Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Nice hotel to visit, but not necessarily to stay.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
The hotel is beautiful with gorgeous views and many ammenities. However, furniture in the lobby/common areas/patios etc... are extremely worn and in need of replacement. Rooms have then walls and you can hear doors opening/closing thru-out the night. The doors do not have added protection of an inside door hook & latch lock, which as a female is an important thing to me. A "standard" room at $400 per night does not receive turn down service and bottles of water in room are $6 - Its an amazing place to visit, take pictures, enjoy the views etc...but anytype of food/drinks will cost you. A shrimp cocktail appetizer was $18 and came with 3 shrimp. A beer and 3 mixed drinks were $64, so come ready spend. All staff was very nice with the exception of the the one gentlemen working the front desk. He was quite pretensious, which is not acceptable considering the price per night customers are paying. We had a great time and took great pictures of the hotel and surroundings. I don't think that I'll ever return, while nice not worth the high price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Grand old hotel, lots of character and charm

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable, clean rooms; nice an quiet at night. Decent number of dining (and drinking) options.
Cons: Mediocre (and overpriced) breakfast buffet on Saturday morning. I would have far preferred ordering from a menu.
Perfect place to relax after a long hike on Mt Washington. The staff was all extremely welcoming and very helpful throughout my short stay. And even though the restaurants were full (as would be expected on a Friday evening), I was able to find a seat at the bar and have my dinner there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fancy historical hotel with great views

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Views, style
Cons: Rooms should be made soundproof
Location: Hiking to Mount Washington
It's a fancy historical hotel with great views. The famous Bretton Woods Conference took place there in 1944, and you can take free hotel tour. A lot of space to relax, drink, eat and meet your friends. However rooms are not soundproof and prices are a little bit high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful stay start to finish

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The Mount Washington Resort is a beautiful hotel with lots of history. The amenities are outstanding as is the view and the hotel staff. During check in my boyfriends birthday was casually mentioned and an hour or so later they sent a birthday treat up to our room. Later, he was comped a cocktail at the bar when they noticed his birthday while checking his ID. These small acts of hospitality really made our stay special, and set the Mount Washington apart from other resorts in the Bretton Woods area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Wonderful enchanted resort

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Love this place! Took wife for 10th wedding anniversary. Even though we left kids at home many families there and very kid friendly. Lots of activities and great hiking biking trails on resort premises. Staff very courteous. If I had one complaint its that the hotel is loud since its an old place. If you want quiet I suggest you ask for top floor so u don't hear running pounding feet at 7am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking views!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Pretty rooms, fabulous porch for morning coffee.
Cons: Coffee service stops at 9am..really? Food in general was not good especially when prices were so high. Avoid the hotel food if possible.
Location: Hiking, swimming, exploring the grounds. Horseback ride was a little lame, might be fun for younger kids. Hit Diana's Baths,Appalachian Mountain Club
On the bucket list- check! Grand hotel in the midst of the White Mountains. You go back in time…except for the prices. So much to do and see in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful hotel, central to mountains.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: The facility is beautiful. The staff are very attentive and cordial.
Cons: We ate the majority of our meals there. The food was not as good as we expected.
Location: It is located in the White Mountains not far from North Conway. It is very close to the Cog Railway that goes up Mt. Washington.
We had a lovely stay. It was very serene. We had a wonderful view of the mountains out the window of our room. The hotel/resort has many amenities including swimming, horseback riding, golf, and hiking. There a number of restaurants and bars to choose from. The grounds are impeccable. Hanging baskets adorn the expansive porch facing Mt. Washington. Sitting on the porch was in such high demand we often had difficulty getting a seat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltic, CT

Good job staff

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Beautiful views,hotel and lots of activities on and off site which the shuttle will take u to
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: It's gorgeous inside and out. I highly recommend taking the tour and learning the history. Great spot for company meetings and weddings!
Cons: Our dinner had AWFUL service. We waited 15 minutes before a waitress came over! Then it took forever to get our food. Mine was good. Daughter's not.
Location: Go up Mount Washington!!
Staff were very kind and helpful! I especially liked the elevator gentleman who spoke Spanish. Every time I got on we smiled and he taught me more and more Spanish. In fact I took a pic of the two of us. He was so friendly and kind and made the ride fun!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris France

don't accept an upgrade ask rather where the room

Posted Aug 21, 2014
we were "upgraded" to a larger room and found it located just above the noisy airconditioners and a view on the service amenities.. the hotel itself is splendid and staff very friendly however it is a cash machine , they make you pay for every little thing (water in the room 6$, breakfast 25$/person) so watch out once you're there. and.ask for a room with a view on Mount Washington