Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Perfect location

Posted Apr 8, 2015
This hotel was perfect for our trip. We drove from London to Venice, making numerous stops along the way. This hotel was in a nice quiet town just 40 mins from Zermatt an expensive but nice day out even though we weren't skiing. The hotel was comfortable, clean and definitely worth the money because Switzerland is not cheap. The drive to Simplon on April 6th was the stunning. Words cannot explain how beautiful the drive was and I urge anyone in the area to go there, by far the highlight of Switzerland. Back to the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and the lady who served it, who also worked on the front desk was really pleasant. All round a wonderful trip. One tip.. Make sure you know the basics in German because locals don't like being spoken to in English, whereas in Lausanne the French speaking Swiss didn't mind! All round 10/10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Per from Zürich, Switzerland

Castel hotel near old town Brig

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is located in walking distance from the old town of Brig with plenty cosy restaurants. The hotel has not been renovated for some time, however, the room was clean, functional and good value for money. The staff was very helpful in providing guidance to the local environment. We can definitely recommend this for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham uk

Nice Hotel in Brig

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Nice location near palace and gardens in Brig and only minutes walk to the centre of town good quality rooms breakfast was buffer with a nice choise and plenty to eat staff were friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Great location just next to Stadtgemeinde.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nicole from Tucson, AZ

Adequate--not great

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was adequate for what I paid. There is nothing fancy about it and no extra amenities. Breakfast was included, which seems to be typical of all Swiss hotels and very similar to the rest. The bread was delicious and there were plenty of offerings. The desk clerk, who doubled in the dining room was pleasant. The room was on the cold side despite it being the end of summer. The walls are thin so you could hear noise from the hallway but luckily, because it was the slow season, there were not many other guests there. Neither of these issues kept me from getting a good night's sleep however. The toilet was outside the room, which wasn't a huge problem. There was no bus from the train station to the hotel and the walk was a little further than I anticipated. In the guest information book, it indicates the availability of a hotel transport to the train station but when I inquired, the desk clerk said it was not available. Overall, it wasn't a terrible experience but I don't know that I would stay here for more than a night or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ineichen Luzia from Gelfingen

Grosses und gemütliches Zimmer

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
Wir hatten tolles Wetter und konnten uns von Bergwanderungen im Hotel sehr gut erholen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christian from Raunheim (Deutschland)

Toller Blick aufs Schloss

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
Toller Blick vom Balkon auf das angrenzende Schloss. Das Bad etwas zu klein und in die Jahre gekommen, aber alles sauber. Freundlicher Service und auch meine sehr späte Anreise bereitete keine Probleme
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
Insgesamt gut, Internet nur mangelhaft!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

good value 3 star hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: clean and comfortable for sleaping-also quiet at night. Handy for train to Zermatt
Cons: more staff at busy breakfast time
Location: 15min walk to railway station-plenty of walks-free parking
Very clean, comfortable and popular(very busy) hotel.Understaffed (or no staff during much of the day) and very busy at breakfast when groups all want to eat at same time. Best to wait for breakfast until at least after 8.30am.Choice of continental breakfast items can be almost zero at times as limited staff have difficulty replenishing items timely. I didn't realise until 3rd day of stay that boiled eggs should be available-they were always not available the first 2 days-consumed by a group but not replenished. There was a group calling themselves 'Road Scholars' those 2 days who cleared most of the buffet food and not all the items were replaced or not in the time we were there for breakfast anyway. This group was a (very) loud (elderly) American group who not only spoke loudly to each other but thought nothing of shouting to other members on other side of breakfast room disregarding other hotel guests. Good value for a 3 star hotel as the choice is limited in Brig if you want to be near the rail station-this hotel is handy for that and is in a quiet residential area with nice views