Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

on a buget it will do

Posted Aug 18, 2014
couldnt breath with smoke smell on the second floor...... yeah i got about two hours of sleep....naw we wont be staying here again......
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Christina PropertyManager, Hotel Management
I am sorry about the issue with your stay we are a smoking and non smoking hotel with the majority of the smoking rooms located on the second floor. Any time there is an issue with your room if you contact the front desk right away we would be more than pleased to help you. We are in the process of looking into what we can do to help with the smoking smell in the hallways of our second floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Reasonably priced.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Ground floor near the end. Nice and quiet. Cozy and comfortable, very clean with attractive furniture and bedding. Would stay again.
Cons: Free breakfast is nice, but menu could be expanded.
Location: Can walk to nearby eating places. Gas station nearby. About 6 miles from the hospital.
After a long day, it was nice to settle in to a comfortable room. We ate right next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Christina PropertyManager, Hotel Management
I want to say thank you for such a nice review we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that if you were ever in our area again that you would choose us for your lodging needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Hotel nice.I would recommend it to others

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location.close to everything
Cons: N/a
Location: Location good.close to restaurants
It was good.we only stayed one night.if needed I'd go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Patty Executive Director, Hotel Management
Nancy thank you for stay with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are thru the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Christina PropertyManager, Hotel Management
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we hope that if you are in our area again that you would stop by to see us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from NC

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: It was clean and the staff was great!
Cons: Bigger pillows!
Location: I was there to visit family.
The only thing I can complain about, is that I had very flat pillows! I was looking forward to the fluffy large pilllows that I had before. I went to the counter to request another pillow, hoping I would get one, but got another flat one. This may not seem important, but it is too me. It was hard for me to sleep, but I did of course!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by Christina PropertyManager, Hotel Management
Lisa I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff tries to make every guest feel welcome and like they are at their own home, we are in the process of updating all of our bedding. I hope that we see you again the next time you are in the area to see your family.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dan from WV

Maintenance during stay

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff here had to prop my door open because they were cutting/replacing carpet in the hallway and my room. The smell was horrible and thought this was very unprofessional. They should have found a better time to do this so that it did not affect the guest rooms that were occupied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Christina, Hotel Management
We are in the middle of doing a renovation which does include replacing our hallway carpet I do apologize for any issues that this caused you. We do try to work with our guest to make sure that we cause as little of a disturbance as possible to their stay. I hope that you will come back and see us and see all the new renovations that we have done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Passable

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Close to main highway
Cons: Pillows, mattress and cleanliness
Location: Close to highway
Found two ear plugs on the carpet and would therefore surmise that it was not vacuumed. Pillows were a little lumpy but so was the bed. The breakfast was quite acceptable and included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Christina PropertyManager, Hotel Management
I am sorry about the issues with your room. We are in the middle of renovations which includes updating all the bedding in the room. We would hope that the next time you are in our neighborhood you would stop in and see all of our updates.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Patty Executive Director, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay with us. I hope that if you are in the area again, you will stop in to see us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Hallway smelled of smoke, not accommodating, not enough linens
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2014 by Christina PropertyManager, Hotel Management
I am sorry about the issues that you had when you stayed with us. Any time you need anything extra for your room if you contact our front desk staff we will be more than pleased to acquire it for you. If you are ever in our area again I hope that you will change your mind and give us another try.
2 out of 5
by John from Waterdown

Disappointed

Posted Apr 3, 2014
After ten hours on the road we were looking forward to a comfy night. I wasnt expecting a old and worn hotel. Carpets are dirty, worn, and thread bare. Bathroom faucet had a substantial leak. What was supposed to be a non smoking floor had the distinct smell of cigarettes. The bathroom fan was louder than a turbo prop. The bed was one of the worst we have ever slept on. As for the breakfas, dont waste the time. Better off going to Cracker Barrel next door. To be honest even a 2.5 out of 5 is being overly generous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2014 by Christina PropertyManager, Hotel Management
John I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Any time that there is an issue with your room if you inform our Front Desk staff we will work to fix the issue. Our breakfast is brand standard for all Super 8 hotels. We are in the process of updating our hotel which includes new carpet. Once again I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay, we hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop in an see all the changes that we have made and give us another try.
3 out of 5
by Jason from Courtice ON

Smoke Smelled Room

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was fine, cereal coffee toast etc.
Cons: Our room smelled like smoke. The bathtub dripped.
Great location off highway, nice Cracker Barrel restaurant in the same parking lot and gas stations close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2014 by Patty Executive Director, Hotel Management
Out apologies for the smoke smell ; but glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you be in the area again, please stop by and Jason if you have any problems with your room, don't hesitate to let the front desk know. OUr goal is to ensure you have a happy, comfortable stay with us.