Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

No Staff at Night

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Not much, especially at night. A 24 hour Tesco about 20 minutes away. Overnight for airport only.
Bizarre. No staff on site at night. "24 Hour Check-in" means press the button on the intercom at the gate, and someone will drive to the property to let you in. While the room was clean, it was a bit dodgy, and felt like spending the night at someone else's gran's house. The front door is not locked, and the "reception" desk is not staffed, but rather has a placard with a mobile number in case you need assistance. The only thing that allowed us to fall asleep was the knowledge that we had great mobile reception. This is a bed and breakfast, but breakfast consisted of a zip top bag containing a juice box, apple, and granola bar. The picture is also misleading, as this is also a long term car park for the airport, and the entire property is filled with cars, making parking a real adventure at night!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

3 rooms at the Acorn Guest House

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
The six of us arrived cold tired and hungry. We were asked to pay for the three rooms BEFORE we had even seen them. The rooms were ok but we were given hand towels instead of bath towels, and there was no one around to ask after they had taken our money. We all had to shower with a handtowel. Breakfast was sad. A small carton of orange juice, a mouldy apple, and a chocolate cereal bar. Buffet breakfast it was called. We have stayed in far better hotels for the same money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by misterc, Hotel Management
You definitely were not the trustworthy type, and your bookings were for room only, no breakfast. You are also totally out of touch with reality as far as pricing goes. A hostel or ymca is more your type.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Bad hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. Manners for a start.
Location: A pub down the road that stopped serving food so early, we had to find somewhere else.
We were a party of six and booked three rooms. The signage to the hotel was bad and we had great difficulty finding it. On finally arriving, exhausted, after a day's travelling, we had to payup front for our three rooms asif we were not trusted to pay in the morning. Had to pay BEFORE we had even seen the three rooms. Having paid we unpacked. The bathtowel was actually a hand towel for a shower. Ridiculous. No one around to ask for bigger towels. Worst of all was breakfast. Called buffet breakfast. Ugh. Carton of orange juice, moldy apple and cereal bar. Yuk. We left them in the rubbish bin. For £30 a night, with no breakfast, no towel and no service, a rip off hotel. Would never everrecommend or stay there again. So so unfriendly. So unhelpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by misterc, Hotel Management
You definitely were not the trustworthy type, and your bookings were for room only, no breakfast. You are also totally out of touch with reality as far as pricing goes. A hostel or ymca is more your type.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Perfect for our requirements

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Perfect for our requirements but don't expect to be able to walk to the local pub! In the middle of nowhere. Room was perfect, very clean and we were even left a little snack pack to take out with us for the day. Were doors slamming at about 5am both mornings, guess it was people getting up to go to the airport. (Would suggest avoiding local pub infact, full of letchy drunk old men.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Simpsons' Motel "Continental Breakfast"

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was hard to find, as the postcode was wrong. It's actually really close to the airport but there's no signs and I think it has a different name on the pillar which made it tougher to notice! We happened upon a housing area where a friendly chap offered to show us the way - it turned out he worked there which was convenient. If we hadn't encountered him, we could still be looking for the place! The room was clean but unfinished. The building was in the middle of a refurbishment to be fair. It was comfy though and had everything one could need. The hotel did advertise a buffet breakfast, but they don't do this at all - we got a banana, cereal bar and carton of juice in a Ziploc bag to bring with us. This was fine, but it shouldn't have said there was a buffet breakfast when there just isn't one! It is conveniently located in relation to the airport but I don't think I'll stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Diarmuidfrom Dublin

Handy stop over

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable stand alone room , specious and well appointed. Very convenient to Bristol Airport
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom South Wales

Good value for money

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Generally okay, but I was not keen on the breakfast in a bag which was left in the room. Hotel is showing its age in places and would benifit from some refurbishment. Overall it is good value for money, that staff are friendly, and its in a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lesleyfrom Cornus

Great place to spend a night

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
The transfer from the airport was so easy, you just had to ring the hotel and they came and picked you up. The room was large and comfortable and I was pleased with my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit of a strange one

Posted Feb 3, 2015
When you arrive you find a security gate across the entrance to the car park - you have to use the intercom which calls a mobile number - the guy who answered was at the airport meeting a flight but they opened the gate and I was told to wait in the car park. The car park was full - I saw that they offered long stay parking, but there didn't seem to be any space set aside for guests. The room was ok - looked like a garden room off the car park with French doors - not what I was expecting. The bed was a bit like sleeping on a marshmallow - no support. The best part was the breakfast bag they provided in the room - carton of fruit juice, apple and a breakfast bar.