Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Hallway smelled of smoke, not accommodating, not enough linens
Comment from
Jan 14, 2014
I am sorry about the issues that you had when you stayed with us. Any time you need anything extra for your room if you contact our front desk staff we will be more than pleased to acquire it for you. If you are ever in our area again I hope that you will change your mind and give us another try.
2 out of 5
by John from Waterdown

Disappointed

Posted Apr 3, 2014
After ten hours on the road we were looking forward to a comfy night. I wasnt expecting a old and worn hotel. Carpets are dirty, worn, and thread bare. Bathroom faucet had a substantial leak. What was supposed to be a non smoking floor had the distinct smell of cigarettes. The bathroom fan was louder than a turbo prop. The bed was one of the worst we have ever slept on. As for the breakfas, dont waste the time. Better off going to Cracker Barrel next door. To be honest even a 2.5 out of 5 is being overly generous.
Comment from
Jan 4, 2014
John I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Any time that there is an issue with your room if you inform our Front Desk staff we will work to fix the issue. Our breakfast is brand standard for all Super 8 hotels. We are in the process of updating our hotel which includes new carpet. Once again I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay, we hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop in an see all the changes that we have made and give us another try.
3 out of 5
by Jason from Courtice ON

Smoke Smelled Room

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was fine, cereal coffee toast etc.
Cons: Our room smelled like smoke. The bathtub dripped.
Great location off highway, nice Cracker Barrel restaurant in the same parking lot and gas stations close by.
Comment from
Jan 20, 2014
Out apologies for the smoke smell ; but glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you be in the area again, please stop by and Jason if you have any problems with your room, don't hesitate to let the front desk know. OUr goal is to ensure you have a happy, comfortable stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My stay at The Motel 8 was satisfactory..

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The room wasnt luxurious but was nice and bed was comfortable.
Cons: Provide a 2 hr later checkout if asked even if a additional charge was applied., I had to pay for a night. My friend was on medication for depression.
Location: Fairmont Wv next to Cracker Barrel. There is movies,Pricketts Fort,Heston Farms and Valley Worlds of fun.
Was pleased with the room. Staff I think was just okay.
Comment from
Jan 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again the next time you are in our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by WVjazzfan

Decent

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Televisions. No smoking for hotel staff in their work clothes.
Location: Muriales Restaurant was amazing.
The hotel itself was okay. the hotel staff was nice and responsive, but they smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The televisions were out of the 80s. Still it was comfortable and pleasant enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad choice

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: No idea
Room not ready at 4.20 pm Room decor very bad, everything in wrong place. Holes in walls where electrical items have been changed. Generally depressing. Breakfast next morning. - very skimpy - all I wanted was coffee and toast - NO BREAD. We only reserved that hotel to enable us to walk to Cracker Barrel across parking lot - but the steps were full of snow an ice. - it would take a moment or two to clear them. Staff didn't do anything!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Thank you for your stay with us. We hope you select our property the next time you are thru the area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeff from Virginia

Poor

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room stunk of smoke. Supposed to be non smoking. Couldn't breathe right for two days.
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
My apologies for the inconvenience of your stay. Please always feel free to contact our front desk staff should you be assigned to the wrong room type. We certainly will do our best to accmodate your needs.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bill from Virginia

terrible place

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was way ro small, overpriced, and smelled like cigarette smoke. Beds were flimsy and uncomfortable.
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Apologies that you found your stay less than satisfactory. We certainly would like the chance to accomodate your needs in the future. Please don't hesitate to contact the manager to ensure a quality stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Thank you for youstay with us. I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.