The food is very good, but pricey. Within 10-20 miles are a number of very good restaurants on Route 302, both East and West of the resort - don;t take all of your meals on the property. Also pricey is the Spa, but the experience is awesome and the staff incredibly 'on point' and helpful. With a paid massage, one can use the Spa all day, and chill out. It is a sanctuary away from young children's screams in the pools. Do NOT miss taking the ski tram to the top of West Mountain!! It is free, and there is a very nice walk - bring hiking shoes or high tops sneakers, a lot of rocks, but the views are spectacular. We would encourage all to drive the 27 or so miles and walk around North Conway town - a lot of wonderful one of a kind shops and restaurants, and remarkably affordable. Abut 1 mile past 'downtown' are the varying outlet stores, which we avoided, as we have easier access in Merrimack NH. Littleton and Bethlehelm, about 10 miles West of the resort, are nice towns, with Littleton having a number of interesting shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, OH

Wonderful, quaint boutique feel inn

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Loved the more intimate feel of the Bretton Arms Hotel. Everything you need with anything else you want at the main property- the grand Mt Washington Hotel. This is like experiencing a peek of the splendor of a century ago. Rooms are comfortable and tasteful-- but would have preferred a less marshmallowy bed. Breakfast at the Inn also delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Over priced

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Too much for a room. Unannounced resort fee for 2 cups of coffee. Overly dotting staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from UK

Absolutely charming hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
A lovely stopover here for 2 nights en route to Canada. Although the main facilities are based at the much larger Onnibon same site, the Bretton Arms was a really fabulous place to stay. Lovely rooms and really charming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

mountain view resort

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Location: Beautiful area
Booked a King size room, they stated to me that due to the fact I had booked "Expedia "room my reservation type for king size bed was NOT reserved.