Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, close to Roma St Transit Centre

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Basically, pretty good apartment type accommodation, very clean and very well equipped, with plenty of food and drink retail outlets nearby. However, for the price, I think that a high percentage of guests might be inclined to expect a somewhat higher standard of presentation. For example, the HOT tap in the shower was labeled COLD and vice versa, and one tap worked when turned clockwise while the adjacent one had to be turned anti-clockwise. Frustrating!!! And the TV would not work at first, until I noticed that the antenna cable was not plugged in. Little details, it's true, but they can be so annoying .....
2 out of 5
by Ivyval

Close to city, poor parking facilities. Very noisy

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: More specific details in regard to parking on the external booking sites.
We were very disappointed with the parking available, no reference on the external booking site that you had to book your parking early due to very limited parking. When we arrived after driving for 6 hours, we were unable to get a park for our vehicle. (We were happy to pay the $20 as the booking site advised). We requested a refund as we had nowhere to park, they couldn't give us a refund but were told we could go down two blocks and park in a carpark. Our vehicle has lights on the top and we couldn't fit under the warning bar. The website should have very specific details about the limited parking so people like ourselves avoid the inconvenience we incurred staying at the Abbey Apartments. On top of all this we could not gain access to our room for one hour due to the card system code not working.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MER from London

Convenient central apartments

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Its central position
Cons: The apartment was painted in a dark yellow colour which looked very doudy
Location: Central Brisbane and an easy walk to all the shopping malls and restaurants.
We stayed for 3 nights from 5th March 2014.We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was well equipped but had a portable 2 ring cooker. Tea/coffee/sugar sachets were supplied but no salt/pepper and as we had had these supplied in other properties during our trip we missed these, especially cooking ourselves. The apartments are very convenient for central Brisbane. They are opposite the Roma Street train station and within a 10 minute walk from the main pedestrianised road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rose from J

Convenient

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Basic clean comfortable accomodation convenient to Roma st station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from perth, WA

Nice hotel, pleasent stay

Posted Mar 16, 2014
A nice room overall. We loved the space which was bigger than expected. The view was also a bonus. Disappointing parking fees and A little old and outdated but functional enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style room, itchy couch

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking vouchers for tank street parking.
Felt like 70s style decor while friends had a refurbished room for a cheaper rate. The couch gave my husband an itchy rash on his skin. In the morning the foyer had the most disgusting smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from brisbane australia

Couldn't be happier!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
My sister in law and I booked this hotel primarily because it was cheap for our girls night in the city. We were pleasantly surprised with our room, so much so we went straight back downstairs and rebooked for a month later! Reception staff were lovely, very happy with our choice!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Cons: room could be clean at least every second day. And towels changed daily .
2 out of 5
by Visitor to Briz from Oz

Run down, dirty, needs maintenance.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Staff were helpful, location.
Location: CBD is close
Not a lot of positives for this one. We booked it under Expedia's Super Saver- where you don't know which hotel you're getting until after you've paid-big mistake! The built in hotplate in the kitchen was obviously faulty, but rather than replacing it, the cord had just been cut off. After buying ingredients to cook our own dinner the crisis was only narrowly avoided. Living room lamp had no globe-but was still plugged in-a danger for young children (or adults). The maintenance magager had to be called to reset the circuit breaker which tripped for no apparent reason-blacking out the unit-despite there being only one power socket being used in the kitchen. Balcony furniture of one of the rooms we saw was falling apart. The air con intake was almost falling off the ceiling. The amount of dust behind the washing machine and in the shower vent had to be seen to be believed. Top floor apartment had noise all night from air con above. All this, and more, but we only stayed 2 nights. Now I understand why some hotels need to be kept secret until after you have paid-lesson learnt.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from Melbourne

Poor Room Maintenance

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Location. Swimming Pool.
Cons: Fix the phone socket. Fix the flickering light. Fix the fold-out bed.
Location: Botanical gardens nearby.
Within 5 minutes of our stay we realized the fold-out couldn't fold out, the kitchen light was flickering and when we tried to call reception the phone socket was broken. First impressions were poor. We rang the hotel (via mobile) and mentioned the bed, phone and light. They fortunately fixed the bed right away but never fixed the phone and light. They said maintenance will take care of it and never did. Another disappointing was the fact that you have to keep your room tidy upon checkout or they will charge you to clean it !! Even more disappointing was a warning sign that stated that steam from shower after long use can set off the smoke alarm upon which the fire brigade will be called out and YOU will be liable to pay as exorbitant sum ($1,000). Disappointing.... One good thing was that the swimming pool was very clean and well maintained.